Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really Rather Special
What a nice album Incorruptible Heart is, a really, really nice album that just sounds so sincere you can't help but like Lavender Diamond immediately. I can't put my finger on why it's such a refreshing album...maybe just because every song is somehow a throwback to girl groups, Linda Ronstandt and even a little bit Karen Carpenter, but with modern sensibilities...
Published on October 11, 2012 by Angie

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good
Lavender Diamond coming out with Incorruptible Heart, their third album. It's produced by OK Go frontman Damian Kulash and mixed by Dave Fridman, and it's full of synths and pianos and electronics and fake organs and that kind of singing that sounds like it must be whispering, even though it isn't.
Published on November 29, 2012 by towercity


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really Rather Special, October 11, 2012
By 
Angie (Columbia, Maryland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Incorruptible Heart (MP3 Music)
What a nice album Incorruptible Heart is, a really, really nice album that just sounds so sincere you can't help but like Lavender Diamond immediately. I can't put my finger on why it's such a refreshing album...maybe just because every song is somehow a throwback to girl groups, Linda Ronstandt and even a little bit Karen Carpenter, but with modern sensibilities.

There are sooo many stand-outs on here: "Everybody's Heart's Breaking Now" (highlighted in Amazon's Free Music From Artists On The Rise) is spectacular! I figured when I went to listen to the rest of the album it wouldn't measure up, but boy does it! "I Don't Recall" is as sweet as a soda shop, but not at all precious. "Teach Me How To Waken" is airy, almost mystical, definitely haunting. "Forgive" is downright gorgeous and "Perfect Love" is quite adorable, in a Connie Francis kind of way.

Lavender Diamond's frontwoman Becky Stark's distinctive voice makes the album unforgettable. When she was seventeen, her vocal teacher told Becky her ribcage was too small for classical singing, but I beg to differ, especially on the last track with its echoes of opera. Closing with the lovely "All The Stars," Incorruptible Heart is perfectly titled. Can anyone who sings like this be anything but good-hearted? I love, love, love this album! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A 6 star Diamond, September 29, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Incorruptible Heart (Audio CD)
I was going to give this a review a 5 star rating just because Becky is so adorable... but then I listened to the music and I must add an extra star. The producton is even better than the first album and the mastering is top- notch along with the band playing really interesting backing music and of course Becky is the finest singer on disc today. Great album LD and please don't make us wait so long for the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Something is wrong with me, February 14, 2013
By 
shanusmagnus (Elk River, MN United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Incorruptible Heart (Audio CD)
I'm not qualified to say anything sensible about music, really. I love this album, but I don't know how to explain why, the whole "dancing about architecture" effect I guess, which is no help to anyone. But I do feel compelled to submit the following:

The more I listened to the album, even though it has a number of really catchy and lovely songs, the more one in particular ("Light My Way") started getting into my head; and I would listen to it over and over on repeat, which isn't something I do. And then I went looking to see if there was a video for the song, and there is, and you can watch it online. And something about that video just breaks me and then puts me back together every time I watch it. It's just ... perfect. It's like it was shot by some kind of higher being who knew just how to capture the song's ineffable whatever, which is is all the more remarkable because the whole thing is basically just Becky Stark dancing by herself in front of an oil refinery in the San Diego twilight.

This sounds like I'm being sarcastic but I'm not. There's something special about this band, and there's something special about this album, and there's something special about that video, and even if I can't say what it is I wanted to acknowledge it on the off chance that I could help somebody else to have the kind of beautiful experience that I had. Light my way indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ethereal voice that companions the soul, October 23, 2012
By 
Sheila Callahan (Fresno, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Incorruptible Heart (MP3 Music)
I thought this would be too New Age for me but it is lovely, lovely, lovely. The vocals could melt a heart of stone. Try it for your hearts sake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, November 29, 2012
This review is from: Incorruptible Heart (Audio CD)
Lavender Diamond coming out with Incorruptible Heart, their third album. It's produced by OK Go frontman Damian Kulash and mixed by Dave Fridman, and it's full of synths and pianos and electronics and fake organs and that kind of singing that sounds like it must be whispering, even though it isn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy It., December 21, 2013
By 
Brooke Ryan (Findlay, Ohio United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Incorruptible Heart (Audio CD)
Amazing album from a dedicated artist of the somber and loving variety. Never heard Lavender Diamond before this album. I am entranced! So glad I purchased it. I listen to it for softly brutal comfort. Its hard not to listen to the whole album. Very satisfying and beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I fell in love with this band, May 23, 2013
By 
Edwin G. Hardacre (Los Angeles, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Incorruptible Heart (Audio CD)
I saw them open for someone else -- I don't even remember who -- at the Fonda in around 2007 or 2008, and Becky Stark stole my heart so I bought the vinyl LP Imagine Our Love in the lobby. I listen to the album on my Ipod even now when I want to head out into the country on foot and feel the love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another beautiful record from the band, May 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Incorruptible Heart (Audio CD)
I first saw and heard them in Seattle opening for the New Pornographers. It was a spare performance, no excessive light shows, no special effects. You don't need them as her voice blew away the room and would only distract from the electricity when she lets those pipes loose. She's a charming and sweet frontperson for the band and it's a shame it doesn't carry over to a studio recording.

She made a fan of me and a few hundred others in the room as the CDs (Imagine Our Love and Cavalry of Light) they was selling went quickly during intermission. I've not had anyone blow me away like this since Annie Haslam.

Their previous recordings were spare and the engineering captured the band in a light that didn't reflect the (too short) live show I saw.
Their latest has evolved with different production and some added depth to the music. As Becky Starks voice is pretty much the focus of the music, it's brought to the forefront and the material has matured.
Hopefully fans, old and new, won't have to wait another 5 years for a new release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is the greatest album, April 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Incorruptible Heart (MP3 Music)
I simply love this album, downloaded one song and then the whole album. The songs are all distinctly different and listening to them is almost a spiritual experience. You can listen, meditate or exercise to this music and Becky has a beautiful voice with an unrestrained quality to her songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really Good Music is Still Alive, March 1, 2013
This review is from: Incorruptible Heart (Audio CD)
Ethereal, chilling, bittersweet, uplifting...all of these words can be used to describe Incorruptible Heart. Its melodic, simplisitc songs are perfectly paired with Becky Stark's beautifully talented vocals, which is an instrument in itself. Her voice can be rich and warm, icy and breathtaking, somber, joyous, nostalgic. And the lyrics, much like the music, are wonderfully thought, carrying a lot of weight in their poignancy without feeling heavy. There's a lot of depth and creativity in the music and lyrics, while at the same time being basic in their presentation. This also allows for different types of music lovers to appreciate the songs. And the production values will keep this special album from getting too dated.

I fell in love with this album almost right away. Most of the songs are catchy and memorable, striking various emotions while still feeling connected to each other. None of the songs are self-pitying, depressing, manic, or gratuitous, and this lack of extremes are actually an asset here, proving that you don't have to go into those territories to make your point about different feelings. For example, "Just Passing By" could've easily been a dreary song, but Becky knows how to sound downright heartbroken and beautiful while the listener is mesmorized and touched without needing to be emotionally drained. Incorruptible Heart is gorgeously textured, inviting, and inspiring. Becky's incredibly moving voice, and the mature, imaginative songs have everything to do with it. What a pleasure to know that such good music is still alive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Incorruptible Heart
Incorruptible Heart by Lavender Diamond
Buy MP3 Album$9.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.