Industrial-Sized Deals TextBTS15 Shop Women's Handbags Learn more nav_sap_plcc_6M_fly_beacon $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Grocery Shop Popular Services tmnt tmnt tmnt  Amazon Echo Starting at $99 Kindle Voyage AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now Deal of the Day
In the Country of the Young: Stories and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more

In the Country of the Young: Stories 1st Edition

ISBN-13: 978-0870744570
ISBN-10: 0870744577
Why is ISBN important?
ISBN
This bar-code number lets you verify that you're getting exactly the right version or edition of a book. The 13-digit and 10-digit formats both work.
Scan an ISBN with your phone
Use the Amazon App to scan ISBNs and compare prices.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Buy used
$0.80
Buy new
$19.95
More Buying Choices
8 New from $13.19 19 Used from $0.80 3 Collectible from $10.50
Free%20Two-Day%20Shipping%20for%20College%20Students%20with%20Amazon%20Student


"Rescue Me Maybe" by Jackie Bouchard
From best-selling author Jackie Bouchard comes a heartwarming story of loss, love, and finding hope in unexpected places. Learn more | See related books
$19.95 FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Only 1 left in stock (more on the way). Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.

Editorial Reviews

From Publishers Weekly

From a business lunch at a New York restaurant to a tourist's experience at a French market, from the beginning of an affair in an Italian villa to the end of a romance near a Kansas prison, Stern's 11 stories form a kaleidoscope of hope that gradually changes into patterns of disillusion and disappointment. The expertly structured, artfully detailed tales follow artists and exiles, lovers and parents, upstarts and retirees, as they seek escape from the ordinary in music, art, relationships and work. A University of Virginia graduate spends his first day in New York having lunch at the Palm restaurant in "Lunch with Gottlieb," discovering the web of compromise that makes up an advertising career. The coyly titled "Foxx Hunting" chronicles a middle-aged widower's pilgrimage to Los Angeles to find an actress from a porn film made decades ago. The son of a Jewish immigrant fears following in his father's forgetful footsteps in "Apraxia," one of several stories where Jewish imagery places Stern in the tradition of Bellow, Malamud and Roth. Like their heroes, Stern's fictions are capable of extraordinary about-faces. The award-winning author (Twice Told Tales; One Day's Perfect Weather; etc.) enriches his stories with cultural references and a profound sense of decency. In two tales about reluctant mentors, Stern celebrates art while making fun of the human process of creating it. The title story, the collection's longest and most detailed, is a coming-of-age tale of a music prodigy learning about love and life while preparing for an audition. Like other Stern heroes, the 17-year old acquires a gentle sadness, not bitterness, as he succumbs to the law of diminishing expectations. Blurbs from Elie Wiesel and Edward Albee attest to the collection's literary credentials. (Feb. 10)
Copyright 2000 Reed Business Information, Inc.

From Library Journal

Stern presents a collection of stories about artists, musicians, and writers and their search for meaning and connection in the world. Despite the title, only the first and last stories are really about young people, and even those are told as if remembered from midway through life. Sex is used by many of the characters to express a longing for the past or future, but it rarely has the intended effect. In "Messenger," the former lover and a childhood friend of a deceased artist meet in a small Italian town. "Foxx Hunting" relates the quest of a widower for a porn actress he's become obsessed with. The title story is the moving account of a young, would-be musician at the crux of discovery about life, sex, and everything in between. For literary collections.DChristine DeZelar-Tiedman, Univ. of Minnesota Libs., Minneapolis
Copyright 2001 Reed Business Information, Inc.

See all Editorial Reviews
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE


Best Books of the Month
Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

Product Details


More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet.
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Share your thoughts with other customers

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more
In the Country of the Young: Stories
This item: In the Country of the Young: Stories
Price: $19.95
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com