Customer Reviews


107 Reviews
5 star:
 (59)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (24)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 51 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mostly compelling reading..."day" could be better discussed
First let me say that Darwin died even before the discovery of electrons. People who haven't asked serious questions about Darwinian evolution since 5th grade science class should not even be allowed to write reviews. (The same goes for people who haven't asked questions about Genesis since Sunday school.) Darwin never had the benefit of basic knowlege we take for...
Published on September 23, 2005 by E. E.

versus
234 of 293 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A less-than-inspiring format for a compelling topic
"In Six Days", for those wishing to understand "young earth" creation theories, provides thought-provoking questions and answers. As with any book that looks at a highly charged issue, it is important to come to it with an open mind. That many reviewers here on both sides of the issue cannot keep from vehemently pointing fingers at each other says nothing about the actual...
Published on January 6, 2003 by Daniel L Edelen


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

234 of 293 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A less-than-inspiring format for a compelling topic, January 6, 2003
This review is from: In Six Days: Why Fifty Scientists Choose to Believe in Creation (Paperback)
"In Six Days", for those wishing to understand "young earth" creation theories, provides thought-provoking questions and answers. As with any book that looks at a highly charged issue, it is important to come to it with an open mind. That many reviewers here on both sides of the issue cannot keep from vehemently pointing fingers at each other says nothing about the actual content of "In Six Days", unfortunately, so I hope this review can find some middle ground. Rather than making this review simply another in a line of rabid apologetics for one side or the other, I hope to relate whether the book succeeds in accomplishing what it intends.
To create this book, many Christian scientists (of various disciplines) from around the world were asked "Why do you believe in a literal six-day biblical creation as the origin of life on earth?" The fifty best responses ultimately were included.
Sadly, this format makes "In Six Days" less than useful - on any level. The answers provided resemble testimonies rather than useful scientific analyses. Respondents tended to repeat each other, answer too generally, or (conversely) too technically on a single point. Further compounding the problems of the book, the great majority of the scientists refer to points outside their own discipline. If I were looking for serious answers to important questions about a six-day creation, would I want to read a mechanical engineer's musings on organic chemistry? Probably not. This book would be infinitely more helpful if the question had been posed as "What are five discoveries within your field of expertise that point specifically to a six-day creation?" But as phrased here, the original question automatically leads to unfocused answers.
In truth, only about twenty of the respondents provide compelling arguments. Of those twenty, half spoke about ideas outside their disciplines. That doesn't leave the reader with much unimpeachable "ammunition" to counter evolutionists.
This is not to say that nothing here satisfies. Twenty percent of the respondents had compelling information that either casts doubt on treasured pro-evolution precepts or supports a God-inspired young earth. Unfortunately, for those that have some passing knowledge of the Creation vs. Evolution hysteria, few of those ten scientists had anything new to contribute to the body of work out there already in the pro-creation community. For this reason, it must be assumed that this book is intended for people who have never explored the claims of creationists. Given some of the issues already mentioned, the result is less than stellar.
And this is a shame since there are many excellent books that make strong arguments for the creation viewpoint. Several of the scientists quoted in "In Six Days" refer to these books. My question is then: "Why not skip 'In Six Days' and just read those more scholarly and better-constructed books?" One book, "Darwin's Black Box", was mentioned repeatedly - it's probably a good bet.
If you have some knowledge of the debate, pass on this book. If you know someone who is asking questions and doesn't have a tremendously technical bent, "In Six Days" might work for them in spots. Otherwise, there are increasingly more pro-creation, young earth, and intelligent design books out there that offer the reader a better use of their time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 51 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mostly compelling reading..."day" could be better discussed, September 23, 2005
First let me say that Darwin died even before the discovery of electrons. People who haven't asked serious questions about Darwinian evolution since 5th grade science class should not even be allowed to write reviews. (The same goes for people who haven't asked questions about Genesis since Sunday school.) Darwin never had the benefit of basic knowlege we take for granted, such as DNA, which was discovered long after his death. Imagine if you walked through an entire museum filled with greatly varying sculptures, paintings, and photos. Then you discover that under a microscope, all the brushstrokes and clay are done in such a way as to form tiny letters: "GACTCTAGTAA." Darwin never got to see that a code, the same programing, was the underlying thread running through the animal kingdom. So open your mind a crack and say, "Let's not rush off to church, but perhaps it's time to stop trying to patch up the Darwinian model?"

The book's biodiversity essay was quite good. We all know from documentaries what happens if you subtract even just one animal from an ecosystem:

-the plants that were fertilized by that animal would die,

- the predators that ate that animal would die, and that predator's other prey would thrive and decimate their food sources and die off,

-the plants that were eaten by the animal run wild and overgrow other plants so that those would also die,

-then the animals that ate THAT plant would then die, ad nauseum.

So that said, how did the first species survive after crawling out of the ooze? What did it eat, and where did its food in turn, get ITS food? The writer continued on to raise further issues in that essay.

The other blow was the mathematician writing about the probability of the human skeleton and body randomly acheiving its current configuration. Extremely compelling stuff; his computations were fascinating probabilities with one digit followed by half a page of zeroes.

The major problem I have with this book is that it too heavily discusses only a literal six-day creation, that is, six 24-hour days. But it's well known among scholars that the Hebrew word "day" can stand for a time period or era, like when we say, "Back in my day I had to walk to school 3 miles uphill in the snow." In some verses it can mean about 1 year, and in others 1000 years. This problem adversely affects the whole view of the book (right from the title,) thus the 4 stars instead of 5.

The positive thing is that though these essays might not be perfect, they do raise many rational questions. People can't blindly stick to evolution without questioning, just like you can't blindly assert creation without questioning; we are reminded that evolution still has many questions it cannot answer, and it is time for an alternative theory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


80 of 114 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Refreshing and Solid Book!, October 24, 2000
I found "In 6 Days.. to be an outstanding collection of essays by noteworty scientists from a variety of disciplines. Perspectives from Mechanical engineers, Biochemists, Mathematicians, Zoologists, Meteorologists, Medical Researchers, etc. are represented. Serveral of the scientists are well known for their excellent work in promoting Creation Science (like Dr. John Morris, Dr. Jonathan Sarfati, and Dr. Werner Gitt). And, this assortment of scientists quickly dispels the common myth that "good scientists" do not believe in a literal understanding of the book of Genesis and how we all got here. Though the essays do become technical at times (which is to be expected...and appreciated) they are always explained and not above the understanding of the layman. For example, Dr. Ed Holroyd, PhD in Atmospheric science, explains his fascination with the stars and their proof for, not only the supernatural creation of them, but very recently. He relates:
"...there is an interesting phenomenon among the stars that gives a time scale in agreement with that in the Bible. By watching other galaxies of similar composition to our own, we know aboiut how often there are supervovae explosions in our Milky Way because of the nebula remnants of the explosions. We can calculate that we should be able to detect those nebulae for millions of years before they diffuse and blend into the background. Our radio telescopes can see through the dust with ease and detect many more supernova remnant than we can see at optical wavelengths. How many supernova remnants are out htere in our own galaxy? There are only enough for about 7000, not millions of years of explosions."
And such statements are made over and over again in the book with clarity and punch. From the design complexity of DNA, to the make up of intelligent language, to the improbabilities of evolution vs. the 2nd law of thermodynamics etc. the authors share the sparks that started the bonfires of their faith. And this is a remarkable thing, for they show powerfully that a person can have a fundemental belief in Biblical inerrancy, therefore believing in a literal Genesis account, and still believe in objective science. And that, is about time!
Moreover, the testimony type format of the book is very effective. For, not only do they present the arguments in favor of Creation and revealing the bankruptcy of evolution, they also do so in a way that reveals their own journeys of faith. It puts interest and substance into the essays.
This book provides tremendous proof in favor of God creating the world in 6 literal 24 hour days and puts further nails in the coffin of Darwinism. This book should be read by every person wh o is a skeptic, who has a passion for Creation or science, or just anyone who wants a better perspective on how literal creationists see things. This is a refreshing, solid book (both scientifically and theologically) and I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pick up reader, February 6, 2010
By 
Paul (SCREVEN, GA, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: In Six Days (Kindle Edition)
This is a great reference book. One that you should have in your library if you do any kind of teaching or apologetics. The other good part is the chapters are stand alone, so once you knock out a chapter you don't loose flow if it is a few days before you pick it up again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A well written book on the 6 day Creation View, August 30, 2013
By 
R. W. Brightstar "warocuya2" (South Hamilton, MA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: In Six Days: Why Fifty Scientists Choose to Believe in Creation (Paperback)
After reading all the negative reviews I thought to myself - wow, this book is a complete sham (I had this book at home for years and never read it).

I'm sure it is poorly written and mostly devoid of any scientific information whatsoever.

I took the book off my shelf, blew the dust off the top and read it.

I was wrong.

It is a well written book by 50 scientists who believe in a literal 6 day creation.

The goal of the book is to state why these scientists, a few were aggressive evolutionists, changed their point of view or found creation to be a more reasonable explanation to our existence.

My opinion is that the negative reviews have more to do with damage control than an open mind inquiring on the facts but that's what I would do if I still believed in evolution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth Reading, October 31, 2013
By 
Kirk Hastings (Somers Point, NJ) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: In Six Days: Why Fifty Scientists Choose to Believe in Creation (Paperback)
Many of the reviews here focus on relatively minor points (such as the comments by the various scientists overlap to some extent, the book is a little hard to read in places, etc.). These are minor format problems. The point of the book is, there are at least 50 intelligent scientists (and there in fact are many more) with PhDs who find more than enough scientific evidence to believe in young earth creationism and reject the idea of long-ages Darwinian evolution. This fact in itself should make investigating what this book has to say by anyone with an open mind who really wants to know what the facts are a good idea. It wasn't written to entertain, like a video game -- it was written to educate and enlighten. And it does both to anyone who is willing to be educated and enlightened. For those who are not willing -- no amount of evidence will convince them to change their minds anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Many Great Minds, Same Perfect Conclusion, Doubters Must Read, February 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: In Six Days (Kindle Edition)
Fantastic book that shows how modern day top scientists and engineers are also believers in a young earth and the literal and perfect word, The Holy Bible, because of their journey and research proving to them beyond any doubt, that he earth could only be created in 6 days exactly as is stated in Genesis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, December 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: In Six Days (Kindle Edition)
I love this fact filled book. I do recommend it, if it's fact filled why not buy it? I hope that skeptics will not continue to be closed minded and actually read this book with an open mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great reading., January 10, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: In Six Days (Kindle Edition)
50 articles written by 50 scientists, so one does not have to read right through. Can be selective. Will always have it on my bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good, January 19, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: In Six Days (Kindle Edition)
Brought up numerous great points. A little repetitive, I found the book enjoyable. "When fables fall" is another great read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

In Six Days: Why Fifty Scientists Choose to Believe in Creation
In Six Days: Why Fifty Scientists Choose to Believe in Creation by John F. Ashton (Paperback - January 1, 2001)
$16.99 $13.40
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.