Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


54 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Way It Really Is
There was a great deal of unipolar depression littered along my family genetic tree. So that I got it as a young adult and needed this kind of long term treatment seemed inevitable. The way treatment is usually depicted in films and tv is that patient and therapist achieve a complete catharsis for the patient and the patient strides off towards what will now be a...
Published on December 14, 2010 by carol irvin

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Let down
Huge let down after the first two seasons. Only three patients, and of the three, only Sunil was interesting. I just couldn't find myself to care about the other two. Previously, all of the patients were interesting and fun to watch, here, I just couldn't wait until the new week would start. Also, this season showed Paul slipping, almost going crazy, it felt like it...
Published 19 days ago by sng23


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

54 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Way It Really Is, December 14, 2010
This review is from: In Treatment: Season 3 (DVD)
There was a great deal of unipolar depression littered along my family genetic tree. So that I got it as a young adult and needed this kind of long term treatment seemed inevitable. The way treatment is usually depicted in films and tv is that patient and therapist achieve a complete catharsis for the patient and the patient strides off towards what will now be a brilliant future which he or she will be able to handle without emotional turmoil. Sadly, this rosy treatment plan only exists in most screenwriters' imaginations.

The reality is that therapy is messy, as messy as life itself. It starts and stops like the rest of life starts and stops, not at any great dramatic points but at quite ordinary and often unresolved points. The patient teeters off to do life on his or her own for awhile and after some missteps will often come shakily back into therapy again with perhaps a different therapist. Although the therapist comes across as all knowing and wise in session, if you stumble across your therapist's personal life, you discover his or her personal life eclipses your own in sheer messiness.

This show captures the above like no other film or tv show ever has. It has done so for three seasons. It may have done it best in this season. Gabriel Byrne does a tour de force job as therapist Paul Weston and indeed very much reminds me of my own first therapist. This season we see him in therapy with a new woman therapist plus him as the therapist with three new patients. My personal favorite has always been to see Byrne's Paul Weston in therapy and this season is no exception to that. He is just a complete mess but in a wholly believable way.

His three patients are a gay adopted boy, a retired widower from Calcuttan forced to live with his son and his family in New York and a middle aged actress (Debra Winger), whose sister is dying of breast cancer, like their mother did. All three are compelling stories and the only sense you have at closing is that although certain issues have been resolved, manifold problems lay ahead for all of them at therapy's end. Is this how it goes for people in real life? Of course it is.

Visit my blog with link given on my profile page here or use this phonetically given URL (livingasseniors dot blogspot dot com). Friday's entry will always be weekend entertainment recs from my 5 star Amazon reviews in film, tv, books and music. These are very heavy on buried treasures and hidden gems. My blogspot is published on Monday, Wednesday & Friday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Show on Television - Accurate Portrayal of Therapeutic Process, December 17, 2010
This review is from: In Treatment: Season 3 (DVD)
The third season of In Treatment is as compelling and realistic as the previous two seasons. Paul is dealing with issues of health and family, and trying to come to terms with his previous work with Gina who has written a novel that has left Paul up-ended. He seeks out his own therapist, primarily because he has trouble sleeping but other issues come to the surface. He proves himself to be a difficult patient. Paul has three new patients this season. Sunil is a widow from Calcutta. His wife died six months ago and he has been brought to the United States where he is living with his son, daughter-in-law and grandchildren. The friction is so thick you can cut it with a knife. Frances is an actress and also the sister of a patient that Paul saw eighteen years ago. Frances's sister has breast cancer and Frances is struggling with the possibility that she, too, may carry the Br-CA gene. She has been separated from her husband for two years and feels alienated from her daughter. Jesse is a gay high school student with ADD who acts out sexually and drives Paul to distraction. Jesse was adopted and does not feel connected to his adopted parents. He has recently received a phone call from his birth mother and is vacillating about whether to call her or not.

This is the best show on television. The acting and writing are superb. As a retired therapist, I can vouch for the validity of the therapeutic process and sessions. Gabriel Byrne does it again. Don't miss this season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterful Performance, December 8, 2010
This review is from: In Treatment: Season 3 (DVD)
Therapists say that people come to therapy looking for a reason to blame their parents. Once they've found it they usually quit. The real work of therapy only starts when you discover that holding your parents responsible for your problems really doesn't solve as much as you thought it would. Good to have someone to blame.

'In Treatment's third year you will again find four half-hour episodes per week. The first three half-hours are Paul's ongoing sessions with his patients, and the final one brings us inside Paul's sessions with his therapist. His therapist for the first two years is gone, and a new one, Adele, is on the scene. And, she is a therapist that we all want. Intelligent and insightful, she brings Gabriel Byrne, Paul, to his senses. She will not allow him to wallow in his misery and points it out, weekly, with force.

the other three patients are a mixed group. Debra Winger as Frances, an actress who come to Paul when she begins to have trouble remembering her lines. Sunil, a new widower from India who has come to live with son and his family, deeply unhappy and seemingly in a depressed state. Jesse, an adopted gay teen who is promiscuous and torn between his lovers and his families. All of them fascinating in their own way, but it is Adele, played by Amy Ryan, who keeps our focus. Sharp, she begins to get inside Paul's head, and he begins to wonder if what he thought was true, indeed is.

Gabriel Byrne is a force to be reckoned with. His performance is award winning and so convincing that at times his wounds are palpable. Kudos to the staff and actors of this marvelous HBO show.

Highly Recommended. prisrob 12-08-10

Into the West [VHS]

Just Friends
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unparalled Quality Show, December 10, 2010
By 
ChaCha (New York, NY) - See all my reviews
This review is from: In Treatment: Season 3 (DVD)
There is an uncanny intimacy in this season that makes the "fly on the wall" experience of the previous two seasons pale in comparison. Three new patients: the first is Sunil, a retired math professor from India who recently lost his wife and is now having difficulty adjusting to life in Brooklyn living with his physician son, literary agent daughter-in-law and their children. The second is Jesse a petulant and disturbed 17 year old homosexual who is dealing with family issues within his adoptive family, being contacted by his birth parents and general teen-age angst. The last patient is Frances, a semi well known actress currently starring in a Broadway play who initially starts treatment because she can't remember her lines. Equally, if not more compelling than the other patients is Paul Weston himself as he continues his own therapy with a new therapist, Adele, brilliantly portrayed by Amy Ryan. The intensity that Gabriel Byrne continues to bring to his role is staggering. In Treatment is one of my favorite shows and it is with bitter disappointment that we don't yet know if there will be a 4th season. God, I hope so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In Treatment: Season 3, June 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: In Treatment: Season 3 (DVD)
I loved all three seasons and upset that they did not continue this on HBO. I found out about this from my therapist. Gabriel Byrne plays Paul Weston who does an incredible job as a therapist. All three series deals with different subjects and takes you into their therapy sessions. GREAT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning Acting, February 9, 2012
By 
William T. Faris "Tin Ear" (Coto de Caza, Ca United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: In Treatment: Season 3 (DVD)
Many reviewers have mentioned the therapeutic authenticity they find in In Treatment, but what really grabs me about season three in particular is the first-rate acting and outstanding writing. Gabriel Byrne has already established himself as a master in this series but I must say that the addition of the new therapist played by Amy Ryan sets both actors up for some absolutely electric moments. There are interactions between them that transfix the viewer as a result of the palpable spoken and UNspoken messages that course back and forth between them. In my opinion, this is the best season yet and I truly hope that the show will continue.

As for the other performances, Debra Winger, Dane DeHaan, and Irrfan Khan each turn in strong performances but outstanding among them is Mr. Khan (the Police Inspector from Slumdog Millionaire). Whereas DeHann's "Jessie" is a swirling tornado of conflicted angst and shock, Mr. Khan manages to milk the subtleties of face, hand, speech and body language for all they are worth. Like Paul, his therapist, we are drawn in and compelled to want to know this man, "Sunil", better because of the brooding sense that there is far more to him than meets the eye. Ms. Winger's "Frances" also has her moments as a struggling celebrity actress whose sun is slowly setting and who must finally step out of the limelight to face the choices she must make to deal with her sister's illness and daughter's estrangement. All good stuff, well written, well portrayed. Not perfect, of course, but highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT!, December 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: In Treatment: Season 3 (Amazon Instant Video)
One of my favorite shows of all time. Expensive by the episode, which are only about 23 minutes long each. Incredible writing and acting. Just great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT SERIES, December 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: In Treatment: Season 3 (DVD)
Great acting, great writing. First series with intelligent stories to tell. One of the best shows HBO has ever shown.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie., November 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: In Treatment: Season 3 (DVD)
Gabriel Byrne is fantastic in Intreatment. Every bit as good as the first two series. I hope they make more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Let down, September 10, 2014
This review is from: In Treatment: Season 3 (Amazon Instant Video)
Huge let down after the first two seasons. Only three patients, and of the three, only Sunil was interesting. I just couldn't find myself to care about the other two. Previously, all of the patients were interesting and fun to watch, here, I just couldn't wait until the new week would start. Also, this season showed Paul slipping, almost going crazy, it felt like it swayed a lot from the character of the previous two seasons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

In Treatment: Season 3
In Treatment: Season 3 by Gabriel Byrne
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.