Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars new people, new pictures, March 4, 2012
By 
lisaleo (Lisa Yount) (El Cerrito, California United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: In Wonderland: The Surrealist Adventures of Women Artists in Mexico and the United States (Hardcover)
Whether or not you can see the exhibit on which this book is based (I wish I could have), I highly recommend the book itself as a welcome addition to the very limited supply of books on women Surrealist artists as a group (I know of only two, Whitney Chadwick's Women Artists and the Surrealist Movement--start with this one--and Angels of Anarchy: Women Artists and Surrealism, edited by Patricia Allmer). The pictures in the book are large, plentiful, and lovely, most in full color, and the essays and brief biographical sketches are informative. Best of all, the book includes a number of interesting artists I'd never heard of, plus works by more familiar figures (Frida Kahlo, Remedios Varo, Leonora Carrington) that I hadn't seen. The essays and pictures bring out the unique inspiration that the landscapes and native cultures of the southwestern United States and Mexico provided to numerous women, both native and expatriate, and show how different artists developed similar themes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Timely, Controversial Exhibition Catalogue, January 14, 2012
By 
This review is from: In Wonderland: The Surrealist Adventures of Women Artists in Mexico and the United States (Hardcover)
IN WONDERLAND is due to open at the Los Angeles County Museum of Art this month and promises to be one of the fines exhibits presented by this now formidable institution. The subtitle is revealing: THE SURREALIST ADVENTURES OF WOMEN ARTISTS IN MEXICO AND THE UNITED STATES as this exhibition fills a significant gap in our studies of the Surrealist Art movement; women artists have all but been excluded in the ranks of the Surrealist School. Now, thanks to curator Ilene Susan Fort and to the contributing authors - Maria Buszek, Tere Arcq, Terri Geis and Dawn Ades - that window has been refreshingly opened.

The exhibition as so beautifully designed and presented in this richly colorful and informative book showcases the work of many well-known artists such as Frida Kahlo, Leonora Carrington, Lee Miller, Remedios Vara, Dorothea Tanning and Louise Bourgeois who form only part of the near fifty artists represented. As is widely known, the Surrealist Movement in art has heretofore been the domain of male artists - Jean Arp, Giorgio de Chirico, Salvador Dalí, Marcel Duchamp, Max Ernst, Alberto Giacometti, René Magritte, Joan Miró, Francis Picabia, Man Ray, Yves Tanguy - many of whom objectified women in their paintings, casting them as sexual or symbolic ideals. Conversely, the female artists of the movement delved primarily into their own subconscious and dreams. Included are reproductions and notations and historical data of 48 Mexican and U.S.-based women artists whose contributions to the surrealist movement span more than four decades and whose work was both influential and radical in its own right.

For those preparing to visit this traveling exhibition or who simply want to expand their knowledge of an important period in art, this book is highly recommended. Grady Harp, January 12
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Astonishingly vivid & evocative work, March 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: In Wonderland: The Surrealist Adventures of Women Artists in Mexico and the United States (Hardcover)
While the original Surrealists were largely male, sometimes oppressively so for all their brilliance, it's fascinating to see how the women artists have endured as creative forces in the long run. Leonora Carrington was still painting well into her late 90s, and Dorothea Tanning continued to write poetry & memoir up to her death just a month shy of her 102nd birthday. This exhibit catalogue of 48 women & their ongoing life's work is a revelation, with brief biographies of the artists & a generous sampling of their art, which is reproduced in either crystalline black-&-white (in the case of photography & drawings), or in sensuously rich color which seems to saturate the heavy white pages. And while there are some names even the novice will find familiar, such as Frido Kahlo, for the most part these are creators who will either be new to many readers, or else new as artists -- the poet Mina Loy immediately comes to mind. Even better, the most recent works are from the 21st Century, showing how the Surrealist influence has continued to thrive in the hands of younger artists. And while there's a distinctly female approach to much of this work, each artist's unique vision comes through clearly, encompassing feminism but not bounded by it. In the end, this is the pure expression of individual souls who see the world with visionary eyes -- sometimes ablaze with light, sometimes steeped in darkness, but always as something new & fresh & (that Surrealist ideal) Marvelous. Most highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Art Book, November 14, 2012
By 
Amazon Customer (Tallahassee, FL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: In Wonderland: The Surrealist Adventures of Women Artists in Mexico and the United States (Hardcover)
This is an excellent book on women artists during the Surrealist period. A very inspiring and meaty book I'll refer to again & again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book! Large reproductions of many works by women ..., December 27, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: In Wonderland: The Surrealist Adventures of Women Artists in Mexico and the United States (Hardcover)
Great book! Large reproductions of many works by women with whom I was not familiar, as well as some of the better known ones. Very exciting stuff! And some great reading too, but not too much text.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GORGEOUS, July 9, 2013
By 
Cristina Russell (Miami, Florida, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: In Wonderland: The Surrealist Adventures of Women Artists in Mexico and the United States (Hardcover)
An absolutely beautiful addition to any collection or coffee table. If you are interested in this subject matter, there is no better option. I am SO GLAD I bought the work of art!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Marvelous book!, February 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: In Wonderland: The Surrealist Adventures of Women Artists in Mexico and the United States (Hardcover)
This book is wonderful. It is full of information about female artists involved in surrealism and excellent reproductions of their artwork. I am very glad that I purchased it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it., January 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: In Wonderland: The Surrealist Adventures of Women Artists in Mexico and the United States (Hardcover)
The person I gave this book to as a gift loved it and I would recommend it to all art lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very nice presentation., December 30, 2013
By 
Al Luna (Los Angeles, CA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: In Wonderland: The Surrealist Adventures of Women Artists in Mexico and the United States (Hardcover)
My wife saw this work at the Getty years ago but she didn't get it. Tried numerous times and finally Amazon came through and got her a hard to find art book. Keep out of the hands of young children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

In Wonderland: The Surrealist Adventures of Women Artists in Mexico and the United States
$60.00 $40.24
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.