Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Maxwell Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro STEM

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars33
Format: Audio CD|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 5, 2004
This is one of P.O.'s most brilliant magical landmark albums to date. This is a complete departure from the sunny daytime feel of El Dorado and Rivers Gonna Rise. This is a very dark and more midievel sounding recoed that shatters new grounds in his music and is one of his strongest albums to date.

Devils Lake is a very scary sounding song with echoing pianos and a very ominous sound. At 3:56 some electronic percussion and some rhythm comes in giving a feel of traveling through space towards a glowing cluster of stars. Sacrifice is a haunting track with very dark tingling synths for about the first 3 and a half minutes. At about 2:40 drums come in and real add on to the song. The horns are beatiful. When I close my eyes when listening to this song I could imagine being out in the forest in the dead of night and then all of a sudden a green glowing, wide-eyed warrior ghost on a chariot coming out of the background being pulled by horses. Coba is beyond what words can say alone. It's a very frightening song with echoing drums and very nighttime synths. I love the intense bridge with strong synths from 2:18 to 3:00. It then ends with the ambient synths continuing. This is my favorite song on this album. Upon The Wings Of Night is what the title says. It's a most ambient song with trumpets but they really sound great.Sacret Heart is another beautiful but a tad bit brighter but still dark and spacey. The Beauty Within is another beatiful but with echoing pianos but at the last 30 seconds the pianos give away to pulsating synths and fade out. What an amazing song. Desire is absolutely magical. It starts out with dazzling synths. Then some drums come in. This is one of the best songs on this album. Ringmasters Dream is very unique. It starts off as an ambient track but then later it gradually morphs into a sort of orchestraesque song and then fades into carnival sounds at the ending. Espana is a truly magical closing track to this CD. It a very peaceful with a truly melancholy feel. A great closer to this CD.

This is one of Mr. O'Hearns strongest albums to date. It's so much different from his earlier works and paved the way for his more midievel sounding material works afterwards. This is an essential recoeding for fans of Patrick O'Hearn and all New Age lovers.
11 comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 26, 2000
This seductive collection of deep, mood-provoking music is quite possibly my favorite album of all time. Through his trademark use of synths, Patrick O'Hearn evokes a sonic underworld unmatched by any artist on the New Age scene today. Each song carries its own unique texture -- the climactic Ringmaster's Dream twists a what would be a light circus-theme into something truly foreboding. And the opening track, Devil's Lake, carries a kind of inspired beauty through the darkness it describes.
Foolishly, I had purchased the cassette copy some years ago instead of the cd. After procrastinating about upgrading, I finally condeded, only to find the cd was no longer available. This re-release from One Way is a treat indeed, and I would recommend the title to anyone.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 19, 2003
Ok, let me start by saying I'm not particularly fond of Between two worlds, rivers gonna rise, or eldorado. On the other hand I can't get enough of the soundscapes he returned to with this disk and apparently will stay with from here on.
Indigo was the record that made me an ohearn fan back in the mid 90's. This record has certainly spent significantly more time in my cdplayer than any other over the years. I can't seem to wear it out.
This is dark (but pretty) ambient with frequent interludes of what by new age standards are fairly violent tribal druming.
Until So flows the current (his best) came out a couple years back, this stood as the record with the most sophisticated and complete tracks. More layers, better production.
if you like O'hearn, this album is a must have.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 7, 2011
This is the last collaboration of Peter Baumann with O'Hearn and he gave it all in full blast. This is like Tangerine Dream's Desert Dream on the Encore album only with O'Hearn's input. This album had become darker, moodier and much more melacholic, it is not a depressing album but is a fitting sountrack for a mystery movie set in the Carpathian mountains. Much of the material here can be heard on his sountrack for the movie "White Sounds". The album cover of a an archetypical wing and portrait of baroque era Meditarranean couple heightens the sinister content this record.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 12, 2004
O'Hearn is a magical composer. I don't know music well enough to give you technical keywords, but I can tell you that it is nothing short of brilliant, and nearly timeless. The tune of in 'Espana', especially, has haunted me over the years, combining elements of nostalgia, solitude, and taking you away from the present happenings... it slows you down to freeze on a larger perspective; In 'Coba', 'Sacred Heart', and 'Upon the wings..' you will find a tremendouly up-beat swing, a strong rhythmic pulse with enchanting tunes. I fell in love with this album at once.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 2001
This is one of P.O.'s most brilliant magical landmark albums to date. This is a complete departure from the sunny daytime feel of El Dorado and Rivers Gonna Rise. This is a very dark and more midievel sounding recoed that shatters new grounds in his music and is one of his strongest albums to date.
Devils Lake is a very scary sounding song with echoing pianos and a very ominous sound. At 3:56 some electronic percussion and some rhythm comes in giving a feel of traveling through space towards a glowing cluster of stars. Sacrifice is a haunting track with very dark tingling synths for about the first 3 and a half minutes. At about 2:40 drums come in and real add on to the song. The horns are beatiful. When I close my eyes when listening to this song I could imagine being out in the forest in the dead of night and then all of a sudden a green glowing, wide-eyed warrior ghost on a chariot coming out of the background being pulled by horses. Coba is beyond what words can say alone. It's a very frightening song with echoing drums and very nighttime synths. I love the intense bridge with strong synths from 2:18 to 3:00. It then ends with the ambient synths continuing. This is my favorite song on this album. Upon The Wings Of Night is what the title says. It's a most ambient song with trumpets but they really sound great.Sacret Heart is another beautiful but a tad bit brighter but still dark and spacey. The Beauty Within is another beatiful but with echoing pianos but at the last 30 seconds the pianos give away to pulsating synths and fade out. What an amazing song. Desire is absolutely magical. It starts out with dazzling synths. Then some drums come in. This is one of the best songs on this album. Ringmasters Dream is very unique. It starts off as an ambient track but then later it gradually morphs into a sort of orchestraesque song and then fades into carnival sounds at the ending. Espana is a truly magical closing track to this CD. It a very peaceful with a truly melancholy feel. A great closer to this CD.
This is one of Mr. O'Hearns strongest albums to date. It's so much different from his earlier works and paved the way for his more midievel sounding material works afterwards. This is an essential recoeding for fans of Patrick O'Hearn and all New Age lovers.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 15, 2012
I enjoy the moodiness of this cd by O'hearn, which is the 3rd of his I owned. It is a real lush experience for all you fans of multi-keyboard spacey synth rock. I cannot go ibto detail, but that is a general description. He is the former key player from Missing Persons, so this is a good mix of 80s pop and New Age.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 9, 2009
When I'm focusing my attention on a "thinking task", I like music of various "ambient" types -- space music, soundtrack music, techno, and so on. This CD is gentle, melodic, pretty, but not very distracting.

Most people don't seem to like music of this sort. It isn't music that you can sing to, and it isn't music that you can dance to.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2012
Great Cd. i have been a Patrick Ohearn fan for quite some time. mello, and
adventure, Patrick just has such a unique Style all his own. no one is like
Partick Ohearn. He's the man. Keep up the good work.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 5, 2012
I cannot really say why I love this album so much. Perhaps because I listened to it early in my very 1st years on getting into Electronic Music, maybe because it IS indeed a great album or perhaps because of the extraordinary cover art. Whichever the reasons are, I have to say this is one of the greatest and timeless E-M albums I've had and listened to in my already huge collection. Indigo is definately among O'Hearn's greatests, together with Eldorado and Rivers Gonna Rise. Highly recommended and an absolute must for every music fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$12.05
$10.69

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.