Automotive Holiday Deals Books Holiday Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_plcc_6M_fly_beacon Adele egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Subscribe & Save Gifts Under $50 Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Gift Card Offer bf15 bf15 bf15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $30 Off Fire HD 6 Kindle Black Friday Deals Shop Now HTL

Format: DVDChange
Price:$11.88+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
on April 17, 2011
I was worried by all the bad reviews that this season was receiving. Thankfully I disagree with most of it. I concur that this season is not as good as the second but it is far from even mediocre. It's actually has some great writing and acting throughout. One flaw is it does have a more procedural feel. Mary's life doesn't have nearly as much focus as before. This doesn't hurt the season too bad, and if this had been the first season that I ever saw I would not miss it, but I have become accustomed to her family drama.

Both Eleanor and Detective Dershowitz were taken off the cast this season. They were great characters that I would have loved to have seen more of, but I guess they needed to save some money. Allison Janney and Steven Weber join the cast though and they bring some great acting to the show. Weber's character acts as a love interest for Mary and it will be interesting to see if he returns next season to advance their relationship.

Mary and Marshall bring the charm and comedy that we expect from the series. There banter back and forth is always entertaining and easily the best part of the series. Though Mary's family drama is scaled down there is a decent amount of Brandi throughout the season as at first she vanishes with $20,000 dollars and then she reappears with a family member tagging along. Mary and Raph take their relationship to the next level as they head towards their wedding. Neither of these story lines are really that impressive but add some more depth to Mary as a protagonist.

The cases themselves are very touching as you see people transform their lives even though they may not want to. The cases and clients are kept varied enough so that the formula doesn't get old. It's a good thing because this season they took up a much bigger part than ever before in the series.

Overall the season was well written and acted. It was more procedural and based more on witnesses than previous seasons but throughout it was interesting and fun to watch. I look forward to see where they go from here as the series has been renewed for two more seasons. This season was not as good as either of the previous two but if you're a fan of the series you will enjoy it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
Wow. I feel completely different from most of the reviews here that state that the third season for "In Plain Sight" left them disappointed; I felt that it was a natural outgrowth of In Plain Sight: Season Two and just as strong as the first two.


Season two opens with Mary (Mary McCormack)recovering from the gang shooting that nearly killed her at the conclusion of season two. She's uncertain where her relationship with Raf(Cristián de la Fuente)is going even though she accepted his proposal and she's frustrated because she can't recall the face of her shooter. Marshal (Frederick Weller)feels guilty because he wasn't there for her like she was for him when he was shot previously. She returns uncertain of how she should feel and wanting to jump right back into her witsec responsibility.


The third season continues to be as entertaining filled with the droll humor of the first two seasons.

I particularly liked the episode "When Mary Met Marshall" where we see how the two first met and how Mary was brought into Witsec.

The DVD looks quite nice with a very good looking transfer. Audio sounds quite good as well.

This season has some nice extras (although fans don't buy the show for that reason necessarily) including commentary tracks on "Father Goes West" Commentary with Series Stars Mary McCormack and Frederick Weller and "A Priest Walks Into a Bar" Commentary with Series Stars Mary McCormack and Frederick Weller (so someone must have been reading the reviews complaining about no commentary tracks). We also get deleted scenes, cast interviews and a photo gallery. I would have (**hint**hint**) a featurette or two on the production of the series and/or the storylines for each season, etc.

Why doesn't the show get five stars? There were a few episodes that were a bit predictable in terms of the outcome and I'd like to see the writers take more chances with the characters/plots. Also, the boxed set could use a couple of featurettes on the production of the series just for fun.

This is another exceptionally good season of the series. As with previous seasons even the weaker episodes flow and work well because of the chemistry of the main cast particularly the outrageously funny McCormack and Weller. McCormack and Weller are hilarious with great onscreen presence.

Highly recommended.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
23 of 29 people found the following review helpful
on January 12, 2011
I'm sure there are fans out there who came into this show in Season 3 and loved it. But to those of us who've been watching since the beginning, this entire season was an affront. The character change-ups were confusing and completely unnecessary, the show became more about the witnesses than the main cast of characters, and the show's once fantastic sense of humour was lost somewhere in between.
This WAS the best show on television, now it's a run-of-the-mill procedural, and not even a very good or entertaining one. I can only wistfully imagine how this season would have gone had USA network left well enough alone. Certainly better than this subpar, thrown together mistake.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
58 of 80 people found the following review helpful
on October 23, 2010
I loved the first two seasons of this show. The writing was very clever; humor and arcane anecdotes kept the pace upbeat, and went a long way to offset Mary's ever-sour disposition. But this season the show lost its foundation ... literally. Apparently, there was some sort of uproar around last season's finale which ended with the departure of series creator David Maples' wife Holly (as Eleanor) and co-executive producer Paul Stupin, who was the guiding force of this show. Unfortunately, it looks like the egos who won the battle lost the war...and everything that was great about this show.

Mary's mother Jinx (Lesley Ann Warren) FINALLY starts to get her life together, only to all but disappear from the show. Sister Brandi, (Nichole Hiltz) also on the verge of getting it together, apparently was mostly on leave for a pregnancy, appearing in only a few scenes here and there. So she may be back, but the departure of Raph (Cristián de la Fuente) was not only extremely disappointing, but was drawn out in an excruciating manner for the ENTIRE SEASON. Mary's family provided the back-story for Mary's numerous neuroses. Without the family, none of it makes any sense. And the whole "Marshall loves Mary, but Mary doesn't know" thing got REALLY old. We all love Marshall. We don't want to see him suffer.

The quality of the show was very spotty this season, and the appearance of Allison Janney as a hard-ass bureaucrat sharing a two-shot with a portrait of Barack Obama in the background in one of the opening scenes of the premier was ALMOST enough to turn me off to the entire season right there. I don't watch TV fiction to be reminded of the events of the day. I want it to be free of present day politics so I can enjoy it years from now.

I'll give season 4 a look-see when it airs, but frankly, I don't hold out a lot of hope for it. I think it has become a complete waste of the talents of Mary McCormack, Fred Weller and Paul Ben-Victor. I own the first two seasons of In Plain Sight, along with every season of Burn Notice and White Collar and Monk, but I won't purchase this sad excuse for entertainment.
1010 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
on January 23, 2011
I saw bits and pieces of In Plain Sight, including most of Season 3, and went back through Seasons 1 and 2 to fill in the parts I had missed. From the beginning this has been a consistently well-made and smartly acted program. Unlike many other shows out there that consistently flog potential relationships for their main characters, and tend to get boring as soon as the people in question get together, the relationship between Mary and Marshall is fresh. There's love, but it's unrequited, and that is a blessed thing in a television show.

Let's see, criticism: "the character change-ups were confusing." The conclusion of Mary's relationship with Raf was sad but inevitable - they had a fantastic sexual chemistry, but since the beginning of the show it has been abundantly clear these two didn't belong together, and the relationship had a nice arc to it.

The disappearance of Bobby D was sad to me, however: they had overused the character, gotten him too involved in/aware of what Mary and Marshall did. As much as I liked Todd Williams, it was good to see the series writers challenge themselves with different storylines. (This is one of those things where you have to wonder why there is only homicide detective in the entire city of Albuquerque.) Shalom Bobby D.

Seeing the character evolution of Jinx and Brandi was something I liked, though it led to less screen time in this season for both characters. Again, after two seasons, it's nice to see some growth. I think they will have their future failures - Brandi gets a nice arc in season three in regard to another new sibling.

The only person I really miss out of all of the above is Eleanor, both for her verbal sparring and for her relationship with Stan. I am disappointed that storyline didn't get a proper conclusion.

But what's in place of all of the above: the same consistently great writing, a challenging and entertainingly dysfunctional relationship between Mary and Marshall. Season highlights include "When Mary Met Marshall," "Son of Mann," "A Priest Walks into a Bar," and the appearance of Steven Weber as a lecherous US DA. As usual, Marshall gives Mary sage advice that leads her to do the exact opposite of what he hopes for her. Mary McCormack and Fred Weller are absolutely outstanding in their roles.

The only thing that could really ruin this show is if Mary and Marshall started a romantic relationship. That Mary isn't in love with Marshall (or, I would allow, capable of acknowledging her love for him) is the best part of their dynamic and one I hope continues for the foreseeable future.

Season 3 is different, but in a challenging way. These aren't just craven changes in search of a broader audience. In Plain Sight is not just some cop procedural, it is genuinely good television.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on April 23, 2011
For the true fan, this season was satisfying.Personally, I would have preferred more to watch.Looking back at the previous seasons, I've realized the previous seasons were comparable,episodewise.13(1/4 year)episodes is pushing it for the uninitiated.I,ll keep watching.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on May 2, 2011
I've watched "In Plain Sight" since the beginning of Season Two, so I went back and bought Season One. After a recent surgery I spent a lot of my recovery time watching Seasons One and Two in order. I think that people who REALLY liked Seasons One and Two because they liked the family stuff, probably will not like Season Three. Personally, I could not WAIT to see Jinx and Brandi leave! I understand that the family backstory is necessary to fully understand Mary, but I couldn't understand why Mary didn't just kick both of them out of her house back in Season One. I think having the shows focus more on the actual WITNESSES in WitSec makes a lot of sense, and, frankly, should be the focus of the show. If you want to watch Lesley Ann Warren in a soap opera, write to the networks about giving her her own show.

I didn't like the Steven Weber character in Season Three, but (SPOILER ALERT) it appears that MOST fans didn't either, since he's gone in the Season Four opener.

So if you like police procedurals, you'll really like this show. If you like soap operas, buy Seasons One and Two.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on May 9, 2011
The third year is only an improvement of character and script developement from the first nd second year. Well written; well paced and consistent in plot and character. Performances are spot on. The best female role writen in years. Worth the money. Every story is enough different to be believable within the confines of rhe US Marshall's jurisdiction but flexible enough to keep the viewer guessing. The thread of her own demons and the opportunity for her self destruction aways shimmer in the background making te plots seem that much more plausible and humanly realistic.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
26 of 37 people found the following review helpful
on December 3, 2010
Why do people who produce tv shows do this time and time again? They take a near-perfect show, a fan favorite, and just HAVE to overhaul it to give it a fresh look. Why? In Plain Sight was wonderful the way it was for the first 2 seasons. There were so many cast deletions and additions in season 3 it hardly looked like the same program. A word of advice to the show's producers. If it ain't broke, don't fix it!! Bring back Eleanor, Raph, Jinx, Brandi, and Peter. Stop making Marshall into Mary's lapdog. Give us Stan the way he was. Get the show back on track. And no offense, but get rid of Allison Janney. It was like she was added to the show because she had a couple of free weeks between other acting gigs. Her character certainly didn't add anything to the season. Neither did the actress who played the accountant. The poor woman wasn't given much of a part to work with.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on April 30, 2011
Been watching in plain sight since season 1 and i love it.
when will Mary & Marshall get together?
i thought that they could of played her almost dying up a little!
But i still love dit and would recommend it to everyone.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this also viewed
In Plain Sight: Season 1
In Plain Sight: Season 1 by Mary McCormack (DVD - 2009)

In Plain Sight: Season 2
In Plain Sight: Season 2 by Mary McCormack (DVD - 2010)

In Plain Sight: Season 5
In Plain Sight: Season 5 by Mary McCormack (DVD - 2012)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.