Customer Reviews


92 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (18)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Noble Effort !!!
If you read the reviews of Katie Macalister's Noble Intentions, you will see it said time and again that everyone adored her very tall, klutzy, redheaded heroine, that was not at all like all the typical historical heroine. She could not waltz, set the Duchess' curtains on fire and drove her husband to distraction with her unpredictability and slightly self-centred...
Published on March 7, 2003 by Dorie Reynolds

versus
18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not Katie's best
I'v eread several other Katie MacAlister novels and had high expectations. I was, however, quite disappointed in this book. Where to begin? Perhaps the heroine: annoying, unfocused, frenzied without being funny. The hero: Well, gee, I never really understood him. What motivated him? What possible interest could he have in Alex, as annoying as she was? How in the world did...
Published on February 1, 2005 by S. Marshall


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Noble Effort !!!, March 7, 2003
By 
Dorie Reynolds (Colchester, England) - See all my reviews
If you read the reviews of Katie Macalister's Noble Intentions, you will see it said time and again that everyone adored her very tall, klutzy, redheaded heroine, that was not at all like all the typical historical heroine. She could not waltz, set the Duchess' curtains on fire and drove her husband to distraction with her unpredictability and slightly self-centred determination to make the world bend to her.
Well, Katie Macalister has done it again. If you can read the dinner scene and not laugh, then you likely need a sense of humour tune-up. I loved the dancing on the landing. And her Book!! Oh, that hurts it's so hilarious!
Alix is a pill at times, but she is a very down to earth, neurotic, klutz that I am certain is patterned on at least one of my sisters!!
I feared they would call for the men in white jackets for me, because I could not shut up making snorting noises or laughing so hard my sides hurt.
Gee, you get a tummy workout while you read!! Hum...neat trick!!
I cannot wait for Noble Destiny! Keep 'em coming, Ms. M!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely a gem!, March 5, 2003
Well, I get books shoved in to my hands and told to read. And I have to admit I rarely dislike what is handed to me. But being it's a female doing the shoving, I a male sometimes see things a shade different. In this book, we are in total agreement.
This is one dynamite book. A celebrating of Brit quirkiness, for wow-pow instantaneous attraction, of interesting well-drawn characters. I fear, however, maybe the Yanks will miss the boat, as they often do on British humour. I am hoping I am wrong on that assumption. MacAlister captures the Brit reserve and all the steaminess beneath, she fleshes out so well the almost proud indulging in off-beat behaviour the Brits adore.
It's wickedly funny, I pulled a stitch in my side laughing. It's fresh and charming. Alix is a pain, but she is a pain I 'know' in real life, adore and love, so it was a howl to see someone else understand a writer crippled with insecurities, someone who jumps at feeble excuses to hide their pain and vulnerability.
I especially loved the purple prose, shame we could not have a WHOLE Alix book. And I KNOW Alex is my brother....he even has green eyes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fun, fun, fun read!, April 22, 2003
By 
Lani Schwalbe (Anchorage, AK United States) - See all my reviews
Alix is a high-spirited American spending two months in London on her mother's dime with the caveat that she must prove herself as a writer. Alex is a smoldering detective in the flat upstairs, who can't help but notice the cheeky new American in his building.
From the first few moments of this delightful book, MacAlister makes great work of taking an unbelievably flawed heroine and making her utterly lovable. She's self-centered, stubborn, and sometimes just silly, but Alix is the kind of heroine you can cheer for - because haven't we all been there? Alex is as anchored to the ground as any man can be, and the chemistry between him and the flighty Alix is about as intense as I've ever seen on a printed page. Cheers to MacAlister for writing a fantastic, unusual, and highly improper book... and let's just hope that Colin Firth is available to play Alex when they make the movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A modern romp celebrating classic themes!, March 5, 2003
"I am going to take a heroine whom no one but myself will much like," Jane Austen declared, before sitting down in her parlor to write a novel centered upon one of her most singular and enchanting heroines--Emma Woodhouse. Two hundred years later, author Katie Macalister has updated the classic theme of a young woman realizing her naivete, learning the realities of love and sex, and achieving true independence.
Like Austen's heroine, Alix Freemar has a high opinion of herself and of her own abilities; Alix's attempts at writing romantic fiction are as hilariously horrid as they are outrageously audacious. Like Emma, Alix refuses to contemplate correction, even when it comes in the darkly handsome and stubborn form of Scotland Yard inspector Alexander Black. The irresistible force between these two immovable objects, they both realize, is too strong to be denied.
The whirlwind courtship between Alix and Alex that drives the delightful IMPROPER ENGLISH; is potent enough to be bottled and sold as a love charm. The love scenes between the pair simply sizzle! And tying it all together is the Macalister trademark sense of sometimes raucous, sometimes tender humor that made NOBLE INTENTIONS one of the top romance novels of 2001.
Like Emma Woodhouse, her spiritual great-great-grandmother, Alix's redemption and eventual mastery of her perceptions and emotions are never in doubt, under Macalister's skilled hands. May this classic and freshly comic tale of romance blooming into true love delight as many generations of readers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not Katie's best, February 1, 2005
I'v eread several other Katie MacAlister novels and had high expectations. I was, however, quite disappointed in this book. Where to begin? Perhaps the heroine: annoying, unfocused, frenzied without being funny. The hero: Well, gee, I never really understood him. What motivated him? What possible interest could he have in Alex, as annoying as she was? How in the world did they fall in love? Too fast, too frenzied, not enough of the basics. This book bugged me so much, in fact, that I almost dropped the author from my list of must-buys. I can heartily recommend several other of Katie's books, though: Sex and the Single Vampire, Hard Day's Knight, Noble Intentions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Improper English is just improper..., May 23, 2010
This review is from: Improper English (Mass Market Paperback)
`Improper English' should be called `Improper American'. The female lead's behavior is deplorable. She's beyond selfish. She has this attitude that she can do and say whatever she wants, even if she's wrong. She is the reason people abroad dislike Americans. Her love interest is Alex who works for Scotland Yard trying to stop child pornographers. As if his job isn't stressful enough, there is one instance where he is staking out a house and she wants him to drop everything because she is sad nobody likes the crappy romance novel she's writing. Sometimes I want to shake sense into female characters, but with Alix, I just wanted to punch her in the face and move on. Another thing that bothered me a little was the fact that Alex had once been her older landlord's lover. I could not understand for the life of me why these two characters would be attracted to each other. I really wanted to like this book because I love English guys. However, I could not finish this book, which is a rare event for me. I couldn't even force myself to finish it. Please don't be fooled by the cover and save yourself the time/money and go read something else. Anything else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spot on, Katie!!, March 7, 2003
By 
I just put this book down and have to write a thank you to Katie MacAlister. This book is just so beautiful. I laughed so much, I wanted to smack Alix (well, DUH you are supposed to!! though think some will miss that...hehehe). I appreciated a lead character full of flaws, insecurities and finding out how to make her way in world. I get so tired of the perfect heroine, with her perfect logic and perfect place in the world...Alix is someone feel like I could know and maybe kick...lol
I adore Alex...can I lease him? loved the secondary character especially. So many writers often fail to bring them to life, but the whole madcap bunch are a delight.
Count me as a Mad for Macalister from now on!! Say no more, say no more, nudge, nudge, wink, wink!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Laugh Out Loud Funny, March 13, 2003
By A Customer
I really, really enjoyed this book. The first dinner scene had me laughing out loud on the train ride home. What an absolute, but completely welcome surprise. I didn't quite enjoy the conflict between Alix and Alex; it was a bit too contrived for my taste, but overall, this is a thoroughly enjoyable novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whatta treasure!, March 6, 2003
By A Customer
I recommend this book to anyone who loves fresh,new,laugh-out-loud, hysterically funny, romance. Alix, the budding Romance Novel Writer, meets Alex, the Scotland Yard Detective Inspector and it's "Katie, bar-the-door!" I laughed till I cried! Don't miss this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Charming, delightful, fresh, best read in ages!!, March 7, 2003
By 
My first review, so taking the plunge, you know it is a book that really moved me. My sister-in-law loved this book and gave me copy for a present and OHHHH I thank her!!
Hats off to the brilliant Katie MacAlister for giving us a wonderful charming, quirky female who is not perfect!! It's SOOOOO nice to have a 'human' person with faults - LIKE THE REST OF US!!
I don't think any book has ever warmed my heart or charmed me more. That said, think the Yanks will not get the humour and that is a shame.
This book is like the last couple for Katherine Deauxville, that I happened to adore. Fear a few just won't catch the fun!
I simply LOVED this book and cannot wait to read more from this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Improper English
Improper English by Katie MacAlister (Mass Market Paperback - September 1, 2009)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.