ACDelco Radiators & Heating Components 100 Sci-Fi & Fantasy Shop Men's Watches Cloud Drive Photos nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Super Humanoids belkin All-New Fire TV Stick with Voice Remote Beauty Videos Introducing Handmade Create an Amazon Wedding Registry Amazon Gift Card Offer wdftv wdftv wdftv  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 Kindle Voyage AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now STEM Toys & Games
Your Amazon Music account is currently associated with a different marketplace. To enjoy Prime Music, go to Your Music Library and transfer your account to (US).
Other Sellers on Amazon
Lowest price: Used - Good
+ $3.99 shipping
Sold by: Open Books
Seller Rating: 4.9 out of 5 stars (17088)
Add to Cart
Lowest price: New
+ Free Shipping
Buy New
+ $3.99 shipping
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

In San Marco

7 customer reviews

See all 4 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Audio CD, April 16, 1996
"Please retry"
$34.45 $5.99
Audio, Cassette, April 16, 1996
"Please retry"

Listen to Samples and Buy MP3s

Songs from this album are available to purchase as MP3s. Click on "Buy MP3" or view the MP3 Album.

Song TitleArtist Time Price
  1. Deus, in nomine tuo (Voice)Gregg Smith Singers 4:11$0.99  Buy MP3 
  2. Beata es, virgo Maria (Voice)Gregg Smith Singers 5:13$0.99  Buy MP3 
  3. Jubilemus singuli (Voice)Gregg Smith Singers 4:01$0.99  Buy MP3 
  4. Deus, Deus meus, ad te de luce vigilo (Voice)Gregg Smith Singers 5:58$0.99  Buy MP3 
  5. O quam suavis est (Voice)Gregg Smith Singers 3:39$0.99  Buy MP3 
  6. Three Mass Movements: Kyrie - Sanctus - Benedictus: KyrieGregg Smith Singers 6:23$0.99  Buy MP3 
  7. SanctusGregg Smith Singers 1:52$0.99  Buy MP3 
  8. Three Mass Movements: Kyrie - Sanctus - Benedictus: BenedictusGregg Smith Singers 2:12$0.99  Buy MP3 
  9. Cantate Domino (Voice)Gregg Smith Singers 3:41$0.99  Buy MP3 
10. Domine, exaudi orationem meam (Voice)Gregg Smith Singers 4:02$0.99  Buy MP3 
11. Hodie completi sunt (Voice)Gregg Smith Singers 4:40$0.99  Buy MP3 
12. Magnificat (Voice)E. Power Biggs;Gregg Smith Singers 6:02$0.99  Buy MP3 
13. Surrexit Christus (Voice)E. Power Biggs;Gregg Smith Singers 4:39$0.99  Buy MP3 
14. Nunc dimittis (Voice)E. Power Biggs;Gregg Smith Singers 3:34$0.99  Buy MP3 
15. Jubilate Deo à 10 (Voice)E. Power Biggs;Gregg Smith Singers 6:20$0.99  Buy MP3 
16. Intonatio - Jubilate Deo à 8 (Voice)E. Power Biggs;Gregg Smith Singers 5:36$0.99  Buy MP3 

Product Details

  • Audio CD (April 16, 1996)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Sony
  • ASIN: B0000029QR
  • Average Customer Review: 4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (7 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #309,491 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Amazon's Gregg Smith Singers Store

Visit Amazon's Gregg Smith Singers Store
for all the music, discussions, and more.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful By Arthur R. Krieck on October 11, 1998
Format: Audio CD
These analog recordings were made in San Marco in Venice in the spring of 1967, and were legendary in their time. They introduced a large public to the great Renaissance master, in stunning sound. The digital remastering makes them even more spectacular sounding than their original LP release, revealing the rich acoustic in which they were recorded, which was the space for which this music was originally composed.
Alas, the performances on this disc, legendary as they are, do not come up to the level of the recorded sound. The singing throughout is heavy and vibrato laden, textures are unclear and tempos are slow. We have learned much about performance of this music since 1967 and these performances now show their age. However this disc is valuable as a document, to be able to hear this music performed in the space for which it was written.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Presbyteros on January 11, 2007
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
These are some of the antiphonal pieces that Giovanni Gabrieli wrote for the two balconies of San Marco in Venice. The recording problems there must have been many, and in reality, were not quite solved. The antiphonal effects are there, but there is a lot of muddy sound, with the whole thing sounding as if through a veil. The performance is "old" style, but I could accept that from 1967. What bothers me is shaky ensemble, with performers unable to overcome the space. They never seem to have understood "watch, don't listen", which is crucial in strange spaces like San Marco. Maybe they couldn't get enough recording time in the space, but there is some terribly ragged ensemble. AND screaming tenors, who aren't quite tuned into the style (although I don't know who was, in those days). BUT, these are good examples of attainable performances of these pieces, and unless you are experienced in early music, and are performing these pieces (with large college forces, maybe), this is probably what your performaces will sound like. Cleaner, I hope.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Kelley Dupuis on January 9, 2007
Format: Audio CD
I got a pleasant surprise when I put this CD on my music system. I recognized it immediately as the CD re-release of a marvelous album that I had thought was long out of print, "The Glory of Gabrieli, Vol. III." In the late 1960s and early '70s, organist E. Power Biggs joined forces with Gregg Smith, the Texas Boy's Choir and a host of others to produce a series of albums spotlighting the music of Giovanni Gabrieli. The albums were all recorded in the basilica of San Marco in Venice, taking advantage of its wonderful acoustics. The first two albums in the series featured a combination of organ, voices and orchestral forces. But in this third volume, Biggs and the orchestra removed themselves to the wings, so to speak, and an a cappella album was released featuring only the voices of the Gregg Smith singers and the Texas Boy's Choir, unaccompanied.

I had an old-fashioned cassette tape pirate copy of this album for many years, but as cassettes would, it ultimately wore out. I then found that, despite my searches, the album was no longer available. I finally caught up with it one day, in a used-record cardboard box at the public library's used book store. I was glad to have it back, but of course it was an old LP, rather beat up and scratched. Now I'm glad to have it once gain, pristine and unscratched on a digitally-remastered CD.

For 35 years I've been collecting music, and this has always been one of my favorite albums. I'm very glad to welcome it back again.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful By Stephen M Anderson on May 16, 2002
Format: Audio CD
This is an extraordinary find for the connoisseur of baroque and early church music. Tracks 9 and 14 are some of the most beautiful music I have ever heard. As the jacket quotes from an English visitor of the time (1600), "Nevere in may life hast I heareth such celestial strains as these. Truly, these be the tones that the Almighty himself doth heare."
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in