Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Romance, Sensuality & Suspense
In Fidelity by MJ Rose is a great sophomore follow up to Lip Service. Twenty years ago, Jordan saw her father die at the hands of her ex-boyfriend. She made sure he was convicted of that crime. For twenty years Jordan has been trying to adjust to her father's death, while building a family, falling in and out of love and helping her patients face their demons. Meanwhile...
Published on January 7, 2001 by K. Hewitt

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars In stupidity
You wanna know the `plot' to this book then I suggest you read the other lengthy reviews. Anyway, this book was so full of nonsense and lacking a true cohesive plot that I was tearing out my hair in frustration. We have a woman that flat out busted her husband with another woman and then the guy admits to numerous affairs. She acts calmly and serenely, after all she is a...
Published on June 10, 2005 by Sotired


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Romance, Sensuality & Suspense, January 7, 2001
This review is from: In Fidelity (Paperback)
In Fidelity by MJ Rose is a great sophomore follow up to Lip Service. Twenty years ago, Jordan saw her father die at the hands of her ex-boyfriend. She made sure he was convicted of that crime. For twenty years Jordan has been trying to adjust to her father's death, while building a family, falling in and out of love and helping her patients face their demons. Meanwhile for twenty years her ex-boyfriend has been dreaming of freedom and reclaiming Jordan.
Jordan's past has come pack to stalk her, during a time when she is trying to re-adjust to her ever maturing daughter, get back together with her husband and help a patient who has become obsessed with her life. In Fidelity is what I would call a good example of suspense romantica. The underlying theme of romance is spiced with erotica and suspense. Strong characterization and plot make this book a page-turner. I can't wait to see what MJ Rose comes up with next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A page-turning erotic suspense!, February 14, 2002
This review is from: In Fidelity (Paperback)
I thought that M. J. Rose's first novel, Lip Service, was one of the most clever thriller/erotica novels I have read. It was well developed and had excellent character and story development. Needless to say that her second novel, In Fidelity, is just as, if not more, suspenseful and erotic as her first novel.
Dr. Jordan Sloan's world shatters all over again when her father's murderer is released on parole. The key witness to his murder trial, she fears that he'll seek revenge -- though everyone, including her daughter, seems to think that she is just being paranoid. A psychotherapist, she tries to help her patients' problems while trying to figure the psyche of murderers and coming to terms with her about to be ex-husband's infidelity. Jordan is bound to suffer several more betrayals -- which leads to a spellbounding conclusion.
Suspenseful, erotic and, yes, romantic, In Fidelity should be devoured in one sitting! I highly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another wonderful book by a gifted author!, December 4, 2000
Another wonderful book by a gifted author!
Dr. Jordan Sloan is having a hard time putting her father's death behind her, especially now since the murderer, her ex-boyfriend at the time, has been freed from prison. Dan Mallory tried his best to get young Jordan back after their break-up--anger drove him into that store that horrible day. A confrontation took place and the next thing Jordan saw was her father's blood rolling across the floor. In the courtroom during the trial, Jordan pointed out her father's murderer to the jury. Now Jordan feels she is forced to constantly look over her shoulder wherever she goes. Is she being followed or just paranoid? Has Dan Mallory been religiously rejuvenated and ready for the outside world?
Murdered in his own jewelry store twenty years ago, Jordan relives the smells and visions of that gruesome, life-changing day almost every single day of her adult life.
Now a mother of a 17-year-old Zen adherent, she tries to develop a better relationship with her daughter, Lilly. She feels that Lilly is getting too serious with her Yale boyfriend, Cooper, who introduced and encourages Lilly's Zen beliefs.
Dr. Sloan gets aggravated at times, but marvels at the fact that Lilly has grown to love photography just as Lilly's father has. Separated five years, Robert holds onto the thought of him and Jordan getting back together. Jordan just wants to feel sexy again.
Aside from everything else going on in Dr. Sloan's life...she also has to deal with and analyze her patient's lives on a daily basis from her home counseling office. One female patient has Dr. Sloan intrigued.
Precious stones and jewelry are mentioned throughout this book depicting strong visual images, which are linked with a memory--good and disturbing.
M. J. Rose's storytelling captivated me. Her talent for piecing together a remarkable, ever-twisting plot with realistic, fascinating characters shines brightly in her newest erotic novel IN FIDELITY set for publication January 2001. Ms. Rose weaves the past, present, and future into one story line without skimping in detail, or in character descriptions--minor and major--and molds them smoothly and beautifully into an astonishing book.
If you love to read a book where you, the reader, are taken beyond the bedroom door, read M. J. Rose's steamy novel IN FIDELITY.
--Reviewed by Jennifer L. B. Leese
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You won't be able to put it down - or stop thinking about it, April 20, 2001
By 
This review is from: In Fidelity (Paperback)
What is so unusual about this book and Rose's writing in general is that she keeps you turning the pages and then for days after the book is over you are still thinking about some of the issues and questions her characters and her story line have brought to light.
The reviewer above must have skipped over a whole lot of this book to not understand what the fuss is about.
This is quality writing that is also entertaining. Smart and satisfying at the same time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The ties that bind us, March 25, 2001
This review is from: In Fidelity (Paperback)
Psychotherapist Jordan Sloan's life is a perfect case study of survival. Two heartbreaking incidents happened early on. When Jordan was 19-years-old she witnessed her father being shot to death in their family jewelry store by a man she knew. If life wasn't hard enough with the constant memory of Dan Mallory, ricocheting bullets, falling roses, shattering glass and the metallic smell of blood, years later Jordan learns of her husband's infidelity. She literally walks in on him in his studio dark room when things are developing. Give you a clue, it isn't monochrome photos.
In an attempt to preserve the fragments of her personal life, Jordan concentrates on making her 17-year-old Zen following daughter, Lilly, and her practice, the focus of her new life. A supportive cast of characters either makes her life miserable or helps her to hang on. Though you seldom see Lilly's boyfriend, Cooper Davis, he's responsible for her fascination with Zen Buddhism and a very simplistic life. This makes it difficult for Jordan to give her daughter anything without a "I don't need it mom. Think of all the other people in the world who need it more than me," attitude. Then there's Grandma, Jordan's New Age/Eastern Philosophy following mother who influences Lilly and believes she's found peace and a new life after her husband's tragic death. Then there's Adrienne Blessing, Jordan's new patient, who's always bragging about all the men she's slept with. Jordan's sure there's a story there. The one person responsible for keeping Jordan sane and giving her a much-needed helping of happiness is her best friend, Chloe Blanchard. And then there's Jordan's brother, Simon. Simon is more than a "little concerned" now that Dan Mallory recently received his walking papers from prison. Logic dictated that he might pay Jordan a visit, after all she testified against him in court, which landed him behind bars.
So Jordan's life is a virtual roller coaster. She has to be there for Lilly when she falls deeply in love at a tender age and at the same time be supportive of her love for photography. She has to constantly take all precautions in case Mallory shows up on her doorstep one day with a gun and a promise of revenge. Then there's Robert, her husband, whose idea of separation is not so easy for Jordan. Having your almost-ex out of your apartment, but right upstairs keeps the family together, but it doesn't resolve a severed marriage and her own unfulfilled desires.
With each day's passing, Jordan has to decide if she wants to take that big step and finally get a divorce. She has to work towards resolution in the lives of her patients, as well as her own, and she must contemplate what move she'll make when Dan Mallory finally comes forward.
"In Fidelity" is a work of art. M.J. Rose captures the essence of her character's lives: hardships, fears, hopes and desires. The book is an honest, up-close-and-personal look at how difficult life can be and the "ties that bind us." It's a fast-moving, keep-the-children-out-of-the-room reflection of life that you won't be able to put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars In stupidity, June 10, 2005
By 
Sotired (Chicago, IL) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: In Fidelity (Paperback)
You wanna know the `plot' to this book then I suggest you read the other lengthy reviews. Anyway, this book was so full of nonsense and lacking a true cohesive plot that I was tearing out my hair in frustration. We have a woman that flat out busted her husband with another woman and then the guy admits to numerous affairs. She acts calmly and serenely, after all she is a therapist. Her estranged husband Robert comes off as sensitive pony tail guy, for crying out loud he wears patchouli (shudders). He went to therapy to deal with his sex addictions and now after five years (apparently five years is the therapy industry standard for cured) he thinks he is ready to renew his marriage and try again. Jordan has many issues to work through. Truthfully she should have divorced the two-timing slug five years before but they decided not to for the sake of the spoiled daughter.

Ahh the daughter ...sorry a 17 year old into Zen is not wise, in fact she lacks common sense to such a degree that if she were my kid I would not let her leave the house without a tracking device. Her Grandfather's killer is released from prison and is stalking Jordan. What does the Zen daughter do? She gets mad at her mom for not believing that her grandfather murderer is a changed man, after this guy has missed two parole meetings. Riiiiight. Furthermore the kid has taken pictures of a guy that she knows is following them yet she still won't let her mom get negative about the murderer, after all he MIGHT have changed. Uh huh. Then we have the daughters boyfriend who almost kills her father by setting a fire to his studio because he does not like the artistic pictures Robert has taken of his daughter - read almost nude. Frankly the boyfriend was creeped out and angered by the pictures and was not feeling the art. That is the one reaction I get. I didn't feel the art either, yuck. Add to that a very sexually explicit patient that is stalking Jordan's husband and you have a book with no real focus. I especially like the part where Jordan was actually thankful her husband cheated on her. In this day and age cheating is not just about betraying your spouse, its also about putting your life and your spouses life in danger. This book was just too much for me. Sorry folks 2 and a half stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ten stars! Sat up all night reading it, March 22, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: In Fidelity (Paperback)
I think what I love so much about this novel is it really has it all: a story that keeps you up half the night reading, characters so real you feel as if you know them (the relationship between the mother and the daughter was remarkable in its insights), and writing that's clear and lyrical. There's so much to love: I loved the daughter's infatuation with all things zen, loved the psychotherapist mother's patients, loved the seamless way the past intruded into the present--and threatened the future. Can't wait to read more of the very talented MJ Rose!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Keeps you turning those pages!, June 29, 2001
This review is from: In Fidelity (Paperback)
Although this isn't the sort of book I usually read, I found this book hard to set down once I started it. Rose has that amazing ability some authors possess to =make= you keep on reading. I won't rehash the plot, as other reviewers have thoroughly covered that aspect of the book. I'll just add that IN FIDELITY is a tense, taut book that keeps you turning those pages!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In Fidelity, July 2, 2001
By 
Dora Levy-Mossanen (Beverly Hills, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: In Fidelity (Paperback)
In her gripping, multifaceted novel, In Fidelity, once again M.J.Rose proves that she is both a master storyteller and a skillful portrayer of the human psyche. Once you pick up this engrossing novel, you won't be able to put it down until the very breath-taking ending.
Dora Levy-Mossanen's award winning novel "Lyla," is the story of an obsessed woman's jouney to plan her revenge against her husband's betrayal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars cross genre page turner, March 28, 2001
This review is from: In Fidelity (Paperback)
I read MJ's In Fidelity in two glups - thoroughly enjoyed it. Sensual in every sense of the word. Part mystery, part romance, part psychological thriller - it kept me turning pages, something a book hasn't done in a while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

In Fidelity
In Fidelity by M. J. Rose (Paperback - January 1, 2001)
$13.95 $12.56
In stock but may require an extra 1-2 days to process.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.