Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 45 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Closest Trip You'll Ever Take to Mt. Sinai!
Do you enjoy the dangers and thrills of the unexpected? Would you dare to set foot inside a fenced and guarded mountain, forbidden to all, but perhaps one of the holiest spots on earth? All of this and more can be found in this hard to put down book. For thoses who have not heard of Robert Cornuke, he and a companion located a mountain in Saudi Arabia which they...
Published on June 24, 2000

versus
16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It appears the pope was wrong, the Muslims were right, folks
In the last century, we have witnessed multitudes of books that call into question the traditional history and propose a new radical theory. And I'm specifically speaking of biblical scholarship. The majority of the books I refer to debunk biblical representations of history, but this is one of the few that sets forth a new argument in favor of the Bible's literal,...
Published on February 7, 2001 by Joel Brown


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 45 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Closest Trip You'll Ever Take to Mt. Sinai!, June 24, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: In Search of the Mountain of God: The Discovery of the Real Mt. Sinai (Hardcover)
Do you enjoy the dangers and thrills of the unexpected? Would you dare to set foot inside a fenced and guarded mountain, forbidden to all, but perhaps one of the holiest spots on earth? All of this and more can be found in this hard to put down book. For thoses who have not heard of Robert Cornuke, he and a companion located a mountain in Saudi Arabia which they believe to be the true Mt. Sinai. There are many things to recommend about this book. Unlike other books written about this mountain named Jabal Al Lawz, this one contains 16 pages of excellent quality color photographs. (The photographs alone make the book worth the purchase) Several of the pictures of the sites on the mountain are smartly captioned with passages from the Bible which appear to allude to it. Essentially, the book contains two sections. The larger first section focuses on Cornuke's discoveries in Saudi Arabia and the price he and his partner pay for taking such a risks in a country which is unsympathetic towards intruders. The highlight of the book is Cornuke's descriptions of his remarkable observations on Jabal Al Lawz. The smaller second section focuses mainly on Egypt. Included in this section is an examination of the problems with the traditional Mt. Sinai, and the exploration of an underwater land bridge in the Gulf of Aqaba. Readers of Howard Blum's "The Gold of Exodus" will note many differences between the two books. Cornuke's book does not touch on the intrigue which is present in Blum's book. Also missing is any mention of the potential treasure which Blum's book claims may be buried around the mountain. The reader may even conclude after reading Cornuke's book that Blum perhaps took a great many literary shortcuts around the true story. Cornuke's book can be recommended to readers on two levels. The sense of adventure conveyed through Cornuke's daring personal narrative succeeds in keeping the reader totally absorbed in the book. But it is through its own bold claims, backed up by convincing photographic evidence, that the book challenges the reader's intellect and forces one to ponder its consequences.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars REVIEWING SOME REVIEWERS, September 26, 2005
By 
STEPHEN T. McCARTHY (a Mensa-donkey in Phoenix, Airheadzona.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: In Search of the Mountain of God: The Discovery of the Real Mt. Sinai (Hardcover)
[Originally posted on 2004, May 6.]

I do quite a bit of reading with fairly critical eyes, and yet I don't hesitate to give IN SEARCH OF THE MOUNTAIN OF GOD five stars. It is an exciting adventure story about a very significant subject. The evidence that Mr. Cornuke provides in support of his belief that Jabal al Lawz in Saudi Arabia is the REAL Mount Sinai is absolutely overwhelming. It is an excellent book that may very well challenge some of your previously held beliefs while it authenticates the historicity of the Bible's Old Testament.

What I primarily wish to do here is to correct some remarks in three of the other online reviews which I suspect might confuse others:

A READER FROM USA states that Jabal al Lawz cannot be the real Mount Sinai because Colin Humphreys evidently claims in his book, 'The Miracles Of Exodus', that Mount Sinai had to have been a volcano (due to its burning, smoking peak, and its trembling.) Yes, that would be true, but only if one feels compelled to attribute natural phenomena to all of the miracles described in The Bible. If a person accepts that God is quite capable of transcending His own creation, then finding a "rational" explanation for every miracle is not necessary, and probably fruitless. Because the circumstances on Mount Sinai when Moses met there with God describes what we commonly associate with volcanic activity, it does not at all follow that Mount Sinai MUST have been a volcano. God may heal a person of cancer, but that DOES NOT mean that God MUST be a surgeon.

WILLIAM E. THOMPSON seems to be reviewing two of Cornuke's books simultaneously and that is bound to cause confusion for those unfamiliar with the other book. The statement that the explorers should have (admittedly) returned to the site for further investigation is in regards to Cornuke's, 'In Search Of The Lost Mountains Of Noah', in which he relates his failure to locate Noah's Ark. Although Chapter Twenty-Six ('The Blood Of The Lamb') of that book is quite moving - in which the sacrifice of a lamb is compared with the sacrificial act of Jesus - I agree that the book ultimately should have been shelved until the author had legitimate evidence to offer. But that is no reason to avoid this superior book on the discovery of Mount Sinai.

In his review, ABUJIFAN far too easily dismisses the many indicators that point to Jabal al Lawz as the REAL Mount Sinai. He fails to address many of the historic landmarks that (coincidentally?!) happen to be in the same general location as the burnt Mountain, and also the coral reef that (conveniently) connects the lower tip of the Sinai Peninsula (across The Red Sea) with Saudi Arabia and the immediate area where all of these landmarks are found! He didn't mention the existence of the water-worn Split Rock (referenced in Exodus 17:5-6 and Isaiah 48:21 of The Bible) - an astonishing find! And he dismisses the photograph of the (presumed) Golden Calf Altar as a pile of rocks that "look like many naturally-occurring formations all over Western Arabia." Well, I've lived in the Southwestern U.S. all of my life, and unless rocks form quite differently in Arabia than they do here, that formation is hardly naturally-occurring, and I find it incredible that a person with a degree in archaeology would make such a claim. And therein, I suspect, is the rub. Is this a case of "professional jealousy"? Would it bother a pedigreed archaeologist if a testosterone-laden explorer armed with just his wits and his Bible made one of the greatest discoveries in the archaeologist's own backyard? Well, I don't know the answer to that, but I DO KNOW that 'IN SEARCH OF THE MOUNTAIN OF GOD: THE DISCOVERY OF THE REAL MOUNT SINAI' is a real page-turner and a Five Star book, doggone it! That's all I have to say; I'm gonna go climb back under my rock now and wait to see who finds me first, an archaeologist or an adventurer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Investigative Work!, August 25, 2000
By 
Prof. Ken Durham (Colorado Springs, CO) - See all my reviews
This review is from: In Search of the Mountain of God: The Discovery of the Real Mt. Sinai (Hardcover)
As a former professional journalist and current university professor in Old Testament studies, I am impressed with Bob Cornuke's willingness to retrace the biblical account farther back than the consensus of liberal scholarship, and to seek hard, physical evidence based on eyewitness accounts and extrabiblical testimony. Having conducted extensive research on the actual "crisis point" at the "Sea of Reeds," I believe Cornuke is dead-on in locating that point at the Straits of Tiran at the entrance to the Gulf of Aqaba, where all the physical landmarks come together in the way the Exodus account describes. He is equally correct in contending that Mt. Sinai must have, by definition, been located outside the jurisdiction of Egypt in that day. His boldness in taking his life in his hands to see the Bible's geography attested firsthand is not only commendable -- it is potentially historic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Exciting read, low scholarship, high on Bible integrity, January 1, 2005
By 
Amazon Customer (Lake Forest, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: In Search of the Mountain of God: The Discovery of the Real Mt. Sinai (Hardcover)
This is an exciting tale told from the perspective of "hands on" explorers who read the Bible as accurate in matters of history. Written as an easy read, the book is very interesting but weak from a scholarship perspective. Still, the excitement captured by the authors makes this a good book to read, particularly if you are interested in lands of the Bible.

Mr. Cornuke is a dedicated Christian believer, as evidenced from his writings and the way he uses Scripture to guide his searches. He has a background in forensics, which makes for an interesting view from which to handle archaeological evidence. His conclusions are in disagreement with the traditional route of the Exodus, which places the Israelites wandering around in the Sinai Peninsula. The problem with the traditional assertion is the lack of evidence and common sense. I give Mr. Cornuke a lot of credit for breaking with the tradition, especially since the tradition is not based upon Biblical information.

Mr. Cornuke places the crossing of the Red Sea on the southern tip of the Sinai Peninsula (straits of Tiran), offering as evidence Bible verses and an underwater land bridge. He attempts to excavate drowned chariots, but claimed that water was too deep. As for Mt. Sinai, Mr. Cornuke places it in Saudi Arabia. He offers some photographic evidence, for example, pictures of an altar with c calf inscribed on it. Of course such evidence by itself is not conclusive. But his assertions fit the known geography of the land a lot better than the Sinai Peninsula. I'm convinced that Mt. Sinai is not in the Sinai Peninsula, and is located likely in Saudi Arabia, although I disagree with the mountain Mr. Cornuke chose.

The book is written from the perspective of an explorer and is a fast, exciting read. Although the level of scholarship in this book is a little weak, the book makes up for this somewhat because of the "take you there with me" mentality of the authors. You really feel as if you are along with them, making the discoveries as you go through the ancient lands. If you would like a more detailed work that comes to similar conclusions (ie Sinai is located in Arabia), I would recommend the book "The Miracles of Exodus" by Colin Humphreys. This book offers a lot more scholarship, and retains the "take you there with me" mentality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating!, October 12, 2003
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: In Search of the Mountain of God: The Discovery of the Real Mt. Sinai (Hardcover)
This book is not only interesting from a factual point of view, but the author also does an excellent job recounting his adventures in an entertaining manner. (I disagree with the reviewers on the bottom that said this book was tedious reading.) The pictures in the middle are fascinating as well as the text which is very convincing. He goes into detail about what he has found and brings the Scriptures to life. I am looking forward to re-reading Exodus as now it seems more real. The discoveries the author made are compelling evidence that this may well be the real Mt. Sinai
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In Search of the Mountain of God, August 18, 2000
By 
Barbara Honts (Laguna Niguel, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: In Search of the Mountain of God: The Discovery of the Real Mt. Sinai (Hardcover)
I recently finished reading The Mountain of God. Without a doubt, it has to be one of the most fascinating books I have ever read. I am currently studying the book of Genesis. The Scriptures have come alive in a new and exciting dimension since reading about your discoveries. The way every detail lines up so precisely with the Bible is incredible, and has convinced me that Bob and Larry found the true route of the Exodus from Egypt to Sinai.The way you wove the events together held me spellbound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It appears the pope was wrong, the Muslims were right, folks, February 7, 2001
By 
Joel Brown (Pittsburgh, PA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: In Search of the Mountain of God: The Discovery of the Real Mt. Sinai (Hardcover)
In the last century, we have witnessed multitudes of books that call into question the traditional history and propose a new radical theory. And I'm specifically speaking of biblical scholarship. The majority of the books I refer to debunk biblical representations of history, but this is one of the few that sets forth a new argument in favor of the Bible's literal, historical, and complete truth. The author is not a professional archaeologist, theologian or scholar, but just a fundamentalist (ex-policeman) with his Bible. (Reminding us that the majority of big historical finds are uncovered by amateurs for a little boost in his credibility) So what has he found? The real Mount Sinai.... Jabal Al Lawz. (Arabia) The common placing of Sinai is in Egypt. Why? He unveils that the only reason is that of tradition, a fourth-century fortune teller gave the Egypt-placing of tradition. Here people gather to the supposed sacred site, among whom is included Pope John Paul II. However, what is the scriptural location?? 'Galations 4:25 Now Hagar stands for Mount Sinai in Arabia.' Well there we go.. not Egypt. He was right! We have been wrong. I once saw a brief television clip on this expedition, where authorities deemed his work as unprofessional. The reasons behind this I do not recall. After examining the information presented in this book, I see its argument as very convincing for someone who believes in miracles of the ancient world, since Jabal Al Lawz fits every criteria for identification with Sinai, where as the traditional marking bears none of its features. ( altars, caves, rocks, fire, etc. ) The Bible alone depicts the site they have found. As opposed to admitting the vindication of the Torah's record, you would either have to think 1) that it was set up to resemble Mt. Sinai by a different group of ancients, or 2) coincidental. I tend to bet that this is why scholars don't like accepting the research done by Robert Cornuke. They already view Yahweh's supernatural liberation as myth, and this is the antithesis of that consesus. Accepting this book as true would account for the silence of archaeology in the Sinai Peninsula regarding the Exodus from Egypt, and give Exodus Apologetics an additional leg to stand on, or more like A leg to stand on. This is the holiest mountaintop in the world we're talkin' here, this book is definitely a interesting, and RELEVANT, topic. Sure, it could have been better, yet I do recommend it. The funniest aspect is that after the original discovery, they next discovered that the locals, our Islamic friends, regarded this as the Mountain of Moses all along!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mount Sinai has been hidden for Centuries--This Book Reveals It, August 5, 2006
This review is from: In Search of the Mountain of God: The Discovery of the Real Mt. Sinai (Hardcover)
Ever yearn for some armchair adventure? Bob Cornuke is a former SWAT investigator and now turned explorer and adventurer. In this highly readable book, IN SEARCH OF THE MOUNTAIN OF GOD (Broadman & Holman Publishers) you can go along with Bob and Larry Williams as they search for the real location of Mt. Sinai, where Moses received the Ten Commandments.

For centuries, many have believed Mt. Sinai was in Egypt and in fact a Monastery is built on this site. Yet the archeology and some other characteristics didn't fall into place. Bob Cornuke used the pages of his Bible as the guide to find the real Mt. Sinai, the altar where the Israelites offered the Golden Calf and the twelve springs of Elim.

The pages of Scripture spring to life as the reader catches the growing excitement and inspiration from every discovery. Also the reader will experience when Bob confronts a Holy God and the fact that he is standing on His mountain. "I recalled the stern admonition: 'Whoever touches the mountain shall surely be put to death.' (Exodus 19:12). The night before I had glibly dismissed the text--but now my heart was pounding. I felt sick. I believed at any moment a bolt from heaven would strike me down. Without thinking, I turned to Larry and barked an order, "Let's go--NOW! We have to get off this mountain."

Readers will love the armchair look at Biblical archeology from this storytelling adventurer. The photos and the information will capture your imagination and set you thinking for hours on end about the truth behind the pages of the Bible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indiana Jones Meets Bible Archeology Review, January 17, 2001
By 
Sig Swanstrom (Seattle, WA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: In Search of the Mountain of God: The Discovery of the Real Mt. Sinai (Hardcover)
Bob Cornuke's story is both entertaining and convincing. This quick-read is in two distinct parts. First, the riveting true-life story that carries the reader along on a vicarious adventure ride, chronicling Bob Cornuke and Larry Williams' exploits . However, it's the last section that provides the "guts" of Cornuke's persuasive argument. Facts and photos seem to support that these two intrepid adventurers have actually found the real Mount Sinai of the Bible. Clearly, it's an injunction for further research that the academic world cannot ignore.
Refreshing in their approach, Cornuke and his friend Larry Williams used the Bible as their guidebook and discovered that Mount Sinai is exactly where, and as, the Bible describes it. Too often we are hampered by baseless traditions, such as the Mountain of God being located in the Sinai Peninsula. All too often we see pseudo-scholars attempt to discredit the Bible by using baseless facts such as this. Unfortunately, most true experts have been armchair-bound due to the recalcitrant attitude of the Saudi government. For decades, Western archeologists, Bible scholars and nearly everyone else have consistently been refused entry into Saudi Arabia.
Though I can't condone the illegal scheme used to sneak into Saudi Arabia, nor the surreptitious methods they used on-site, the results of their clandestine mission are nevertheless staggering.
Actually written by one of the participants, I see that an effort has been made to tactfully correct some of the factual errors brought forth previously in various national and international media accounts. "The Gold of Exodus," written by New York Times correspondent Howard Blum about this same adventure, misses the spiritual elements and many of the facts described in this volume. Yet, the "Gold of Exodus" remains an interesting companion piece -- especially to those interested in the friction between Israel and the Arab world.
The very-human story of Cornuke's spiritual struggle, along with ample Bible references, facts and photos, make Cornuke's effort a valuable work. I heartily recommend "In Search of the Mountain of God: The Discovery of the Real Mt. Sinai" to anyone that enjoys an exciting real-life adventure story, or to anyone who is serious about personally investigating the accuracy of the Bible and this archeological find-of-the-century.
Sig Swanstrom Director, The Society of Fellows, Seattle Pacific University
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Real Adventure, June 29, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: In Search of the Mountain of God: The Discovery of the Real Mt. Sinai (Hardcover)
Well-written and researched, avoiding heavy-handed proselytizing. Halbrook has done a good job of conveying Cornuke's character and motivation. It will be interesting to follow more of this adventurer's quests
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

In Search of the Mountain of God: The Discovery of the Real Mt. Sinai
Used & New from: $10.80
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.