Customer Reviews


88 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


94 of 108 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Impressive film directed by Angelina Jolie
I was invited to see this film back in July. At the time it was a secret screening. They wouldn't tell us the name of the movie, let alone who directed it. When I find out later it was directed by Angelina Jolie , I was impressed.

She did a great job capturing the atrocities of war and the lowest depths of humanity here. The movie basically shows us the events...
Published on December 23, 2011 by GreatMovieCriticForever

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good Effort Watered Down By Melodrama.
Angelina Jolie deserves some respect for choosing the Bosnian conflict as the subject of her directorial debut considering she could have easily settled for safer, more mainstream material, but as a writer/director she still has a long way to go and "In The Land Of Blood And Honey" stands as a heartfelt movie watered down by recycled melodrama. The sectarian conflicts...
Published on August 1, 2012 by Robert Blake


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

94 of 108 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Impressive film directed by Angelina Jolie, December 23, 2011
This review is from: In the Land of Blood and Honey (DVD)
I was invited to see this film back in July. At the time it was a secret screening. They wouldn't tell us the name of the movie, let alone who directed it. When I find out later it was directed by Angelina Jolie , I was impressed.

She did a great job capturing the atrocities of war and the lowest depths of humanity here. The movie basically shows us the events leading to, during, and after the Bosnian war from the perspective of a Serb and a Bosnian who as it so happens are lovers.

The lovers are Ajla and Danijel both excellently played by Goran Kostic and Zana Marjanovic . At first Danijel is very hesitant about carrying his orders as a Serb soldier. At first, but this doesn't last long.
He either carries out or orders other members of his team to carry some barbaric actions on the Bosnian civilians they find from either rape, torture, to eventual death.

When you see what happens you are going instantly think back to the Nazi's and what they did to Jews in the name of ethnic cleansing.

Eventually, we see through Danijel's lead, genocide being committed at every turn. Ajla is captured, but she is treated like royalty (again at first) with no one else being able to touch or come near here except Danijel.

This love story though has no happy ending as Ajla sees Danijel for what he is, not an unwilling participant in the war, but an active and willing agitator in one of the most chronicled bloodbaths recorded in Europe.

"In the land of Blood and Honey" is a superb war movie showing the type of atrocities that the Serbs were accused off while the United Nations and United States did nothing to stop it until the end.

Angelina Jolie's second directorial debut is impressive. No shot is ever wasted, every shot and scene sets up something very important. The actors are all excellent.

This could easily get several Academy nominations come Oscar time.

All in war a very brutal, but realistic depiction of another bloody war in history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Very Dark and Controversial Movie, February 25, 2012
By 
This review is from: In the Land of Blood and Honey (DVD)
THE LAND OF BLOOD AND HONEY is stirring a lot of controversy, both bad and good. This is actress Angelina Jolie's first outing as writer/director of a film and for many reasons she deserves applause for tackling such a subject as the Balkan War from 1992 - 1995. Unless the viewer has studied the conditions in the once Yugoslavia, a bit of history may help the view to understand the conflict. `In 1992, conflict engulfed Bosnia and Herzegovina. The war was predominantly a territorial conflict between local Bosniaks and Croats backed by Zagreb, and Serbs backed by the Yugoslav People's Army and Serbia. The Yugoslav armed forces had disintegrated into a largely Serb-dominated military force. Opposed to the Bosnian-majority led government's agenda for independence, and along with other armed nationalist Serb militant forces, the JNA attempted to prevent Bosnian citizens from voting in the 1992 referendum on independence. This did not succeed in persuading people not to vote and instead the intimidating atmosphere combined with a Serb boycott of the vote resulted in a resounding 99% vote in support for independence. On 19 June 1992, the war in Bosnia broke out. The conflict, typified by the siege of Sarajevo and Srebrenica, was by far the bloodiest and most widely covered of the Yugoslav wars. Bosnia's Serb faction led by ultra-nationalist Radovan Karadzi' promised independence for all Serb areas of Bosnia from the majority-Bosniak government of Bosnia. To link the disjointed parts of territories populated by Serbs and areas claimed by Serbs, Karadzic pursued an agenda of systematic ethnic cleansing primarily against Bosnians through genocide and forced removal of Bosniak populations. The Central Intelligence Agency (CIA) in the United States reported in April 1995 that 90 percent of all the atrocities in the Yugoslav wars up to that point had been committed by Serb militants. Most of these atrocities occurred in Bosnia. In 1994 the US brokered peace between Croatian forces and the Bosnian Army of the Republic of Bosnia and Herzegovina. After the successful Flash and Storm operations, the Croatian Army and the combined Bosnian and Croat forces of Bosnia and Herzegovina, conducted an operation codenamed Operation Maestral to push back Bosnian Serb military gains.Together with NATO air strikes on the Bosnian Serbs, the successes on the ground put pressure on the Serbs to come to the negotiating table. The fighting in Croatia ended in mid-1995, after Operation Flash and Operation Storm. At the end of these operations, Croatia had managed to reclaim all of its territory except the UNPA Sector East bordering Serbia, however most of the Serbian population in these areas had become refugees, and these operations have led to war crimes indictments by the ICTY against elements of the Croat military leadership. The areas uncaptured by the Croations forces in "Sector East" came under UN administration (UNTAES), and were reintegrated to Croatia in 1998. The war ended with the signing of the Dayton Agreement on the 14 December 1995, with the formation of Republika Srpska as an entity within Bosnia and Herzegovina being the resolution for Bosnian Serb demands.

From this background Jolie has fashioned a story that relates a strange love story that is difficult to define. Danijel (Goran Kosti') and Ajla (Zana Marjanovi'), rare in a dance hallwhen the explosive war begins Danijel is a a Serbian policeman, becomes a captain, and Muslim artist Ajla becomes a captive. When Ajla ends up in Danijel's camp, he attempts to protect her without attracting undue attention, so she serves the men meals, but the threat of rape is ever present. Danijel's father Nebojsa (Rade Šerbedzija) is the general of the Serbs and discovers that his son is hiding a Muslim woman, discovers her, has her tortured, and condemns his son. Lack of trust between the `lovers' leads to a tumultuous end.

The script is slow, the movement slower, but the impact of the bestiality of war, once again based on religion, demonstrates how cruel people can become when it is Serbs against Muslims, even when the individuals are lovers. The point is made, perhaps too repeatedly, but Jolie has assembled a fine cast and manages to give us as raw a picture of war and the camps always associated with the captured ones as can be shown on the screen. It is a necessary subject to examine: t is not an easy film to watch. Why is it controversial? The answer lies in why is war controversial - who 'wins' when all lose? Grady Harp, February 12
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Amazing Directorial Debut, March 16, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
An amazing writing/directorial debut by angelina jolie. The actor's were phenomenal(great choice in using local actors) and I applaud angelina on actually doing research and using facts in a situation which is so sensitive and which she got a lot of heat for. I applaud her for not backing down and the effects speak for themselves. A very real war movie, it doesn't baby you, if you're looking for a movie to baby you look elsewhere. It shows what these women have gone through and believe it or not I felt for both sides the muslims and the serbs maybe because I can step back and look at it objectively for what it was. The ending did shock me but I loved that it wasn't a hollywood ending, after all there are no hollywood endings in war and angelina jolie understands that. I look forward to her next directorial/writing effort, she's got the talent and we need more women in that field.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, February 9, 2012
This review is from: In the Land of Blood and Honey (DVD)
This is without any doubt best movie made about Bosnia in years. Through love story Jolie is able to show atrocities and crimes commited by Serb forces during the war.P.S.One more great movie is on its way .Name of the movie is
AS IF I AM NOT THERE.Irish movie about fate of Bosnian women .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Engaging and intense, February 29, 2012
By 
Dennis Jones (New Windsor, New York) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I wasn't sure how this would turn out. I thought I would find it only ok, a decent film from a well meaning person. I was pleasantly surprised to discover a well made, engaging, and well crafted film. The storyline, two would be lovers a la Romeo and Juliet, only they start out on the same side so to speak, seemed hard to believe but the acting, directing, and pacing of the film makes it work. An 1hr and 40 min in I was beginning to think it should be wrapping up but that's a minor bit of criticism. If you didn't know who wrote or directed this film you would think it was from someone that has done this for years. There's a lot of strength in this film. From the lead actors to the supporting cast , they keep you engaged. Daniel and Aja want so desperately to leave the war behind and be a safe space for each other but they can't. There's never a moment of peace, real peace, and I so respect Jolie for not making this a HW film. I highly recommend it. It's one of the best film I've seen from 2011. It's a shame it didn't get as much awards love as it actually deserves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good Effort Watered Down By Melodrama., August 1, 2012
By 
Robert Blake (Santa Monica, CA, USA) - See all my reviews
Angelina Jolie deserves some respect for choosing the Bosnian conflict as the subject of her directorial debut considering she could have easily settled for safer, more mainstream material, but as a writer/director she still has a long way to go and "In The Land Of Blood And Honey" stands as a heartfelt movie watered down by recycled melodrama. The sectarian conflicts which erupted after the shattering of Yugoslavia were already explored with greater power in the 1990s in films like "Savior" by Predrag Antonijevic and Milcho Manchevski's "Before The Rain," while those movies told strong stories with powerful cultural messages, Jolie's movie simply shows us the horrors of the conflict as background for a standard soap opera.

The film's storyline centers on a Muslim woman named Ajila (Zana Marjanovic) whose community is overrun by Christian militias led by Danijel (Goran Kostic). Eight months earlier they had already met at a cafe where a romantic dance floor moment was interrupted by the first bombs of the war. As soldiers go around looting and raping, Ajila finds herself taken captive with a group of women to a nearby base where Danijel decides to give her careful protection, this puts him at risk because his warlord father Nebojsa (Rade Serbedzija) is determined to wipe out all Muslims in a storm of ethnic hatred.

"In The Land Of Blood And Honey" proves Jolie has an eye for capturing memorable images and establishing a place, she knows how to use her camera. She also doesn't flinch away from the horrors of war and provides up close moments of terror and heartbreaking violence, with unflinching honesty she shows how rape is used as a weapon in conflict zones. But Jolie's canvas remains dry, she SHOWS us the horror of the Bosnian war but never digs deep enough into her characters, their backgrounds and the dimensions of their experiences. It's as if the war's grisly details are presented in the style of a high school essay and the characters are no more than vessels for Jolie's overall, general idealization of love surpassing ethnic boundaries (although the ending might seems to leave hope behind). We know what Jolie WANTS to say (the message itself is admirable) but she fumbles in the delivery. For example Ajila and Danijel never have a conversation that feels real, they never have a moment where you really sense or feel the soul-twisting political/religious/social dilemmas they now face, they simply lock up in a room, have intense sex and move along to the basic schemes of a potboiler. Some scenes seem to end abruptly when they should be allowed to play out more, some transitions feel like leaps, leaving confusing or sometimes vague plot holes in the story. The love story itself doesn't develop with a convincing rhythm or sense of real emotional growth.

The conflict in the former Yugoslavia is indeed an important event in recent world history, the kind of violence and sectarian terror unleashed there can be seen recycled in a place like Syria today. But of course most Americans have no idea about the events depicted in the film or could care less, so in that sense Jolie's bravery should be commended. But she also suffers from the kind of typical, postmodern attitude dominant in the arts these days except for a few veterans like Oliver Stone. Basically her film laments at how awful the Bosnian war was and has a general critique here of religious division lines, but these ideas have been expressed much better in other films, here she has little to really SAY about the whole history of the region and the conflict. It's as if Jolie wants to play that typical game of exploring a political issue without being political. A few characters say a few lines about Communism's collapse and how it opened the door to sectarian divisions (under Tito ethnic and religious differences were rightfully cast aside as official state policy), but Jolie's views are somewhat vague, she's obviously against war in general, but she never presents any sort of bold political stance. The UN, NATO are almost cartoonish background characters. Maybe it just isn't fashionable in these times to clearly make a political statement.

While this film isn't a complete success, it still announces Angelina Jolie as a director with promise, maybe her next effort will be more focused and tighter. It's refreshing to see a celebrity of her calibre with historical, geopolitical interests and it would be a shame to see her fall back into "mainstream" genre filmmaking (like Kenneth Branagh with "Thor"). "In The Land Of Blood And Honey" is a decent start, let's hope she gives it another try sooner rather than later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well-Intentioned But Too Melodramatic, August 20, 2013
By 
Tsuyoshi (Kyoto, Japan) - See all my reviews
Written, directed and co-produced by Angelina Jolie, "In the Land of Blood and Honey" is a romance set against the Bosnian War. Her directorial debut deals with such serious issues as sexual violence during the war, a topic addressed also in films like "Grbavica: the Land of My Dreams" in 2006, but somehow Jolie as filmmaker decided that the film needs a love story.

The film's love story centers on Danijel (Goran Kostic), a son of a strict Serbian general, and Ajla (Zana Marjanovic), a Muslim painter. The war begins and the ex-lovers meet each other again at a prisoner camp, one as commander, the other as prisoner.

I am no expert on weaponry and artillery, so I have nothing to say about the accuracies or inaccuracies of the uniforms and weapons. Some may take issue on the film's political leanings, which I will not discuss here, either.

My main complaint is about the uneven narrative style that wavers uncomfortably between grim and sentimental. While Jolie and photographer Dean Semler ("Dances with Wolves") successfully creates the oppressive atmosphere of the war-torn country, the serious message of the film is underdmined by the thin and underdeveloped love story.

Though clearly made with all good intention, "In the Land of Blood and Honey" needs more credible character developments and skilled storytelling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "A" for Realism, October 25, 2012
By 
I've never been in a war zone and can only imagine the complexities of emotions that must go on, but I think that The Land of Blood and Honey captures it. I love that it didn't get sentimental, political or glamorous. The people looked like real people. The atrocities are probably representative of what really happens in war. I am sure that neighbors became enemies overnight and there were many people with conflicting feelings of loyalty vs. morality. Films like this and The Stoning of Soraya M need to be made and shown. I am glad Jolie had the courage to do it and do it well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The truth of Bosnian war, February 18, 2012
This review is from: In the Land of Blood and Honey (DVD)
The movie show is real hard to watch because of few scenes, but it show a real situations of Bosnian war in 90s.
I have folow this war trow media and saw few movies from the region , but this movie is something unexpectable and hits real hard in our minds and does not leave us even after last scene is finished .
Must see!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good movie that is worth a watch but it seemed to try to hard to get emotions out of you. I give it a B-, March 16, 2012
By 
Tony Heck (Belgrade, MT USA) - See all my reviews
"My name is Danijel, I'm a criminal of war." During the Bosnian war the Serbs would go town to town and kill the men and take the women. When a Serb soldier named Danijel meets someone he once knew and is torn between his feelings for her and his duty to country. This is a very difficult movie to review. I did like this but it had a few big flaws. One of which was that it seemed to try to hard. I know that Angelina Jolie is huge into drawing attention to this type of atrocity but after awhile it was like "I get it, it was bad, please stop showing rapes." This is a tough movie to watch but I will say that the fighting scenes and the acting were very good. I almost feel bad not liking it (which goes back to my comment about it trying to hard), but it seemed to lack real emotion to me. Instead of letting it come naturally you are almost forced to feel bad for the girl and to me that kind of loses what I think the real point of the movie was. I do recommend it but be ready for it. Overall, a good movie but it tried way to hard to create emotion which to me hurt the movie. I give it a B-.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

In the Land of Blood and Honey
Used & New from: $25.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.