Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Handle with Oven Mitts!
As it is with other artists who have blessed us with their talent for decades
--Al Jarreau and Stevie Wonder come to mind -- there will always be
flailing of arms, gnashing of teeth, and great cries of anguish concerning
Incognito's song selections. When the GE holographic discs
arrive containing every song ever recorded, that complaint will be valid,...
Published on May 22, 2009 by G. Harrison

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Letdown...
This DVD is a major disappointment! I have a few of the CDs they put out, however this production is not good.

Fine the music quality is outstanding, but the video is lacking true camera work. What is the deal with switching frames with the blink of an eye! That's stupid! This happened over and over and over. You could not focus on any one sequence without the...
Published on December 7, 2009 by Sweet P.


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Handle with Oven Mitts!, May 22, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Incognito: Live at Java Jazz Festival, Jakarta (DVD)
As it is with other artists who have blessed us with their talent for decades
--Al Jarreau and Stevie Wonder come to mind -- there will always be
flailing of arms, gnashing of teeth, and great cries of anguish concerning
Incognito's song selections. When the GE holographic discs
arrive containing every song ever recorded, that complaint will be valid, I guess.
But these selections on this two hour performance are STELLAR. The
passion is there. The love is there. The musicianship? Slam dunk. It is as good
as a live performance gets.
If you know these songs, you'll see what I'm saying is true. If you don't know
the songs, take heart in the fact that Bluey (et al) produced the DVD true to
the original studio performances.
I've been struggling with how to characterize this band for many years for
people who do not know it. Pop? Yes. Soul? Uh-huh. Jazz? Yup.
Funk? Decidedly. Acid Jazz? Probably, but no one knows that term.
The only reasonable direct comparison is with super groups of the 1970's
like Earth, Wind, & Fire, Sly & Family Stone, and/or Parliament-Funkadelic,
yet updated to the 21st century. Several places Mr. Hylton is popping and
thumping a-la Larry Graham. The horns have the precise stabbing bite of
EW&F's, or "on the one" tightness of the JB Horns (James Brown) yet
retain the sweet melody of Chicago's brass. Richard Bailey is all over the drums;
I thought they'd employed a percussion man as well -- but NO! Bluey is
fingering away on the E-drum machine in addition to having fun on his new Strat.
Of course, the real and sustaining "heart" of this performance is from Cooper's
familiar keyboard and the sometimes three or four part harmony of Bluey's lyrics
making the hair stand up on my neck! I'm incapable of characterizing the
vocalists' stylings -- angelic, perhaps? [Stellar was already used. Woefully
inadequate description, sorry]. But, like the band itself, the vocals are
unique, original, and completely Incognito.
My inclination was to give this effort a horrible review so that I could
pinch like a Grinch all the available copies, but I just can't! The only things
negative about this DVD are you can see the copy protection in some
scenes and Mr. Bailey's snare sounds a bit muddy on a cut or two. Some
may complain that there's nothing new presented.
LIVE WITH IT. You can't be without this DVD and call yourself a
true Incognito fan.
If you aren't a fan, it will make you one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST Have for the collection, June 22, 2009
This review is from: Incognito: Live at Java Jazz Festival, Jakarta (DVD)
If you are a true Incognito Fan, had a dream of being a fan, know someone who is a fan, or in my case, heard their music played one day on the Comcast all music station and was immediately hooked...started buying everything by them his budget would allow and then some; this is the DVD that ties them all together. From a musician's standpoint, these guys (and girls) are great. From viewing it, I would say that in a recording environment, anyone on the stage could hold their own at their own venue. It's a close call as to who has the baddest horn section when I think of my two favorite bands being Earth,Wind & Fire and the Mighty Chicago, but from the start of the show until the end, Incognito's Horn Section, kicks it out. Case in point, my 14 year old even watched it on her own and came back with that question on the horn section. My compliments to Bluey, who stay's to the side and does what he does "play" and allows his singers to showcase what they do. In wrapping this up, Bluey proves that music is truly a universal language. The proof is when he introduces the Incognito Band. He calls them the United Nations of Musicians. They are from all parts of the globe. On that stage they are One Nation. This DVD is the one that ties your CD collection together and a must have for your overall Incognito collection.
Bobby D / Drummer Elkton MD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Concert, July 7, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Incognito: Live at Java Jazz Festival, Jakarta (DVD)
This DVD is a must have for Incognito fans and the icing on the cake is Maysa is on it. Loved every miniute of it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incognito - Live in Jakarta, June 12, 2009
By 
Shon Smith (Detroit, MI United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Incognito: Live at Java Jazz Festival, Jakarta (DVD)
THE COGS SOUNDS JUST LIKE THE ALBUM! I WENT TOO SEE THEM IN CONCERT AND BEEN A FAN SINCE! ONE OF THE MOST UNDERRATED GROUPS!! BLUEY KEEPS WONDERFUL AND TALENTED SINGS THE GUY IS A MUSICAL GENIUS!! IF YOU ARE A FAN A MUST BUY IF YOU ARE NOT A FAN A MUST BUY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars as good as the 30th anniversary, October 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Incognito: Live at Java Jazz Festival, Jakarta (DVD)
very very enjoyable to watch. excellent production although would be nice if the bluray was available, nevertherless nice collectors item
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars real music and singing, November 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Incognito: Live at Java Jazz Festival, Jakarta (DVD)
Can't go wrong with this talented group of individuals. Where are the new upcoming bands? New groups today lack this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Concert!!!, June 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Incognito: Live at Java Jazz Festival, Jakarta (DVD)
Very good concerts. Especially for the Incognito and neo soul fans! A lot of there most known music was performed..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Video!, March 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Incognito: Live at Java Jazz Festival, Jakarta (DVD)
Awesome video, Incognito is absolutely fantastic, great concert! Excellent video and audio quality, shipping was very prompt. Looking forward to buying another Incognito video.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent DVD, August 28, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Incognito: Live at Java Jazz Festival, Jakarta (DVD)
This DVD is excellent.

The only thing better would be if I had seen them perform live.

Incognito is my favorite group and Ive been listening to them ever since their CD Vibes, Tribes and Scribes. Definitely worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Where's my flashlight? I've gotta move!, May 28, 2010
By 
Jackustus (San Francisco, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Incognito: Live at Java Jazz Festival, Jakarta (DVD)
I've been a huge Incognito fan for a very long time. Just recalling the parade of female vocalists over the years is nothing short of amazing. I experienced them live at the San Francisco Fillmore back in the 90s and I'll never forget the joy. My body remembers! This DVD captures the flavor of their irresistible energy--a bit more subdued than they were at the Fillmore, but beautifully tight and inspired. Tony Momrelle is a perfect addition to the group. Don't miss this treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Incognito: Live at Java Jazz Festival, Jakarta
Incognito: Live at Java Jazz Festival, Jakarta by Richard Bailey (DVD - 2009)
$21.98 $19.78
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.