Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Shadow Force HIT
I have to admit, when I first started reading this book, I was leery of Paige's "gift". My thoughts were, this is a romantic suspense novel, not a paranormal novel. The "gift" could have turned cheesy really quickly, but Stephanie Tyler pulled it off beautifully. I have loved each of the Shadow Force books, but I have to say, I think this is my favorite. I remember...
Published on August 3, 2011 by Hope

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3 ˝ star for slow "take off"
This book is basically the continuation of "Promises in the Dark" and picks up when Zane and Dylan's other Delta Force brother, Caleb, is assigned to protect and interrogate the beautiful computer geek Vivienne Clare - only to fall in love with her. Caleb leaves with his team for a mission, which goes completely wrong: They lose one team member and Caleb suffers from...
Published on August 16, 2011 by Book lover


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Shadow Force HIT, August 3, 2011
I have to admit, when I first started reading this book, I was leery of Paige's "gift". My thoughts were, this is a romantic suspense novel, not a paranormal novel. The "gift" could have turned cheesy really quickly, but Stephanie Tyler pulled it off beautifully. I have loved each of the Shadow Force books, but I have to say, I think this is my favorite. I remember thinking a few times, holy cow this girl has been through the ringer, is there HEA that is actually going to happen? There were so many emotional scenes, and several with Caleb that actually made me cry right along with the characters. The thing I love most about these characters is the family unit they have made. I can't decide who I want to learn more about, Kell or Reid, but it is a good thing Kell is next, I think I have a crush on him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Fast Paced Addition to the Shadow Force Novels, August 2, 2011
By 
LeaF (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
I always make sure I have a space of uninterrupted reading time when I start a Stephanie Tyler book because once I begin one of her military romantic suspense stories I cannot put it down. If I could describe In The Air Tonight in one word it would be OUTSTANDING!

In the aftermath of a failed Delta Force mission that claimed the life of their teammate and best friend Gray, Mace Stevens and Caleb Scott, are put on an extended leave. Noah, the team's CO orders Mace to take Caleb to the home/bar Mace owns in upstate New York to recuperate. Caleb is suffering from traumatic amnesia as a result of torture the men endured at the hands of their terrorist captors. Mace is not only grieving the loss of Gray, he is healing from physical torture, and he is tasked with helping Caleb to cope as his memories return. The tight knit team is fractured, Reid is looking for Kell who is hunting the terrorists who imprisoned and tortured his friends.

Then another complication arrives at Mace's door in the form of the beautiful, haunted Paige Grayson, Gray's stepsister. Mace met Paige 4 years earlier when he and Gray stayed at her apartment while on leave. Paige is on the run from a threat that has barked at her heels her entire life and she seeks out Mace Stevens, as instructed by Gray, if anything ever happened and she needed help. Paige is an amazing heroine. She is an experienced Emergency Room nurse who has a gift of psychometry, meaning she can read the memories of people through touch of them or some inanimate objects that they been in contact with. Paige's gift is both a blessing and a curse because she literally absorbs emotions and the experience can be exhausting and crippling. There is more to her story, Paige's brother Jeffrey, is imprisoned as he committed mass murder at Paige's school when she was a teenager killing many of her close friends in front of her eyes. Jeffrey is a maniacal, manipulative sociopath, and Paige, through her gift knew what he was capable of. However, no one heeded her warnings as to Jeffrey's level of depravity. The horror of Jeffrey's acts have followed Paige her entire life and she has never been able to settle and establish roots or friendships. She is a very lonely woman.

Then Paige walks into Mace's bar on a stormy winter night and things change, for both of them.

"There was an energy around her--it almost made her glow. Her eyes, big and brown, her blond hair pulled back. She looked young, younger than he knew she was. And way too freaking innocent to be hanging around here. Except that Mace knew she was tough as nails, at least from what Gray had told him. She'd worked inner-city ERs for years.

Jesus, she did it for him in every single way. He couldn't help but stare at the way the soft, old denim hugged her curves in all the right places. Her sweater was thin--definitely not warm enough--and she held the fabric of the sleeves fisted in her palms.

He'd noted that the sleeves were worn and stretched, as though holding the sweater like that was a common occurrence. Gray had told him about Paige's psychometry--magic hands, Gray used to call them."

In The Air Tonight © Stephanie Tyler

The sexual tension and attraction between Mace and Paige, blazes! Their romance is volatile because of the circumstances surrounding their second meeting, but the intense danger surrounding this heroine and hero amplifies the sensuality of the story ten fold. Neither of these people trust easily and like the other Shadow Force men and women they have a very bumpy road to travel before they admit their love. The love scenes in this story? Smoking. Hot. :-)

In The Air Tonight has about 4 subplots that are woven through a storyline that is rife with intrigue and danger. Caleb is reunited with Vivi, whose story began in Promises In The Dark. Theirs is a heartbreaking reunion because Caleb doesn't remember their love. Caleb, the strong committed military man is changed from the trauma of the tragic mission. There are many questions to be answered about what happened as he was separated from the team during their ordeal and in some ways he is very afraid of what his returning memory will reveal.

While readers know Paige's maniac of a brother is imprisoned, we are also are lead to believe he is somehow reaching out to further terrorize her. Or is he? This guy is one scary, diabolical antagonist, however the terrorists are also out there, could they be the enemy?

Dylan Scott and Cameron Moore, introduced in Lie With Me also play small secondary roles in story. Dylan continues to work on the periphery of the law as a mercenary with Cameron. Dylan's extraordinary skills and connections are invaluable as danger moves ever closer to Mace and Paige resulting in more than one horrific murder.

Reid (I LOVED this guy) and Kell are floundering, both blame themselves for the Gray's death and the team's capture by the terrorist group DMH (Dead Man's Hand). Reid and Kell are best friends and their separation is particularly hard on Reid. Their story will continue in Book IV - Night Moves (can't wait!).

What did I love about this book? Everything! In The Air Tonight provided an absolutely riveting thrill ride of a read, as well as being extremely emotional. Every time I thought I had figured out who the bad guy was, Ms. Tyler would instill another plot twist proving me wrong. In The Air Tonight is action packed, fast paced, sexy and, unpredictable. I wept for these people and was so relieved when Paige and Mace, and Caleb and Vivi are able to trust enough to find love. In addition, Ms. Tyler creates a tight knit family unit for these military men and their devotion to each other really tugged at my heartstrings. This book and the entire series are favorite reads of 2010 & 2011!

If you haven't read the Shadow Force series and are interested I would strongly suggest you read the books in order because Ms. Tyler does build connecting plots in each book. Book I is Lie With Me; Book II is Promises In The Dark.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic addition to the Shadow Force series!, August 4, 2011
By 
Anne W (Oklahoma, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: In the Air Tonight: A Shadow Force Novel (Kindle Edition)
Emotionally charged, sexy, inventive and riveting from beginning to ending with a touch of something different this time. Stephanie Tyler's "Shadow Force" series just keeps getting better. Absolutely the best of everything a romantic suspense reader hopes for when choosing a book to read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best book of the Shadow Force's series, August 11, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: In the Air Tonight: A Shadow Force Novel (Kindle Edition)
This was really good Mace and Paige just rock. The mystery and the romance were equally as good. I was really impressed in how Paige's 'gift' was written with such believablity. I felt so diapointed when the whole 'gift' thing was introduced i normally don't like those kind of gimmick in these kind of books. However, Stephanie Tyler writes this beautifully and believably. It's trully amazing. Fantastic.
I liked Vivi and Caleb. I have since "Promise's in the Dark" and the resolution to there story was good but not great I said it last time thease two should of had a main story they were good enough. Their story completion could have been more but it was enjoyable.
All in all great series!!!! Great reads
Looking foward to the next one!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars taut psychological suspense, August 2, 2011
Though the Delta Force unit anticipated danger with some probably not returning except in a bag, the missions proved extremely harrowing (see Promises In The Dark and Lie With Me). Thus the black ops soldiers look forward to some needed R&R.

Caleb Scott and Mace Stevens head to the latter's bar in upstate New York to grieve the loss of teammates. Entering Mace's establishment is twenty-six years old Paige Grayson, stepsister of their late teammate Gray. Paige, who has the uncanny ability to read minds, demands Mace tell her what happened to her sibling who was under his command; at the same time Caleb suffering from memory loss fears he killed Gray. She also feels safe in Mace's presence and that has not happened in a long time. Paige knows her psychopath murdering older brother Jeffrey escaped the mental war of a prison and now stalks her. However, she has lost some of her focus because of her attraction to Mace; likewise for the same reason he fails to appreciate the danger she is in.

Though a bit over the top, the Delta Force duet finds home leave as harrowing as being on a mission. The story line is more taut psychological suspense and less overt action than the previous thrillers, but that brings freshness to the saga. Fans will enjoy this exciting romantic suspense as Mace's motive for being with Paige initially was a promise he made to Gray but now a promise his heart made.

Harriet Klausner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3 ˝ star for slow "take off", August 16, 2011
By 
Book lover (Athens, Greece) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: In the Air Tonight: A Shadow Force Novel (Kindle Edition)
This book is basically the continuation of "Promises in the Dark" and picks up when Zane and Dylan's other Delta Force brother, Caleb, is assigned to protect and interrogate the beautiful computer geek Vivienne Clare - only to fall in love with her. Caleb leaves with his team for a mission, which goes completely wrong: They lose one team member and Caleb suffers from amnesia. Mace Stevens who was commanding officer of the mission and owns a bar outside of New York is ordered by their CO to take care of Caleb until he recovers from his memory loss. Will he remember Vivienne? What exactly happened and went wrong at their last mission?

And all of a sudden Paige Grayson, the sister of the killed team member appears at the bar. A horrible incident at the hospital where she works has chased her away from work and home. Not knowing where else to turn to she hopes for shelter and some answers from Mace as far as the unsuccessful mission and her brother's death is concerned. This isn't the first time those two meet but it's the first time they decide to give in to their desires.

A fast-paced typical military romance. The content is roughly divided in two major plots:

- The continuation of Caleb and Vivi's love story. Caleb fights with his memory loss and the doubts of what he might have done during the mission and doesn't remember any more. Vivi found out only recently that Caleb is back from the mission not remembering anything about the mission or their short but intense relationship. The author succeeded very well to convey the doubts and insecurities around these issues to the reader.

- The love story between Mace and Paige. Both characters were well described, although Paige's gift was according to my opinion an issue. I usually avoid books dealing with paranormal, spiritual etc. stuff, however, I have to admit that Tyler managed to integrate this characteristic very well dosed into the story, turning it even into a "competitive advantage".
Paige and Mace had a very difficult time as kids, a fact that is reflected in how they behave towards each other and even third parties. Their feelings and advances grow gradually but become very emotional and gripping. Very well done.

Why then only 3 ˝ stars? Well, the story just didn't "take off" as I expected and when it finally became intriguing it was too late in the book to elaborate the plots properly.

However, I do recommend the book if you love action loaded military romance with sizzling sex scenes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best one of the series in my opinion!, September 24, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: In the Air Tonight: A Shadow Force Novel (Kindle Edition)
I was so excited to finally read Mase's story and I was not disappointed! Mase and Paige had been through so much in their lives and it was really nice that they found each other even through such a tragedy. And Cael and Vivi's story was so heart wrenching I was almost in tears over it. I couldn't imagine falling in love and almost losing that love in such a short period of time! I felt for Vivi but she was so strong and she stuck it out! And with everything Paige had been through(I wouldn't have survived her tragedy myself) I was so so happy that she found in Mase what she thought she would never have with anyone. And Mase...OMG...what a HOTTIE! I am SO looking forward to Kell's story and I'm hoping there's a little something for Reid too! And please, please Stephanie....give Noah his own book! He needs some love too! Ah....I don't wanna wait for the next one,I want it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A lot happening, but it's good!, September 15, 2011
My Review:
This novel features several characters with a LOT of emotional trauma that they are dealing with...as well as a LOT of current danger and stress. There is a lot happening in this book with these poor characters that really could use a break.

Mace & Cael are on leave from their time with the Delta forces. They have just come back from a mission where they were captured and tortured. This was the same mission where Paige's brother, Gray, was killed. Cael is dealing with amnesia from the incident and no one really knows what happened with him. They need him to get his memory back, but no one is sure if that recollection will actually turn out to be a good thing when clues start to indicate that he may have been drugged to the point where he hurt some of the team members, including the murder of Gray. Lots of prolonged stress and nightmares for all involved in this.

Then there is Paige. She grew up with an evil brother who murdered her friends in a huge school shooting when she was in high school. She has been dealing with his evil her entire life, but now he is currently in a psychiatric prison. Paige also has psychometric hands...if she touches a person or certain objects, she can read their history.

There are also several additional characters that run along the periphery of the story. Vivi, the girl that Cael loves, but doesn't remember. She has decided not to wait for him any longer so has come to him in upstate NY. There is also the additional team members of the Delta team, Kell & Reid, who all pop in and out of the story as they are also dealing with the stress from the mission that went completely wrong. Then there are Dylan & Zane (Cael's brothers) and Cam & Noah and Keagen, the bartender with the motorcycle gang past

EVERYONE at the bar is dealing with all of this...along with a string of mysterious murders, a rogue motorcycle gang, and just the daily stresses of running a bar in upstate NY in the dead of winter when most people are getting a little stir-crazy.

There is so MUCH going on in this story, that it seems like the main story would get lost in the shuffle and confusion, but Stephanie makes it work. Her stories always seem to feature sub-plots, but wow, this one had a lot. Nevertheless, the book flows really well and it doesn't seem like too much until after the book when you start to reflect on all the different aspects of the book. LOL! She pulls it off and pulls it off really well. I loved all the different characters, the different story lines, the different aspects to the suspense lines. It was all really good. Fantastic, riveting reading. Another great installment to this fantastic series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another solid installment in the Shadow Force Series, August 10, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
First off, if you haven't read the prior installments in the Shadow Force Series, Lie With Me and Promises in the Dark, pick those up before you read In the Air Tonight. The events of In the Air Tonight start a few months after the end of Promises in the Dark, and in between the stories a failed mission has taken place where the Delta Force team lost one of their members. It took me a while to realize that there was a lapse in time, when I first started reading I was thinking, wait, did I miss something in the last book? When I began In the Air Tonight, I was really wondering how Stephanie Tyler was going to pull off bringing paranormal elements to the story (the heroine has psychic ability through touch) when none of the prior installments had anything of this nature. Even though I am a PNR fan, I was thinking, whoa, mid-series game change? However, after reading the book I thought the psychic element was well incorporated and did not devalue the series at all. There were a few elements of the plot I thought less believable, and I didn't think the relationship between the hero and heroine was as well developed as some of the others in the series; however, I still felt that this book was pretty solid. I will definitely continue reading the series, and am looking forward to Night Moves coming out in October.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars In the Air Tonight, August 7, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: In the Air Tonight: A Shadow Force Novel (Kindle Edition)
Paige may have had the single most horrible childhood of any character I've read in a long time. Her mentally unstable, although seemingly normal on the outside, brother made her young life a living hell. He played mind games, tortured the neighborhood, killed pets and finally after trying to rape Paige, took a gun into their school and went on a killing spree. A selective killing spree, taking only the lives of Paige's friends. Paige, having the ability to use her hands to touch others and feel all their emotions, even in some cases their intentions, their past, everything, knew that her brother was close to snapping and her warnings to their parents fell on deaf ears. After the shooting, her brother Jeffrey was sent to prison, but Paige's life was never the same having to live with the guilt, the guilt she put on herself and the guilt the public put on her. Her life would never be the same again.

Mace is going through his own personal hell, still recovering from a mission where a teammate and friend, Gray, was killed and another friend, Caleb, was so drugged he has memory loss, and may have been too drugged to realize that he killed his own teammate. He's returned to his family's bar which he runs on his own during his downtime to help Caleb heal and try to make sense of the memories as they slowly come back. Mace's own childhood was tragic as well, but those feelings he keeps bottled up tight and doesn't let them out for anyone, until Paige comes into the picture.

With no information on her step-brother Gray's death, she heads to the one person Gray trusted completely and shows up on Mace's doorstep during a snowstorm. Trouble follows Paige even though she's tried to live her life in the shadows and soon Paige, Mace and his teammates are trying to figure out who's killing people around Paige and what exactly her locked up brother has to do with it.

As always, Stephanie Tyler gives us another tension filled story, this one with a little different feel that her other suspense books. The action was there, but it was more the guys trying to figure out who's doing what as opposed to them heading out on missions or plotting their own attack. The attackers were coming to their home and they were staying there to defend it and protect the women.

The relationship between Mace and Paige had a nice slow build up. They had met years earlier, and Paige got a "reading" off Mace after picking up his knife and knew that while he has a dangerous edge to him, he's just so much more. He scared her at first, but she knew if Gray trusted him, then she needed to as well. The interesting piece of their relationship was her not touching him, not reading anything off him until they were both ready for that landslide of emotions. I looked so forward to that scene when she finally touched him and they were fully open to each other. It was very well written and very emotional, everything you'd want that build up to be.

**********
She dropped her hand from his neck and reached down to give his a quick squeeze before going back to work.

A small gesture for some couples. For them, it meant everything.
**********

Oh, Caleb, how I love you. It's no secret that my love of side characters often competes side by side with my love of the leads, but Stephanie writes such strong supporting characters and in this case the conclusion to Caleb and Vivi's story, they didn't need to be compared to anyone, their own story stood on its own. My heart broke for Caleb, not being able to remember anything about his time in captivity on the mission that went horrible wrong. Memories are coming back slowly and even when Vivi shows back up in his life, the memories didn't return with her. To watch them struggle through the awkwardness of their reunion to where they end up, it's a tough road, but well worth it.

**********
"Then tell me."

"I'm remembering...but I still feel like I'm going to break apart."

She moved to him, pulled his sweatshirt up and off, stroked her hands down his bare back. And then she let her hands roam along his chest and down to the button on his jeans before she murmured, "Go ahead, break apart. I'll put you back together."
**********

Without going into any spoilers, there were a couple parts at the end that had me thinking, hmmm, both revolving around her brother. But he was completely creepy and I would ultimately put nothing past him. And as always with Stephanie's connected series, I'm left feeling all warm and fuzzy about Mace/Paige and Caleb/Vivi but I'm left wanting more for Kell and Reid. This was a great addition to her Shadow Force series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

In the Air Tonight: A Shadow Force Novel
$5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.