Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thumbs Up
I'm the reporter Jared is talking about on page 39! I was a young intern at a television station in Jared's hometown when I covered his arrest in 1997. I'm still in Hazard and was thrilled to do a positive follow-up story with him this week. I read his book in just a few hours. I couldn't put it down. It is a brutally honest, fascinating look inside the life of a former...
Published on September 2, 2008 by S. D. Hensley

versus
1 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An Interesting Story, But a Book that Falls Short
It's probably not a good idea for a drug addict to work as a pharmacist. Actually, I'd say it's definitely not a good idea for a drug addict to work as a pharmacist. And yet, in 1996, when Jared Combs graduated from school and became a licensed pharmacist, he was heavily addicted to all kinds of drugs--any kind of drug, really.

As is so often the case, Combs...
Published on December 9, 2008 by Tim Challies


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thumbs Up, September 2, 2008
This review is from: Incomprehensible Demoralization: An Addict Pharmacist's Journey to Recovery (Paperback)
I'm the reporter Jared is talking about on page 39! I was a young intern at a television station in Jared's hometown when I covered his arrest in 1997. I'm still in Hazard and was thrilled to do a positive follow-up story with him this week. I read his book in just a few hours. I couldn't put it down. It is a brutally honest, fascinating look inside the life of a former drug addict. I would recommend this to anyone, especially to those who may be abusing drugs or alcohol that need some hope and encouragement. Congratulations.

Steve Hensley
WYMT-TV
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incomprehensible Demoralization Review, September 11, 2008
By 
Justin Case "Justin Case" (Bakersfield, California) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Incomprehensible Demoralization: An Addict Pharmacist's Journey to Recovery (Paperback)
Jared Combs is a natural storyteller. In his book, "Incomprehensible Demoralization", Jared uses his talent to not only tell hilarious and tear jerking stories; but to send a message. Hope is powerful. This book is more than a story of a guy in the medical profession that turned addict and alcoholic. This book is about unconditional love. Jared's wife Darcy and his mother and father are the epitome of this love. Everyone should do themselves a favor and read Jared Combs' tale of recovery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars loved the book kept my intrest could not put it down, September 2, 2008
This review is from: Incomprehensible Demoralization: An Addict Pharmacist's Journey to Recovery (Paperback)
knowing the author made this even more appealing to me .it was very intresting had just the right amount of humor i think it was written in very good taste read the book in one single evening once i started i could not put it down it made me cry it also made me laugh
hats off to jared for what he has done and continues his sobriety
i recomend that this be a book to add to your collection
congrats
robin reed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great read inspiring story, September 5, 2008
This review is from: Incomprehensible Demoralization: An Addict Pharmacist's Journey to Recovery (Paperback)
I truly could not put this book down until I finished it. It was fascinating, funny, heartbreaking, and inspiring. Jared's story is an incredible one and his journey to the man he is today can give anyone hope, addict or not, that change is possible and there is a light at the end of every tunnel no matter how dark it may seem. Needless to say I loved the book and I'd recommend it to all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling beginning to end, November 17, 2010
This review is from: Incomprehensible Demoralization: An Addict Pharmacist's Journey to Recovery (Paperback)
Having read Jared's work close to a year ago, I still find his experience, strength, and hope refreshing to alcoholics, addicts, professionals, blue collar workers, men, women, and even those not afflicted with the disease of addiction. As an alcoholic, relating to the insanity of active addiction was very easy to do. As a Recovering alcoholic, relating to the spritual awakening gave a deeper meaning to my own relationship with God. The heartbreaks and deceit of the alcoholic hit close to home, but the hope of rebuilding broken trust and relationships is an added benefit of living a clean and sober life. As Jared makes clear, all of the blessings from being a recovering alcoholic are gifts from God, and are contingent upon maintaining a spritually fit life.

I highly recommend this book to anyone, not just those who are suffering from alcoholism. Living clean and sober despite the ups and downs of everyday life, as Jared has shown is possible, is a testament that with God, all things are possible!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Incomprehensible Demoralization" is a must read, July 7, 2009
This review is from: Incomprehensible Demoralization: An Addict Pharmacist's Journey to Recovery (Paperback)
Jared Combs' vivid depiction of the choke-hold prescription drugs had on him as a pharmacist mirrors the experience of many nurses and doctors. "Incomprehensible Demoralization" is all the more captivating as Combs skillfully takes all readers by the hand, past his very public humiliation and professional monitoring, to a place of utter surrender.
As a nurse who has labored long in advocacy efforts for chemically dependent nurses, "Incomprehensible Demoralization" is as accurate a portrayal of addicted healthcare professionals as one could ever get without personally living through the nightmare.
"Incomprehensible Demoralization" is a must read for anyone who believes knowledge about medication grants one immunity from getting hooked. Fortunately for Combs, knowing too much about medication is being replaced, one day at a time, with ongoing recovery efforts.
Paula Davies Scimeca, RN, MS, Author of "Unbecoming A Nurse: Bypassing the Hidden Chemical Dependency Trap."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No holding back, January 2, 2011
This review is from: Incomprehensible Demoralization: An Addict Pharmacist's Journey to Recovery (Paperback)
This was the first book I picked up when I started my own personal journey to recovery and it gave me hope when I had none. Jared tells his story exactly as it happens and spares no details - the narrative truly creates a picture of how out of control chemical dependency can become. Too often we hear stories of physicians and nurses that have battled addiction but we rarely hear about pharmacists - the accessibility to drugs inherent in their profession can create a "perfect storm" leading to the classic downward spiral typically observed in substance abuse. This is a great story that highlights two essential points - (1) when things start to get out of control with substance abuse, hitting rock bottom can happen so quickly and (2) there is truly hope! - Recovery works and Jared's story proves this again and again! A must read for health care professionals, especially pharmacists!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Compelling Tale, October 31, 2009
This review is from: Incomprehensible Demoralization: An Addict Pharmacist's Journey to Recovery (Paperback)
Jared Combs has succeeded in telling his story of addiction and recovery in not only a very powerful and compelling way; but also as a very enjoyable and entertaining read. Jared does an excellent job of conveying the impact that addiction to drugs and/or alcohol can have on an individual and their family. I had the pleasure of hearing Jared speak along with one of his mentors in recovery, and can tell you not to miss hearing him speak if you ever have the opportunity! I doubt there is anyone who reads Jared's book that will not find some motivation to improve their own life in some way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A remarkable story of addiction, courage and recovery!, December 13, 2010
This review is from: Incomprehensible Demoralization: An Addict Pharmacist's Journey to Recovery (Paperback)
Go on a journey with the author as he takes you through the hellish low of his addiction to the hopeful high of his recovery and all of his struggles in between. A poignant and courageous memoir infused with humor and humility. The author describes his disease in heart-wrenching detail and proves that no one is immune to it, but in the end that love, faith and a willingness to surrender all can lead to a life worth living. I laughed and I cried...sometimes at the same time...and found myself unable to put the book down. A great read from beginning to end. Highly recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Riveting!!!, September 11, 2008
This review is from: Incomprehensible Demoralization: An Addict Pharmacist's Journey to Recovery (Paperback)
The author writes this as though you were listening to him sitting across from you telling his story. You become captivated immediately with his honesty and openness. And the raw and edgy prose of the book reveals a sometimes disturbing look inside the mind of addiction. But it is well worth the journey! I found this to be a modern day parable of how God will run after a single lost sheep to return it to His flock. It may begin as "Incomprehensible Demoralization" but its ending is just as mysterious and undeserving but wonderful just the same. [Psalm 103: 8-10]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Incomprehensible Demoralization: An Addict Pharmacist's Journey to Recovery
$19.98 $16.60
In stock but may require an extra 1-2 days to process.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.