Customer Reviews


523 Reviews
5 star:
 (218)
4 star:
 (105)
3 star:
 (50)
2 star:
 (32)
1 star:
 (118)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Band speaks on COPY PROTECTION issue
This is from an interview with FF guitarist Chris Shifflet on July 23rd.

Interviewer: Your latest album is copy protected. But what is it that we're really protecting?

Chris: Your answer is as good as mine. I think this copy protection thing is the most anti-consumer thing. I don't get what it's protecting. It just keeps people from burning music to...
Published on August 8, 2005 by Art Core

versus
93 of 107 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't play this in your PC!
Sony's copy protection scheme installs harmful rootkit software on Windows machines. This software can crash your machine, and make it easier for viruses to infect you. By design, it is impossible to uninstall without advanced technical skills.

Sony recently released a patch to mitigate these concerns. However, the patch only addresses the issue of potential...
Published on November 4, 2005 by Someone with an opinion


‹ Previous | 1 253 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

93 of 107 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't play this in your PC!, November 4, 2005
This review is from: In Your Honor (Audio CD)
Sony's copy protection scheme installs harmful rootkit software on Windows machines. This software can crash your machine, and make it easier for viruses to infect you. By design, it is impossible to uninstall without advanced technical skills.

Sony recently released a patch to mitigate these concerns. However, the patch only addresses the issue of potential virus infection. Uninstalling the software is still nearly impossible, and if attempted incorrectly can render your CD drive unusable.

For more information, check out this site:

[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


72 of 83 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Malicious software warning!, June 11, 2006
By 
Gerald A. Huntley (Grass Lake, MI USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: In Your Honor (Audio CD)
Potential buyers who wish to play this "copy protected" CD on their computers are advised that their machine will be infected by malicious software if they attempt to do so. THIS SOFTWARE WILL BE INSTALLED, WITHOUT YOUR CONSENT, EVEN IF YOU CHOOSE NOT TO ACCEPT THE LISCENSE AGREEMENT!!. Additional deceptive practices are used to make detection and removal of this software difficult (e.g., by altering the datestamp of the installed file)

This practice should be unlawful and, indeed, in most countries it is. Unfortunately, the US government is more interested in protecting the rights of corporations than it is the rights of its citizens. The only recourse Americans have is to expose manufactures who use such deceptive practices and to refuse to purchase their products

In response to the commentator (June 29, 2006) who wrote that the software was "annoying, but very easy to surpass...If you don't mind doing a little research": Even if you have the time and expertise necessary to research the issue, PLEASE consider the broader implications of buying products like this. If corporations are allowed to succeed in such relatively benign experiments, there is nothing to prevent them from installing more sophisticated and ambitious software in the future ...software which would be more difficult to remove and which would pose a greater threat to your privacy. For example, the software installed by CD could easily be modified to serve as spyware or to sabotage programs the manufacturer doesn't want you to use. HELP STOP THIS THREAT IN THE BUD: PLEASE DO NOT BUY THESE "COPY PROTECTED" CDS AND BOYCOTT THE COMPANIES THAT MANUFACTURE THEM.

For help in repairing systems compromised by this CD, I suggest you begin by searching the Web using the keyword "SbcpHid.sys" (the name of a file installed by the CD in the Windows\System32\Drivers directory).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Who is Honoring Who, Foo? SPYWARE? You don't honor me!!!, November 15, 2005
This review is from: In Your Honor (Audio CD)
This is one of those Sony CD's that contains "XCP" spyware. XCP was written with the intent of concealing its presence and operation from the owner of the computer, and once installed, elements of the software run continuously -- even when no Sony-BMG music CD is in use. It provides no clear uninstallation option.

Additionally, without notifying users, the software appears to contact a remote machine under your control.

Sony has shocked and angered people over this issue. Software that deceives the owner of the computer it runs upon and opens that computer up to attacks by third parties may be expected to come from malicious cyber-attacks; it is certainly not expected nor acceptable to be distributed and sold to paying customers by a major music company.

Sony should temporarily halt manufacturing CDs with XCP and reexamine "all aspects" of their "content protection initiative."

If Sony truly intends to undo the harm that they have caused, they should immediately and publicly commit to the following measures:

1) Sony should recall all CDs that contain the XCP and SunnComm MediaMax technology. It must include removing all infected CDs from store shelves as well as halting all online sales of the affected merchandise.

A recent New York Times article said that well over 2 million infected CDs with the XCP technology are in the marketplace and have yet to be sold.

2) Sony should remove from all current and future marketing materials statements like that on [...] that say the cloaking software "is not malicious and does not compromise security."

3) Sony should widely publicize the potential security and other risks associated with the XCP and SunnComm MediaMax technology to allow the 2.1 million consumers who have already purchased the CDs to make informed decisions regarding their use of those CDs. The publicity campaign should include, at a minimum, issuing a public statement describing the risks and listing every Sony CD, DVD or other product that contains XCP or SunnComm MediaMax. The publicity campaign should be advertised in a manner reasonably calculated to reach all consumers who have purchased the products, in all markets where the CDs have been sold.

4) Sony should cooperate fully with any interested manufacturer of anti-virus, anti-spyware, or similar computer security tools to facilitate the identification and complete removal of XCP and SunnComm MediaMax from the computers of those infected. In particular, Sony should publicly waive any claims it may have for investigation or removal of these tools under the Digital Millennium Copyright Act (DMCA) and any similar laws.

5) Sony should offer to refund the purchase price of infected CDs or, at the consumer's election, provide a replacement CD that does not contain the XCP or SunnComm technology. For those consumers who choose to retain infected CDs, develop and make widely available a software update that will allow consumers to easily uninstall the technology without losing the ability to play the CD on their computers.

In addition, consumers should not be required to reveal any personally identifying information to Sony in order to access the update, as Sony is currently requiring.

6) Sony should compensate consumers for any damage to their computers caused by the infected products, including the time, effort, and expenditure required to remedy the damage or verify that their computer systems or networks were or were not altered or damaged by XCP or SunnComm MediaMax products.

I'm not buying any more Sony CD's until they do the above!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


95 of 113 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Limited Edition also copy protected, June 27, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: In Your Honor (Audio CD)
While only the regular edition is listed as copy protected by Amazon's information, the Limited Edition is copy protected as well. There is even a small note stating that the audio portion of this Dualdisc does not conform to CD standards; so this isn't a CD. Thats terrible. Here's a note to all bands releasing copy protected "CD"s . I am a customer and a fan, not a thief - Treat me as a theif and i will not be a customer or a fan anymore. I don't buy copy protected discs, so this one goes back. Pity. Disabling Auto-Insert works, but I shouldn't have to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Band speaks on COPY PROTECTION issue, August 8, 2005
This review is from: In Your Honor (Audio CD)
This is from an interview with FF guitarist Chris Shifflet on July 23rd.

Interviewer: Your latest album is copy protected. But what is it that we're really protecting?

Chris: Your answer is as good as mine. I think this copy protection thing is the most anti-consumer thing. I don't get what it's protecting. It just keeps people from burning music to their computer-but it's stupid 'cause most people listen to music on their computer. If I were you, I would boycott this technology. And these companies just put it there, without even telling us (the band). We're getting a lot of heat for it-but we had nothing to do with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 61 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This should be illegal, November 1, 2005
This review is from: In Your Honor (Audio CD)
Firstly, whether you are a Foo Fan who's been buying their albums for the last ten years (Like I am), or think the band cooked this nightmare of a disc up on their own (Instead of being coerced by their label) some facts are indisputable:

1. Many people think this was a good album which was poorly fabricated. Sound quality issues are rife, DRM issues aside.

2. There are places where installing software on the users PC WITHOUT informing the owner or allowing to cancell installation is illegal! Where it is NOT illegal, it damn well should be.

3. Crashed systems have been confirmed with the DRM in use by this disc.

4. Failure to play in car\portable CD players have been confirmed with this disc.

5. Legal protections of "Fair Use" of music\movies ALLOW people to backup their originals (I'd happily give this up if they are all required to replace scratched\damaged\destroyed [e.g. house fire] media at no cost to the consumer, but for some reason they don't want to) and make duplicates to their hearts content to play anywhere\anyhow they want so long as they have the original. THIS WOULD INCLUDE EXTRACTING TO MP3 FOR USE ON AN IPOD!!!

6. iPod Users CANNOT play this disc on their iPods! Of course the label is only TOO HAPPY to sell you a SECOND copy that you CAN play on your iPod . . . Anyone think that's fair?

7. SCORES of (Former) fans are stuck with an unreturnable album they would NEVER have bought if they knew to be virulently crippled in this way.

8. I will never buy another Foo Fighters disc, nor any disc that is protected after this experience. I'm also NOT alone in deciding this.

"Protections" like this abuse the rights of the fans, make the artists look bad, and probably actually ENCOURAGE illegal music downloads. Since you can reportedly rip this without issue in a Mac, it stands to reaon someone will (or has) rip these on a Mac or Linux box and distribute it!

The music industry DOES NOT GET IT!!! Treating paying customers like thieves will only cost you customers. According to the DMCA (A REALLY bad law signed by that phillandering buffoon Bill Clinton) attempting to circumvent this criminal protection scheme is a felony! So you can vote with your wallet and NOT buy, or pay twice for the same album. Unacceptable.

Sign a petition to repeal the DMCA and de-criminalize a permanent FIX for this kind of garbage! Developers need to be able to kill\prevent malware\spyware masquerading as "DRM" without fear of prosecution!

[...]

Antivirus vendors should also tag this criminal garbage as hostile and allow it's easy removal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I will never ever buy any copy protected CDs, August 8, 2005
By 
This review is from: In Your Honor (Audio CD)
Sorry Foo Fighters. This CD will never be in my collection. I will stop buying CDs altogether if this draconian measure becomes an industry wide standard. Long live vinyl.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Take it back!, November 17, 2005
This review is from: In Your Honor (Audio CD)
I won't repeat the horror stories of those who've tried to copy the songs onto an MP3 etc. The real fun began when I disgustedly took the CD back to "A MAJOR RETAILER" with lots of stores all over the US to return it. "Sorry, we don't accept music returns". Why? "Because you may have copied the songs." I politely pointed out to a manager that the CD is copy-protected so they can't fall back on that excuse. I then told him exactly how much money I and my family have spent at his big blue-tag store in the last 12 months and I assured him I would never, ever buy so much as a stick of gum at this chain from now on. THEY TOOK THE DOUBLE CD BACK and gave me a full refund.

Moral of the story, take your copy-protected big corporate DRM drink-coasters back to the store and demand your money back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 56 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Cutting Off Your Nose To Spite Your Face, August 4, 2005
This review is from: In Your Honor (Audio CD)
While every corporation/radio station/(insert organization here) is giving away Ipods & Mp3 players, Foo Fighters' record label decides that in order to cut down on piracy, they will prevent us (buying customers) from being able to download this cd into our music libraries. The old phrase above comes to mind.

Luckily I haven't opened the CD yet and I damn well plan to return it. Not to make a statement but simply because I consider music 75% pointless if I can't listen to it on my portable audio.

IDIOTS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars lifelong fan that won't be buying Sony copy protected content, November 1, 2005
By 
This review is from: In Your Honor (Audio CD)
Sorry guys. I love your work and I've bought everything you've released upto this point, but I have to vote with my wallet this time.

I hope it wasn't your decision to distribute with copy protection and it's just Sony's corporate pissing match against Apple at the expense of their customer base.

Why should I listen to poor quality audio? I want to appreciate all the work you put into this, not downgrade my audio experience by losing quality getting this onto my iPod just to 'play fair' with Sony's DRM.

I'm sure the album rocks, but I hope you'll re-release without Sony's DRM. Chalk up yet another Sony product consumer loss for me this year. Next year I won't be buying a PS3 and it's even more crippling Blu-Ray DRM either. I regrettably can't trust any Sony product from this point onwards; Foo Fighter DVD/Blu-Ray discs included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 253 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

In Your Honor
In Your Honor by Foo Fighters (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.