Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Surround Mix, but Beware the Price Tag!, January 22, 2012
By 
Andrew Lippitt (Stoughton, MA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: In the Land of Grey & Pink (Audio CD)
This 40th Anniversary Edition sounds great. The original mix is there, plus a new stereo mix by Porcupine Tree's Steven Wilson. But for me, the highlight is Wilson's subtle instrumental placement in the 5.1 DD surround mix which, BTW, will play on any DVD player (no DVD-A player required). The instruments have much more space around them, opening up the band before your ears and eyes.

This version of Caravan's best-loved album is packed with extras. The additional songs and early versions are a must for fans of the original album. The video selections are entertaining and the booklet has some interesting insights. However, the text in the booklet seems to have been poorly edited in that several redundant passages give the impression that both an early draft and a revised version of the new "liner notes" were inadvertently combined.

One other caveat, Amazon's price seemed quite high compared to what this version is offered for on other sites. Shop smartly.

No matter. If you've always loved this LP as I have, pay whatever you must. It's the best sounding, most enveloping "Grey and Pink" ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Caravan's Magnum Opus, January 12, 2013
By 
applewood (everywhere and nowhere) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: In the Land of Grey & Pink (Audio CD)
Three was a charm for Caravan, and I'm sure this 1971 recording cemented their place in the hearts of many a fan, making the recordings done both before and after more desirable. And over 40 years later it's still a great listen!

Other reviewers here have done a great job of detailing the contents (and the Wikipedia article on the band is fantastic for getting a picture of their various line-ups), so I'll just keep this simple and say I love the original album (available as the 1989 import Land of Grey & Pink, which in some ways is the best place to start (just the album as it was originally presented). In 2005 another version was released (In the Land of Grey & Pink) which includes several nice bonus tracks (the instrumental/hummed vocal Winter's Wine and early demo of Golf Girl are fun, entertaining and educational). Then in 2011 this 40th anniversary edition came out, which includes what was on the '05 edition plus much more.

As mentioned by another reviewer the biggest negative of this whole release is the fine cover art being obscured by a promo sticker (the full cover does show on the DVD screen however). The pluses are abundant - 3 discs of music (Disc 1 - original album mix plus 3 tracks of unreleased and/or alternate versions, Disc 2 - 6 tracks of related material from the 12/1970 recording session and 5 tracks from various live performances, Disc 3 - 5.1 mix by Steve Wilson including the additional track Frozen Rose in the body of the complete album (probably cut due to original Lp constraints), plus a "new stereo mix" of the whole original album, plus the really excellent bonus of actually seeing Caravan play Golf Girl and Winter Wine from a '71 TV session.), as well as 19 page booklet with photos, essay and recording details. Deluxe indeed!

The sound quality is great throughout, especially the 5.1 mix.

Musically this has always been the most satisfying Caravan recording for me, the band seeming to be really competent individually and comfortable with each other, with the style loose and whimsical and the content sweet and innocent (the best of hippie sentiments) - Golf Girl makes a great opener, Winter Wine has some of the prettiest music they ever recorded, Love to Love You is light and playful, the title track is magical, and the second side's opus Nine Feet Underground is fantastic - grooving and jamming Caravan at their best. It has taken me years to come to accept that David Sinclair's keyboards are making most of the lead sounds. Somehow I thought there had to be more of Pye Hasting's electric guitar in there, mirroring and exchanging leads with Sinclair. But it really seems this a 23 minute display of Sinclair's virtuosity, and the incredible sympatico of the whole group. Another notable aspect is the abundant and tasteful flute, tenor sax and piccolo parts contributed by longtime guest Jimmie Hastings.

If you are new to Caravan I'd just recommend the earlier (cheaper) original version, but if you are a fan then this deluxe edition is the one to get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5.1 HEAVEN, September 21, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: In the Land of Grey & Pink (Audio CD)
Caravan are one of those great English art school bands of the 70's along with Barclay James Harvest, Gentle Giant, Soft Machine early Genesis etc this disc is a triple delight disc one is the original recording, disc two out takes unreleased material and live versions, and disc three (my favourite) the 5.1 version with two video songs from 1971 at the end. Arguably the best album they made along with Blind dog and St Dunstans this three disc set is great value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5.1 mix is incredible, December 31, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: In the Land of Grey & Pink (Audio CD)
My favorite album by this band and one of my go to recordings when it rains. The sound quailty is very good but i prefer it on vinyl maybe because i was raised on records. Nine Feet Underground is a great whole sidder with some great jams and this group in this incarnation was at it's best. The band would lose members and add members after For Girls Who Grow Plump in the Night recording but this was the classic line up comprised of all the founding members. The booklet that comes with the CD is very insightfull and the Steven Wilson re mix is incredible esp in 5.1,hell you don't need to get high to hear everything recorded. If you want to hear them when they were writting trippy songs this is the ticket.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic..., June 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: In the Land of Grey & Pink (Vinyl)
This is one of this records that deserves to be in a collection in all formats. That is the reason why i bought it. I was looking for the Universal limited edition vinyl with some Steven Wilson remixes, but it's sold out. Although is not clear if this Klimt edition is made from master analog tapes, which is a shame, i decided to buy it. As tracklisting, this LP is the same as the Decca remasters from 2001
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An album you just gotta hear!, January 23, 2013
This review is from: In Land of Grey & Pink (Audio CD)
Caravan - In The Land Of Grey And Pink SACD

Of all the great prog rock albums I have in my collection, Caravan's "In The Land Of Grey and Pink" has always been amongst my favs......i also love their debut album which really got me into the whole Canterbury art-rock scene.

Originally released in 1971 marking their 3rd album and still stands up as one of the finer prog albums of the early 70's. This album was lavishly packaged too with its pink and grey colored hues and Tolkein-ish art set it apart from others right from the start.

Every songs is excellent and the watermark is the 22 mins epic track "Nine Feet Undergroud" with its strangely names sub movements. Musically Caravan fuse parts of folk, rock, jazz and progressive elements with excellent vocals and harmonies. I have a few different versions of this treasured album but the top of the foodchain is this SACD mix! Thus SACD version was skilfully and lovingly remastered by same guy that was responsible for the excellent 40th Anniversary King Crimson remasters and the Depeche Mode SACD transfers that received audiophile attention years back Kevin VanBergen. This SACD sounds clear...crisp and absolutely rich ......the way SACDs should sound!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars no problem with the exterior sticker, July 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: In the Land of Grey & Pink (Audio CD)
This is a great album, and the extras, while no more than a collection of outtakes, are more than worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, April 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: In the Land of Grey & Pink (Vinyl)
I have been expecting to have this album on LP, it is amazing the sound and the grey an pink colored vinyl looks so cool.
I hope there will be more re issues from Caravan on LP.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prog. Rock Masterpiece, January 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: In the Land of Grey & Pink (Audio CD)
Absolutely a prog rock masterpiece. Fantastic extra content, including the DVD and the extra tracks. Recommended for all fans of Canterbury Scene.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In the land of grey and pink - caravan, August 17, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: In the Land of Grey & Pink (Audio CD)
Caravan 40th anniversary ed. Fantastic quality reproduction of an iconic album. CD set perfectly packaged and reproduced to look like the original record "Duram"-Decca Records. I'd been looking for this CD for many years to replace an old copy - couldn't be happier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

In the Land of Grey & Pink
In the Land of Grey & Pink by Caravan (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.