Sell yours for a Gift Card
We'll buy it for up to $1.00
Learn More
Trade in now
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • In Europe: London, Paris & Brussels
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available
  • To view this video download Flash Player

In Europe: London, Paris & Brussels

1 customer review

Additional DVD options Amazon Price New from Used from
"Please retry"
1-Disc Version
$24.24 $17.99

Editorial Reviews

NTSC/Region 0. This DVD contains performances from the Jazz great, recorded in London, Paris and Brussels, the majority of his filmed work in the last decade of his life. The London shows were filmed in 1964 and 1966 while the Paris and Belgium performances are from 1962. Features five bonus tracks from a 1961 short film, taped in New York. 20 tracks. Standing Oh!vation.

Special Features


Product Details

  • Actors: Coleman Hawkins
  • Format: Color, Import, Black & White, NTSC
  • Language: English
  • Region: All Regions
  • Aspect Ratio: 1.33:1
  • Number of discs: 1
  • Rated: NR (Not Rated)
  • Studio: Disconforme Spain
  • DVD Release Date: February 10, 2009
  • Run Time: 136 minutes
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • ASIN: B001AHKH5K
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #299,186 in Movies & TV (See Top 100 in Movies & TV)

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Nikica Gilic on January 11, 2011
Format: DVD
YES! This is a real gem; MAYBE the Hawk is not completely in full power on every single cut, but most of the time in this DVD he is AWSOME; the best material (the film quality equivalent to the music quality) are:
- C. Hawkins - Harry "Sweets" Edison quintet (with Sir Charles Thompson on piano, Jimmy Woode on bass and Jo Jones, who also has a nice solo spot, on drums); taped in London in '64
- Bonus material: Coleman Hawkins-Roy Eldridge quintet (with Johnny Guarnieri on piano, Barry Galbraith on guitar, Milt Hinton on bass, Cozy Cole on drums and the singer Carol Stevens)

But THERE'S MORE! Coleman Hawkins - Benny Carter quintet is not restored visually and might give a problem or two for a viewer with some high-tec surround sound equipment,
but the performance is beautiful!
Having Teddy Wilson (p), Bob Cranshaw (b) and Louie Bellson (dm) in their corner doesn't really hurt...
And there's more:
One track of C. Hawkins quartet with Oscar Peterson, Sam Jones and Louis Hayes
plus C. Hawkins quintet with George Arvanitas (p), Mickey Baker (g), Jimmy Woode (b) and Kansas Fields (dm) - BTW - Kansas Fields is a great name - it even sounds like a stage name or something...

All in all, there's no cheating here - you get first class Coleman Hawkins for your money, a lot of hot blowing and muscular improvising by Hawk, lyrical by Edison and Carter and, well, hot by Eldridge and Carol Stevens....

Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in