Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Brooks
*Note: I recommend reading The Sword of Shannara, Elfstones of Shannara, and The Wishsong of Shannara before reading this book.

Premise
The evil Illdatch, a book of evil sorcery was once thought destroyed by the descendant of Shea Ohmsford, by Brin Ohmsford. But, there was a page she didn't know about that was missing. It is up to her brother Jair, to...
Published on June 10, 2011 by Jake Scholl

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Felt incomplete.
I'm a big fan of Terry Brooks and all things Shannara. But I was disappointed in this book. It never really went anywhere. It was a marvelous introductory narrative, but incomplete as an entire book.
Published 4 months ago by Pamela W. Yaste


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Brooks, June 10, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Indomitable: A Short Novel from the Legends II Collection (Shannara) (Kindle Edition)
*Note: I recommend reading The Sword of Shannara, Elfstones of Shannara, and The Wishsong of Shannara before reading this book.

Premise
The evil Illdatch, a book of evil sorcery was once thought destroyed by the descendant of Shea Ohmsford, by Brin Ohmsford. But, there was a page she didn't know about that was missing. It is up to her brother Jair, to destroy it once and for all. Can he do it without dying? One can try.

Review

The old school Shannara books are arguably the best I've read by Terry Brooks, the new ones after like 2005, aren't really that good. When I bought this short novel on Kindle, I was hoping the magic from the old series would come back.
And come back it did.
The novel takes place two years after the events that unfolded in The Wishsong of Shannara. Brin Ohmsford has grown up, and is now out of Shady Vale, is now married to Rone Leah and is pregnant. Jair on the otherhand is still in Shady Vale, working in the family Inn. His life is vey peaceful, and all of it is shattered when Kimber Boh, grandaughter of the Druid Cogline, comes and tells Jair to come with her to destroy the last page of the Ildatch, that is locked up in the Fortress Dun Fee Aran.
The plot really isn't surprising at first. Just classic Terry Brooks. I was reminded why I like him. I love quest stories. So if you hate it, stay away. Brooks is back!
The characters are realistic , and are exactly how I remembered them, except for Jair. Jair is no longer a whiner, he is tough and has grown up. He is far more fun to read about now.
Writing quality is wordy at times. Thank Amazon for putting a dictionary easy to get into on the Kindle. His writing is reminiscent of Tolkien and if you hate Tolkien, again stay away. I also like the fact it's a short novel, or novella. No eat, fight, sleep pattern that plague many an epic fantasy.

Verdict
5 out of 5 stars! Grab it, it's worth the whole $2.99!

Also available in print in the Legends II Anthology and Nook!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Exciting Short Novel From Terry Brooks, May 3, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Indomitable (Hardcover)
In the events of "The Wishsong of Shannara", Jair Ohmsford, his sister Brin, Allanon, and Garet Jax had successfully destroyed the great book of evil known as the Ildatch. But, two years later, Jair is warned by Kimber Boh that one page of the book survived Brin's destruction. Now, at Kimber's urging, Jair finds that he must be the one to destroy this last page once and for all.

Jair, Kimber, and Kimber's grandfather Cogline set out for the prison fortress of Dun Fee Aran, home of the missing page. Jair has the gift of the wishsong like Brin did, but his verison is not as powerful. Upon reaching the fortress, Jair puts medicine in the drinks of Cogline and Kimber so they will stay asleep while he searches for the missing page alone. Will he survive to find the page, or will the evil Mwellrets who guard the Ildatch stop him?

I've been a fan of Terry Brooks for many years, and I've read all of his previous works. It's been several years since I've read "The Wishsong of Shannara", but this fine short novel does a good job of bringing the early Shannara stories to a conclusion. It was fun to read about Jair Ohmsford again and see how he deals with the realization that his magic power is much different than he thought. This story is a quick read and it is packed with action. Brooks fans won't want to miss "Indomitable".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better Than Expected..., July 25, 2008
This review is from: Indomitable: A Short Novel from the Legends II Collection (Shannara) (Kindle Edition)
I love short stories. Stories are just that much better when you have to get the whole thing into a limited number of pages. To me, the ultimate novel would have all the chapters be stand alone short stories which connected to tell a greater story. Legends II is another collection of short stories by famous authors which details events from their most noted fantasy worlds. I have not read the collection, but merely Terry Brooks contribution: Indomitable.

I had not predicted this book would be so good.

I guess when Terry Brooks takes a chance, and strays away from his preconceived writing "formula" he can produce some pretty intriguing work. He can actually take interesting ideas, which he had not dealt with before and lay them out in unexpected ways. If there is one thing about Terry Brooks which is always predictable, that is the fact that he is always predictable.

But, when you think about it, this book, like the other three, starts the same way. I guess Terry is predictable after all. Still, this book is a lot different from any of his works before, as it deals with some unexplored territory. You can tell it is quite a stretch for him, and it is quite refreshing after having just read 'Wishsong.'

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, July 3, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Indomitable: A Short Novel from the Legends II Collection (Shannara) (Kindle Edition)
This review is going to be one sided! I am a huge Terry Brroks fan so the only way I know how to say anything about any of his stories is Awesomely Amazing! A must read for anyone who is a Terry Brooks fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Short Novel, September 15, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Indomitable: A Short Novel from the Legends II Collection (Shannara) (Kindle Edition)
Terry Brooks in one of my favorite authors. I enjoy his style of writting. The characters are familar and the story is typically good for Terry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, July 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Indomitable: A Short Novel from the Legends II Collection (Shannara) (Kindle Edition)
intense a good quick read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love the Shannara short stories., June 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Indomitable: A Short Novel from the Legends II Collection (Shannara) (Kindle Edition)
I love Shannara stories. The short stories like Indomitable help to further define the characters and to explore the land and storylines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars First edition, very happy with order., May 27, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Indomitable (Hardcover)
Book arrived in excellent condition and on time. It was a little pricey, but well worth the cost. Terry Brooks is one of my favorite authers.Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Indomitable, May 21, 2014
By 
pat skelhorn (cumming, ga, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Indomitable: A Short Novel from the Legends II Collection (Shannara) (Kindle Edition)
Terry brooks, what more does one have to say. He is one of the best fantasy writers, I have ever read. His book keep on getting, better and better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars interesting supplement, May 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Indomitable: A Short Novel from the Legends II Collection (Shannara) (Kindle Edition)
Having read all the published Shannara books I find this one an interesting supplement to the previously published series .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.