Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but a couple of things...
Good DVD with some good views on whales, and the human efforts around them (both good and bad).

Roger Payne is a good host, if a little idealistic.

Two issues though....

1) Patrick Stewart does not host this DVD, Roger Payne does, with narration by a woman who's name I can't recall right now.

2) Despite the images on the front...
Published on January 4, 2010 by Spencer Kirk-jackson

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Slightly disapointed
Kind of disapoointed that I purchased this DVD since it had an Orca Whale on the cover. I was looking forward to watch the portion of the Orcas in the movie but unfortunatly I didn't see a single Orca throughout the whole movie. If your going to put an Orca on the cover at least have a portion of the movie dedicated to Orcas. Otherwise I thought the movie was very...
Published on July 16, 2012 by Hydeaway Photography


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but a couple of things..., January 4, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: In the Company of Whales (DVD)
Good DVD with some good views on whales, and the human efforts around them (both good and bad).

Roger Payne is a good host, if a little idealistic.

Two issues though....

1) Patrick Stewart does not host this DVD, Roger Payne does, with narration by a woman who's name I can't recall right now.

2) Despite the images on the front and back of this box, there are NOT any Orcas (Killer Whales) in this DVD.

Though that this should be pointed out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a must see!, January 9, 1999
By A Customer
Anyone who is intrigued by the great whales will love this video. Roger Payne can not be applauded enough for the knowledge and understanding of these great creatures that he has contributed. There is great love and respect for these denizens expressed in this video, and an important message for the future. Five stars is not enough to praise this effort!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Slightly disapointed, July 16, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: In the Company of Whales (DVD)
Kind of disapoointed that I purchased this DVD since it had an Orca Whale on the cover. I was looking forward to watch the portion of the Orcas in the movie but unfortunatly I didn't see a single Orca throughout the whole movie. If your going to put an Orca on the cover at least have a portion of the movie dedicated to Orcas. Otherwise I thought the movie was very informative and well narrated :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Documentory Ever!, October 16, 2010
By 
Brittany Anderson (Maple Valley, Washington USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: In the Company of Whales (DVD)
This is a wonderful addition to my animal collection of dvd's. I remember when this first aired on the Discovery Channel. My parents had it taped for me. But now that the vhs is wearing out, I now have it to watch and enjoy the whales and dolphins over and over again. =D
Brittany Anderson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 3, 2014
By 
This review is from: In the Company of Whales (DVD)
great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Misleading Cover, January 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: In the Company of Whales (DVD)
The cover depicts an Orca, but there is no mention what so ever of an Orca. I recommend NOT to buy this!!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A nice video to have, January 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: In the Company of Whales (DVD)
This is a good video for everyone's video library, good for the whole family to enjoy, especially for us older folk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A whale watchers treat., August 31, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Long before everyone else got on the bandwagon, there was Dr. Payne. A truly beautiful video sure to be appreciated by all the friends of whales. A message to us all about the struggles man has put upon the entire whale community. A must see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My Grandsons Loved It!, February 29, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: In the Company of Whales (DVD)
My 5 year old grandson is studying whales in school, so I sent him this DVD. He watched it with his dad and his dad was so impressed that his son was able to connect what he was learning at school with the DVD. Little 3 year old brother loved the DVD too.
An extra bonus is that Amazon makes these DVDs affordable for everyone, including GRANDMAS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Whale Video, October 20, 2001
By 
Susan (Novato, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This is the story of Dr. Roger Payne who has studied the right whales in Argentena for years. There is the wonderful music that Dr. Payne creates in addition to great footage of whales. This is a worthwhile treat for any whale lover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

In the Company of Whales
In the Company of Whales by Patrick Stewart (DVD - 2009)
$14.98 $8.50
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.