Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST HAVE for anyone who has a passion in life for something-especially fashion!!
I am a recent graduate working in the fashion industry and this book is officially my fashion bible. I could not put this book down. It gives you a real, upclose understanding about..everything in this industry. It really answers so many questions in terms of how to act and what it really takes to make it in this industry, as well as, personal questions such as what...
Published on October 31, 2010 by Claire

versus
3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not usefull
This book puts the entire fashion industry into a broad perspective of categories. Its helps to see how many different areas there are and which area you would fit into best. However, most examples used in the book shows designers who went to fashion school and some of their experiences from working with other companies prior to starting their own line. Not much help to...
Published on January 16, 2011 by Fashn95


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST HAVE for anyone who has a passion in life for something-especially fashion!!, October 31, 2010
This review is from: In Fashion: From Runway to Retail, Everything You Need to Know to Break Into the Fashion Industry (Paperback)
I am a recent graduate working in the fashion industry and this book is officially my fashion bible. I could not put this book down. It gives you a real, upclose understanding about..everything in this industry. It really answers so many questions in terms of how to act and what it really takes to make it in this industry, as well as, personal questions such as what aspect of this industry would be best for you. As someone looking to design, reading this book further convinced me I am doing exactly what I was put on this earth to do. I am buying every single one of my friends this book for christmas and I highly recommend this book for anyone looking to get into fashion, starting fashion, or who already work in the industry!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great author, amazing book!, September 16, 2010
This review is from: In Fashion: From Runway to Retail, Everything You Need to Know to Break Into the Fashion Industry (Paperback)
As a current college student trying to break into the industry I need all the tips and advice I can get. Studied this cover to cover before an interview at Allure Magazine and a week later was called and offered the internship! Couldn't have done it without all the great advice! Must have for a fashionista!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING!, September 10, 2010
This review is from: In Fashion: From Runway to Retail, Everything You Need to Know to Break Into the Fashion Industry (Paperback)
As someone in the industry, I wish I'd known some of what I am reading now in Ms. Iverson's "In Fashion" when I was just starting out. Also a very fun read and I love the final chapter with all the do's/dont's lists. On the other hand, this isn't just a book for someone who wants to break into the fashion industry. It applies to anyone who wants to "make it" in their respective careers/lives because it is very inspiring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read and Great Business How-To, For Fashion or Any Other Business, May 10, 2011
This review is from: In Fashion: From Runway to Retail, Everything You Need to Know to Break Into the Fashion Industry (Paperback)
I loved this book. Ms. Iverson has written a chatty, witty, insightful and incisive book that should be required reading for anyone thinking about a fashion career. In fact, it should be required reading for anyone thinking about ANY kind of a career! Ms. Iverson, in her candid preface, lets us know in no short order that she's been through it all, come out the other side, and is now able to dole out abundant business advice and other pearls of wisdom to ensure a successful fashion career. She supplies us with profiles of current industry bigwigs, best places to intern lists, fashion business "dos and don'ts". But WAIT! Change a pronoun, product or situation here and there and with a little imagination, you have an indispensable book with forthright tips on developing enough savvy to succeed in any business environment. With fun and helpful tools - starting with a kind of Cosmopolitan/Meyers Briggs vocational/personality test, to resource lists and fashion industry key player lists, to meeting etiquette and email etiquette, this breezy, instructive book is a wealth of information. She's no-nonsense throughout - at one point she's got a footnote after profiling a couple of industry star players that their "names have been withheld to protect their employers from losing them to the competition." My personal favorite for laugh out loud fashion-myth-debunked line award: "Horizontal stripes make you look fat. No they don't. Fat makes you look fat". A delightful read in addition to being a terrific business how-to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST HAVE, June 29, 2011
This review is from: In Fashion: From Runway to Retail, Everything You Need to Know to Break Into the Fashion Industry (Paperback)
In fashion has really helped me learn how to get my foot in the door in the fashion industry. It prepares you with an idea of the personalities that you will encounter in the industry and how to manage working alongside them. In Fashion also gives you an idea of how you can go from an intern to really creating a meaningful and succesful career in the fashion industry. Great graduation gift for anyone graduating from college and looking to get into beauty and fashion!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best insider secrets, September 14, 2011
This review is from: In Fashion: From Runway to Retail, Everything You Need to Know to Break Into the Fashion Industry (Paperback)
As a beauty and fashion editor with a highly successful career I know Annemarie's advice is the real thing.I wish this book was around to advise me when I left Parsons School of Design to begin life in the world of beauty and fashion magazines. IN FASHION should be required reading for anyone planning on going into the publishing, fashion, beauty and entertainment business or considering a new field of opportunity and a career change in this direction at any time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing well looking, January 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: In Fashion: From Runway to Retail, Everything You Need to Know to Break Into the Fashion Industry (Paperback)
It looks like new! Really love it <3

I will buy some more books of fashion industry, and i hope you have them here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Informational, March 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: In Fashion: From Runway to Retail, Everything You Need to Know to Break Into the Fashion Industry (Paperback)
This book is a must have in any fashion students library. I loved it because it told me everything I needed to know about my chosen career field.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, January 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: In Fashion: From Runway to Retail, Everything You Need to Know to Break Into the Fashion Industry (Paperback)
This book was purchased for someone getting into the fashion industry. It was appreciated and delivery was expeditious. It came in new condition and was given as a gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Fashion Beginners book, March 26, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: In Fashion: From Runway to Retail, Everything You Need to Know to Break Into the Fashion Industry (Paperback)
I received this book in the mail before I was attending FASHION School and It was a good "insider book" for those that want to have an inside look in what is involved in getting into the fashion industry. It has some good tips on interviewing as well and how to personalize your resume and make yourself stand out from other people. Good testimonials from people within the industry that give good inspiration to anyone trying to enter into the fashion industry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

In Fashion: From Runway to Retail, Everything You Need to Know to Break Into the Fashion Industry
$16.99 $12.38
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.