Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read!
This is a truly inspirational book. I believe this book describes one of the great events in all of human history. For any parent who wants to give their child a view of the world outside their strip-mall laden nieghborhood, they should dedicate themselves to reading this story to them. My youngest is only 7 years old and he loved this book! The only caveat I have...
Published on April 6, 2000

versus
6 of 35 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hahaha
This KID saves the life of William Wallace TWICE! It just so happens that Henty fits his characters into history and manages to make them do a host of fabulous deeds without it changing the course of history at all. Well, anyway, this is just children's fiction. So, in that sense it is OK. For those, say, under age 13 it might even be interesting--fascinating, for...
Published on August 17, 2001 by Berek Qinah Smith


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read!, April 6, 2000
By A Customer
This is a truly inspirational book. I believe this book describes one of the great events in all of human history. For any parent who wants to give their child a view of the world outside their strip-mall laden nieghborhood, they should dedicate themselves to reading this story to them. My youngest is only 7 years old and he loved this book! The only caveat I have is this book, like all Henty books, details many graphic battles. However, the main character demonstrates bravery, leadership, loyalty and ingenuity- traits we'd all love to see built into our kids. I can't recommend this book highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Historical Fiction and Adventure, May 11, 2004
By 
Scott McKenzie (Louisville, CO United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: In Freedom's Cause: A Story of Wallace and Bruce (Dover Children's Classics) (Paperback)
Freedom's Cause has a brilliant plot and a fictional character as the protaganist. He starts off as a teen and then grows up through the time of William Wallace and Robert the Bruce. The fictional protagonist interacts with historical characters from that period of Scottish History. The story is full of adventure, friendship, loyalty, honor, heroics, and history. Good values are presented. This book is great for anyone looking for something on Scottish history and which also is an outstanding novel.

This book is as excellent or better then any Nigel Tranter book I have read, like The Wallace and The Bruce Trilogy.

The accuracy of the historical period is superb and I have read much on this area of Scottish history. The persons discussed, the geography talked about, and the timeline presented is very accurate.

I highly recommend this and can't wait to read another Henty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In Freedom's Cause: an inspiring read, March 25, 2000
By A Customer
This book is one of the greatest I have ever read.Taking place in medieval Scotland, it follows the many adventures of Sir Archie Forbes, a young scotsman who is determined to see his people free from the tyranny of England. Archie meets up with William Wallace and Robert the Bruce, Falls in love, and has many adventures. I loved this book, and i'm sure anyone who reads it will feel the same!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Learned more reading this than a history textbook, September 24, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: In Freedom's Cause: A Story of Wallace and Bruce (Dover Children's Classics) (Paperback)
This book is one of the most fascinating and interesting to readers who care about the past. For people who do not like history or to learn about the exciting feats accomplished by our predeseccors, I do not reccomend this book.
The story is about young Archie Forbes, a young man destined to be cheif of his clan. His father was killed when Archie was just a boy and his lands taken away by the Kerr family, nobles from nearby England. While Archie is determined to reclaim his family's lands he meets William Wallace and helps in the scottish revolution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Unbelievable!", April 21, 2000
By A Customer
This book has open my mind to Henty and the Renaissance. Not only does the writer incredibly and accurately describe the scene but also the characters like it is real life! Once picked up, it is impossible to put down. Archie, Wallace, Bruce and all the others take captive your thoughts. This book is highly reccomended because knowing about history accurately is vital. This book does all of that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars In Freedom's Cause, June 23, 2002
By 
Wendy Cline (Belen, New Mexico United States) - See all my reviews
This is the best book I have read in a long time. G.A. Henty tell the fighting between the Scottish and the English. I could not put the book down because all the battle that was going on between the two. If you like to read history then this is the one to read. I look forward to reading more of G.A. Henty books and giving you the reader (like me) a good rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In Freedoms Cause, February 23, 2005
A Kid's Review
This review is from: In Freedom's Cause: A Story of Wallace and Bruce (Dover Children's Classics) (Paperback)
I highly reccommend G.A. Henty's In Freedom's cause to anyone age 10 and up who likes to read historical fiction. William Wallace, Robert the Bruce, and a ficticious charactor, Archibald Forbes, take the leading roles in fighting battles to stop the powerful English from taking over Scotland. This book is very closely based on factual hiistorical events. When England is very close to taking over scotland, William Wallace and Robert the Bruce fight overwhelming odds to get back their homeland.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In Freedom's Cause, February 27, 2002
By A Customer
I bought this for my 5th grader son who is fascinated with history. He loved it and highly recommends this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Braveheart: the real story, sort of, June 1, 2001
By 
This is a very pleasureable book. Henty uses the medium of a fictional character to give us an intimate portrait of the life of William Wallace and Robert Bruce. Henty lays out the story with enough history to be accurate, but enough action to keep you awake. Although some may find it somewhat juvenille in approach, it is well written so as not to exclude all but his intended young audience. The language is somewhat archaic, but not overly difficult if one is familiar with the English language. All in all it is a fun book, and a must read for any fan of Wallace, Bruce, and the Scottish people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best story of Wallace, September 22, 2004
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I highly recommend this book to any lovers of historical adventure stories. The story is fast paced and carries you along with Archie in his adventures. Have a good map of Scotland and England handy to look up places as you read. Great way to learn history and geography!

Becky Maxwell
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

In Freedom's Cause: A Story of Wallace and Bruce (Dover Children's Classics)
$6.95 $6.88
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.