Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SmoothJazz.com Review
The latest release from contemporary jazz group Pieces of a Dream is an impressive piece of work indeed! Keyboardist James Lloyd and drummer Curtis Harmon, the founding duo and driving force behind this iconic band, continue to display the same passion and exuberance on IN THE MOMENT as they did as two Philly kids in the mid-70's. It was during those early years that the...
Published 10 months ago by Sandy Shore

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars in the moment pieces of a dream
it is an ok cd I have listened to it a couple times it is in the mix with many others
Published 8 months ago by becca


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SmoothJazz.com Review, September 4, 2013
By 
This review is from: In the Moment (Audio CD)
The latest release from contemporary jazz group Pieces of a Dream is an impressive piece of work indeed! Keyboardist James Lloyd and drummer Curtis Harmon, the founding duo and driving force behind this iconic band, continue to display the same passion and exuberance on IN THE MOMENT as they did as two Philly kids in the mid-70's. It was during those early years that the late Grover Washington, Jr. discovered them and produced the first three of what have now become 20 albums and counting for one of the most notable and recognizable instrumental groups in the Smooth Jazz, Quiet Storm, R&B genres. IN THE MOMENT finds the group joined by superstar guitarist Rhon Lawrence and rising sax star Tony Watson Jr., and brings it with sensuous R&B and Smooth Jazz jams, starting with the vibrant and fun radio hit "Stepper's "D" Lite. This one's an automatic. Just get it! ~SCOTT O'BRIEN
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars BlackAmarillo.com Review, September 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: In the Moment (Audio CD)
Philadelphia jazz sensation Pieces of a Dream (original members James Lloyd & Curtis Harmon) made their musical debut in 1981 discovered and produced by the late Grover Washington Jr that following year in 1982 they hit the R&B charts with Mt Airy Groove now 31 years later they released their 16th project "In The Moment"

"In The Moment" is a 11 song project which combines all the elements of Contemporary, Smooth, New Jack, & Traditional jazz. Not sure if I can say it's one of their best projects since I haven't heard all of their previous stuff but as a fan of jazz music "In The Moment" certainly is NOT a disappointment.

My favorites are "For Real", "Steppers "D" Lite", "Under The Influence (Of Pieces)" & "Coming Home" other notable mentions are "In the Moment", "Misty-Eyed", "People Say", "Never Let It End" & "NewJazz Swing"

If you are a fan of Pieces of a Dream or a true jazz-head like myself "In The Moment" definitely need to be in your jazz collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smooth Jazz at its finest., September 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: In The Moment (MP3 Music)
Excellent work by these guys as always. Highly recommend this album to all POD fans. They just get better with time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Philly Jazz is Back!!!, September 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: In The Moment (MP3 Music)
This band has brought back the soul of the Philly Underground Jazz scene and added a twist to it! You have to love this album!! Right on target for one of the best from Pieces of a Dream!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great cd!!, September 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: In The Moment (MP3 Music)
One of Philly's best. Nice and smooth. Combination of upbeat and slow music. Well put together. Very nice compilation. Highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank Cindy Bradley webpage for guiding me here, good stuff!, September 21, 2013
By 
EddieE (GeecheeLand) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: In The Moment (MP3 Music)
I found this group referenced on the Cindy Bradley (Trumpet/Frumpet player) webpage. I am really glad I did. I love jazz from my days of playing a trumpet...I have been hooked and it flows though your blood from then on. This group plays with much passion and love....soul, it is quite easy to recognize. I just enjoyed each and every song and plan on buying more to add to my collection. Grover really knew what he heard when he found them, and I for one and thankful. Hats off !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Cd, September 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: In the Moment (Audio CD)
It has been a very long time for this group. enjoyed listening the first time and know it will be even better the next time i listen to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars right on, August 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: In The Moment (MP3 Music)
very good. they did it again love the change of pace on other songs .one of the top all time in the last 30 years smooth jazz groups .need to be on the arsenio hall show or other late night shows so other people can check them out r jeter jr Cleveland oh
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: In The Moment (MP3 Music)
Smoken' hot alblum
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars soothing, July 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: In The Moment (MP3 Music)
Awesome CD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

In the Moment
In the Moment by Pieces Of A Dream (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.