Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very easy to follow and understand!
As a Master's degree student, this book took the guess work out of learning how to create an effective Action Research proposal.
Published 14 months ago by Dr. Grace LaJoy Henderson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Textbook
Hard to rate a textbook. This book is relevant to teachers wishing to use research and analysis to prove or disprove the efficiency of the things we do in our classrooms.
Published 23 months ago by Daniwojo


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very easy to follow and understand!, November 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Improving Schools Through Action Research: A Reflective Practice Approach (3rd Edition) (Paperback)
As a Master's degree student, this book took the guess work out of learning how to create an effective Action Research proposal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Basic overview of Action Research, April 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Improving Schools Through Action Research: A Reflective Practice Approach (3rd Edition) (Paperback)
Very helpful for those doing their first action research assignment for a college or graduate level class. The reflective aspect was a little forced I feel and they added it to add another buzzword to title.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Clear, step-by-step mentoring, June 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Improving Schools Through Action Research: A Reflective Practice Approach (3rd Edition) (Paperback)
Thorough, understandable and thoughtful - very useful for the novice researcher. Hendricks takes you through the action research process from start to end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book, April 23, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Improving Schools Through Action Research: A Reflective Practice Approach (3rd Edition) (Paperback)
I really enjoyed reading this book and learned a lot of new information. Highly recommend if you are doing research for a graduate class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fast read. Good information. Easy to follow., January 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Improving Schools Through Action Research: A Reflective Practice Approach (3rd Edition) (Paperback)
I read this book (and a few others) last semester in preparation of writing an action paper this semester. This was my favorite book. It will be my go-to resource as I gather/organize data and write the final piece.

Another plus: the book is small and light-weight. I don't mind always keeping it in my backpack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, October 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Improving Schools Through Action Research: A Reflective Practice Approach (3rd Edition) (Paperback)
This is a quick, easy read for anyone needing to know the basics of action research. Very helpful as I begin the dissertation process.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Textbook, March 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Hard to rate a textbook. This book is relevant to teachers wishing to use research and analysis to prove or disprove the efficiency of the things we do in our classrooms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome., January 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book is extremely helpful and well-written! There are many explicit examples and effective activities. All educators should own this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't work on Windows 8, October 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I can't open this kindle book version on a Windows 8 computer because it says that it is not available for Windows 8. They should have said that in the description.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review, November 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Improving Schools Through Action Research: A Reflective Practice Approach (3rd Edition) (Paperback)
I can only see two reasons someone would pick this book up: 1st and the most likely, this book is the reading requirement for a university's course and you have to read it. 2nd, you are an educator that is very adamant about making your teaching more efficient and effective.

Hendricks goes through a step by step process on how to start/finish an Action Research. An Action Research is a systematic process by which an educator reflects upon an assumption or a problem on the classroom, building, or district level. From this reflection, the educator researches peer-reviewed literature called a (oddly enough) literature review. From the literature review, Hendricks reviews methodological process for designing and implementing the Action Research. Lastly, Hendricks ends the book with an appropriate How-To on writing the Action Research.

While I have not read any other books on how to design and implement an Action Research, I am confident enough to say this: This is the book to grab if an educator has absolutely no experience with Action Research. For all intensive purposes, this book should be titled Action Research 101.

The book assumes the reader needs all basic knowledge on Action Research. The reader not only learns the step by step process described above, but the reader also is exposed intently to vocabulary that is Action Research. You will learn about quantitative, qualitative, and mixed methodological approaches, the importance of triangulating your data sources, the differences behind the reliability and validity of research, the different types of validity, and more.

This is a must-grab book for educators seriously wanting to make a positive impact in their classroom.

If I had to negatively critique this book, this is what bugs me: In my opinion, Chapter 7, Strategies for Data Analysis was a bit rudimentary for the target audience of this book. Hendricks described how to find the mean from a set of data. Since the target audience of this book is at least educators who've graduated college, I would assume everyone would have the knowledge of finding a mean.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Improving Schools Through Action Research: A Reflective Practice Approach (3rd Edition)
$65.20 $51.80
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.