Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Descriptive & entertaining
This is my son's favorite book. The age range for this book says 4 & up, but my 2 year old just loves it. The illustrations are magnificent. My son & his day care class love to get involved and make the sounds that are in the tall, tall grass. Highly recommend!
Published on November 26, 1999 by Janice

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars interesting perspective
The Good

Big pictures, splashy colors. The best part is the microscopic perspective. You feel like you are right with the boy in the tall, tall grass zoomed in on each creature that crawls or skitters by.

The Bad

The rhyming is sometimes awkward and there isn't much of a storyline.
Published on April 21, 2006 by TA Mom


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Descriptive & entertaining, November 26, 1999
By 
Janice (Philadelphia, Pennsylvania) - See all my reviews
This review is from: In the Tall, Tall Grass (An Owlet Book) (Paperback)
This is my son's favorite book. The age range for this book says 4 & up, but my 2 year old just loves it. The illustrations are magnificent. My son & his day care class love to get involved and make the sounds that are in the tall, tall grass. Highly recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Simple Book for Very Young Children - a review of "In the Tall, Tall Grass", October 6, 2006
This is a very colorful book (see for yourself in the "search inside this book" feature) for the pre-school and under set. It begins with a drawing of a child watching a caterpillar in the tall grass. Then there are more caterpillars crunching and munching, hummingbirds darting and dipping, bees humming, a bird with wings flapping, ants lugging, snakes gliding, moles scratching and digging, beetles hurrying, frogs snapping, bunnies hopping, fireflies glowing, and bats swooping. The last lines are:

Stars bright,

moonlight...

good night,

tall, tall grass.

These last lines make it appropriate for a good-night book, but the language in general is good for children as it has a nice cadence, rhyme and rhythm.

Strum, drum,

bees hum

crack, snap

wings flap...

Four Stars. [B-]. Bright color from edge to edge. Okay read-aloud that uses more interesting, but simple, words for small fry. Suitable for a good night book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars simple rhymes and colorful illustrations, July 2, 2004
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: In the Tall, Tall Grass (An Owlet Book) (Paperback)
Bright, attractive illustrations complement simple rhymes in large print as readers examine, from a caterpillar's point of view, the creatures that live and act in the tall, tall grass -- hummingbirds, bees, birds, ants, snakes, moles, beetles, frogs, bunnies, fireflies and bats -- as the book takes us through day and into the night.
Simple, effective and appealing to children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One humble opinion, July 3, 2001
By 
abookbug "abookbug" (Dublin, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: In the Tall, Tall Grass (An Owlet Book) (Paperback)
To me, what makes this book so appealing is the variety of familiar and more unexpected creatures that are to be found "in the tall, tall grass," and what makes it remarkable is the perspective from daylight to dark. The text bites and Eric Carle style illustrations do not seem particularly original or unique to me beyond that (though others might disagree: its was an American Library Association Notable Book and a Boston Globe Horn Book Honor Book in 1992), but it its still an enjoyable, good quality read for budding naturalists and youngsters who are curious about the world around them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Good Bedtime Book, February 25, 2012
A Kid's Review
This review is from: In the Tall, Tall Grass (An Owlet Book) (Paperback)
In the Tall, Tall Grass Denise Fleming tells about the animals that live in the tall,tall grass. I highly recommend this book for a bedtime story. It has no scary parts. And it has rhymes. Read this book and see if it would be a good bedtime story for your kid...Victoria I.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars interesting perspective, April 21, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: In the Tall, Tall Grass (An Owlet Book) (Paperback)
The Good

Big pictures, splashy colors. The best part is the microscopic perspective. You feel like you are right with the boy in the tall, tall grass zoomed in on each creature that crawls or skitters by.

The Bad

The rhyming is sometimes awkward and there isn't much of a storyline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great bed time book for little tykes interested in live critters., June 22, 2014
This review is from: In the Tall, Tall Grass (An Owlet Book) (Paperback)
This over-sized book with giant print, interesting live critters, and "sound" words like munch and drum and snap is made more delightful with rhyme that works. After the first read through, even the youngest children will be chiming in to read along with you. The colorful collage artwork will capture their attention. By the time they get to the last good night, they will have experienced a fun science lesson presented on a level that they understood.
-Hope Irvin Marston, author of MY LITTLE BOOK OF WOOD DUCKS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Childrens Book, May 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: In the Tall, Tall Grass (An Owlet Book) (Paperback)
This book could be used to make different rhythms with the students. It is very useful for teaching the students.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book- wish I got it in hard cover, April 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: In the Tall, Tall Grass (An Owlet Book) (Paperback)
This is a great book for children. It was one of the first ones that my baby was drawn to. She loved the bright colors and sounds. I only dropped one star because it was not in hardcover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars books, March 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: In the Tall, Tall Grass (An Owlet Book) (Paperback)
Books, you can never have too many books. Especially in a school setting. School, classroom and home.....the more the better
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

In the Tall, Tall Grass (An Owlet Book)
In the Tall, Tall Grass (An Owlet Book) by Denise Fleming (Paperback - March 15, 1995)
$7.99 $7.19
In stock on October 5, 2014
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.