Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


49 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easily One of the Most Amazing Books I've Bought in 30 Years of Collecting
This book is amazing and also contains far more material than is listed in the description.

The page count is actually over 1400, and the book contains not only everything listed in the description, but another twelve or thirteen issues more (including the five issue Crisis of Conscience JLA story, all four issues of the sacrifice storyline (not just the one...
Published on July 23, 2012 by This Reader

versus
14 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Infinite Crisis Omnibus Review
I gotta say... I loved Infinite Crisis when I first read it! Mmmm, scratch that! I didn't understood squad of Infinite Crisis when I first got it. There was a reason though. I was just begining with comics. I had no background about the DC Universe, so Infinite Crisis was a bad start.

I got some books like Crisis on Infinite earths and Identity Crisis, and...
Published on September 6, 2012 by Xavier Zavala Heras


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

49 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easily One of the Most Amazing Books I've Bought in 30 Years of Collecting, July 23, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Infinite Crisis Omnibus (Hardcover)
This book is amazing and also contains far more material than is listed in the description.

The page count is actually over 1400, and the book contains not only everything listed in the description, but another twelve or thirteen issues more (including the five issue Crisis of Conscience JLA story, all four issues of the sacrifice storyline (not just the one listed) and a four issue Superman/Shazam story arc).

This is by far the most comprehensive way to read Infinite Crisis. I was a fan of the series and thought I had followed it pretty closely, but this omnibus contains 19 issues I've never read before. I applaud DC for putting out such a complete book, and I also really like the way the issues in the book have been placed in the best possible reading order as well.

I think this is probably the largest omnibus either Marvel or DC has released to date, and it's very well put together with a nice, sturdy binding that still opens well and makes for easy reading.

As to the story itself--this book covers probably my favorite period in DC history (and touches on pretty much every aspect of the DC universe of that time). The stories contained are fast, intense, exciting, well written, populated with interesting characters, and tie together into one massive epic. This is probably the period when the DC universe felt the most connected, and all the stories feel important. During the period this book covers, amost all of the DC line felt like it was building toward something big, and almost every storyline felt like it mattered as part of something bigger.

The individual miniseries in this book are all very entertaining, and Infinite Crisis itself (which doesn't even start until page 950) ties them all together and pays them off well.

The writing is consistently good, the art is very well done throughout (enhanced by very nice coloring), and the story couldn't be more epic or complete. Some of comics best writers contribute--Geoff Johns, Greg Rucka, Gail Simone, and Bill Willingham to name a few--and the quality of the art is just as high. Even with several different miniseries and over 1400 pages of story, the art never drops below good and often qualifies as excellent. Possibly the best part of the art though is how well and clearly it tells the story. The modern coloring also definitely enhances the overall look and impact of the art, making the whole book beautiful.

Starting with the amazing Countdown to Ininite Crisis, working through eight fantastic interlocked miniseries, and finishing with Ininite Crisis itself, this book is more than 1400 pages of great entertainment every comic fan should enjoy. I can't recommend it more. A truly great story amazingly collected and presented.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True Omnibus., September 15, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Infinite Crisis Omnibus (Hardcover)
Infinite Crisis Omnibus.

This is a true Omnibus and included:

01. Countdown to Infinite Crisis Chapter 1
02. Countdown to Infinite Crisis Chapter 2
03. Countdown to Infinite Crisis Chapter 3
04. Countdown to Infinite Crisis Chapter 4
05. Countdown to Infinite Crisis Chapter 5
06. The Omac Project Part 1
07. The Omac Project Part 2
08. The Omac Project Part 3
09. Superman Sacrifice Part 1
10. Superman Sacrifice Part 2
11. Superman Sacrifice Part 3
12. Superman Sacrifice Part 4
13. The Omac Project Part 4
14. The Omac Project Part 5
15. The Omac Project Part 6
16. Villians United Part 1
17. Villians United Part 2
18. Villians United Part 3
19. Villians United Part 4
20. Villians United Part 5
21. Villians United Part 6
22. Superman Lightning Strikes Twice Part 1
23. Superman Lightning Strikes Twice Part 2
24. Superman Lightning Strikes Twice Part 3
25. Day of vengeance Part 1
26. Day of vengeance Part 2
27. Day of vengeance Part 3
28. Day of vengeance Part 4
29. Day of vengeance Part 5
30. Day of vengeance Part 6
31. Rann-Thanagar War Part 1
32. Rann-Thanagar War Part 2
33. Rann-Thanagar War Part 3
34. Rann-Thanagar War Part 4
35. Rann-Thanagar War Part 5
36. Rann-Thanagar War Part 6
37. Justice League Crisis of Conscience Part 1
38. Justice League Crisis of Conscience Part 2
39. Justice League Crisis of Conscience Part 3
40. Justice League Crisis of Conscience Part 4
41. Justice League Crisis of Conscience Part 5
42. Infinite Crisis Part 1
43. Infinite Crisis Part 2
44. Infinite Crisis Part 3
45. Day of vengeance Special
46. Infinite Crisis Secret Files
47. Infinite Crisis Part 4
48. Rann-Thanagar War Special
49. Infinite Crisis Part 5
50. Infinite Crisis Part 6
51. The Omac Project Special
52. Villians United Special
53. Infinite Crisis Part 7

Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for DC fans, January 3, 2013
This review is from: The Infinite Crisis Omnibus (Hardcover)
This omnibus collects the comics of the Infinite Crisis event and its tie-ins. The stories included:

Countdown to Infinite Crisis: A cool little story about Blue Beetle, great for fans of JLI. Leads directly into The OMAC Project.

The OMAC Project: A story about Batman losing control of a creation he made in response to the events of Identity Crisis.

Sacrifice: Just as the OMAC Project deals with the abuse of Batman's power (Brother Eye and the OMACs), this story deals with the consequences of Superman under an evil influence.

Villains United: A great lead up to the main event. Follows low ranking DC bad guys resisting the army of villains Luthor is putting together for the main story in Infinite Crisis. It's actually the standout of the lead up stories for me. I'm ashamed to say I haven't read much of writer Gail Simone's work before, but I certainly will now.

Lightning Strikes Twice: Another story about a malevolent force taking control of Superman. This time, the source is magical and Captain Marvel and Shazam work to stop it.

Day of Vengeance: Here we go again. The Spectre, arguably DC's most powerful magical being, is manipulated and his power abused, with terrible consequences for Earth's magic users. Like Villains United, it's a great showcase for some lesser known heroes who come together to stop the Spectre, and a fun story. Written by Bill Willingham of Fables fame.

Rann-Thanagar War: The homeworlds of Adam Strange and Hawkman are at war. I'm not terribly familiar with either character, but even knowing the basics I could still enjoy the story. It's a space adventure on a large scale, like a good Green Lantern event. It ties into the Infinite Crisis nicely.

Crisis of Conscience: The JLA deals with the fallout of the events in Identity Crisis (in which Zatanna, with the cooperation of other League members, used magic to alter the minds of certain villains, and of Batman). This story retcons away what I disliked most about Identity Crisis, which was the suggestion that Superman knew what the other heroes did and chose to ignore it. Here, he only learns when Batman tells him, and is rightfully disgusted.

As for Infinite Crisis itself:

The event serves as a direct sequel to the Crisis on Infinite Earths, in which the the DC multiverse was reset and turned into one universe. There were a few survivors from the multiverse who were able to observe the new DC from a "heaven" created by the heroic Lex Luthor of Earth-3. Their decision to interact with the new DC universe serves as the main plot thread, and the strongest, with the Golden Age Superman's disappointment with the darkness in Post-Crisis DC being one of my favorite stories.

As Final Crisis would later question the nature of giant crossover events themselves, the Infinite Crisis questions the often grim direction the company took after the first Crisis. The events of Knightfall, The Death of Superman, Emerald Twilight, Identity Crisis (a story I really hated, and one that is a must read before reading this volume), and the earlier events that occur in this volume, specifically Wonder Woman's actions in Superman: Sacrifice, all serve as a catalyst for the Golden Age Superman (the first superhero) to take drastic action. There are, of course, twists in that story, and I won't spoil them here. It works brilliantly as an acknowledgment of the problems in DC stories of the 90s. I loved it.

The plots from the earlier stories in this omnibus all come together here as well, and the issues that directly tie into the main series are placed in proper reading order here. All in all, it comes together very nicely.

This event is a must for DC fans, and this omnibus is the definitive volume, filled with lots of great little stories that all lead to something bigger and better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Amazing Book, September 27, 2012
This review is from: The Infinite Crisis Omnibus (Hardcover)
This book is very well done. The content contains some of the best writers from the last ten years, doing what they do best. They do an excellent job tying the books Crisis on Infinite Earth and Identity Crisis into a new story that stands strong on its own. As for the binding, its excellent. I own many Marvel Omnibus books and it rates right up there with them. There is no gutter loss and the book lays flat. As for production, there are some extras, which include DiDio's opening to the old TPB Infinite Crisis and a Cover Gallery. I read about the cover being bare. It isn't as snazzy as the Marvel Omnibus, however, it does have the title on the cover and binding. If you were into the Infinite Crisis series, especially if you only read the main story arc when it came out, you need to get this. It's an amazing read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the price verse the comic itself, September 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Infinite Crisis Omnibus (Hardcover)
I loved this omnibus, not only from it's size and quantity of story but the amazing story. I saw people complaining about the weight even though they know it's a massive book, and it's true, it's a biggy. Buy it from dc.com though if the price is still in the $350s, it's only a consistent $150 on their site. The scale of this story is definitely a plus and recommend buying it for any DC fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is one of the greatest book you will ever own, May 15, 2014
This review is from: The Infinite Crisis Omnibus (Hardcover)
The book by itself is amazing, this is the most complete story arc you will find. But, the pricing is abusive...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Infinite Crisis Omnibus Review, September 6, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Infinite Crisis Omnibus (Hardcover)
I gotta say... I loved Infinite Crisis when I first read it! Mmmm, scratch that! I didn't understood squad of Infinite Crisis when I first got it. There was a reason though. I was just begining with comics. I had no background about the DC Universe, so Infinite Crisis was a bad start.

I got some books like Crisis on Infinite earths and Identity Crisis, and some Batman and JLA books, and Infinite Crisis felt WAY better. I liked it, I love it. I think it was one of the best crossovers DC had.

Fast forward 2012!

I got the chance to get this Omnibus with a promotion, so it was a no-brainer. Having said that, I'm goign to review the product with Iron fist. Let's star with the good stuff:

This Omnibus is bigger than it supposed to be. It have over 1400 pages in it, and all of it is sweet, but the best part is how is collected. Finally we have a big book with all the content collected in chronological order. The Infinite Crisis Omnibus includes all of the following, in this order:

Countdown to Infinite Crisis
OMAC Project #1-3
Sacrifice (Superman #219, Action Comics #829, Adventures of Superman #642, Wonder Woman #219)
OMAC Project #4-6
Villains United #1-6
Lightning Strikes Twice (Action Comics #826, Adventures of Superman #639, Superman #216)
Day of Vengeance #1-6
Rann-Thanagar War #1-6
Crisis of Conscience (JLA #115-119)
Infinite Crisis #1-3
Day of Vengeance Infinite Crisis Special
Infinite Crisis Secret Files 2006
Infinite Crisis #4
Rann-Thanagar War Infinite Crisis Special
Infinite Crisis #5-6
OMAC Project Infinite Crisis Special
Villains United Infinite Crisis Special
Infinite Crisis #7

There was a lot of stuff I didn't read before, so the content and the order it was collected is a VERY big plus! I was one of the people who wanted Infinite Crisis Absoluted, but I think the Omnibus was well collected. 5 stars for it.

I can understand why there's no extras here (the lenght is already vast enough), but I would had love to have at least a fresh intro or afterwords from Johns or even Dan Didio. The original proposal would have been nice. I mean, I would really like to know how they were goign to kill Nightwing. Anyway, that's a very minor complaint.

Now for the not so good stuff:

The book is still using a hybrid of glued and sewen binding. Is not as terrible as The Hawkman Omnibus though. You can actually open the book and get minimal gutter loss, so yes, it was an upgrade regarding the other books. Even though I still feel DC have a long way to go if they want to comete with Marvel on quality.

That brings the other issue, and this is important for me. Once you remove the dustjacket, the hardback is completely black! Exactly like the cheap little hardcover books they release all the time. Just black and nothing more. You lose the dustjacket, you will have no way to identify the book as for what it is.

I saw (but never bought) the New 52 Omnibus, and kind of liked the fact that, after removing the jacket, you'll still have a pretty hardback design. It looked pretty and it gave the sense your money was well spent (even when the content was ridiculous). Now they make a great job collecting stories and they make it look chip by giving a black simplistic hardback on it. You might not care about it, but for $150 a pop, it should be top notch in every single aspect.

My final review is an optimistic 3 and a half stars.

My recomendation is: Do not pay full price for this! Get it on sale! I've seen sites and places where the book is at $80 something dollars. If you can get it for that or less, you'll have your money well spend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant compilation - but what no Absolute?!, January 7, 2013
By 
Brian D (Wappingers Falls, NY, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Infinite Crisis Omnibus (Hardcover)
This edition is great in it's entire compilation of all things related to Infinite Crisis, but my only complaint is that it doesn't sit well on my shelf next to the Absolute Crisis on Infinite Earths, and Absolute Final Crisis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, December 31, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Infinite Crisis Omnibus (Hardcover)
A great sequel to crisis on infinite earths. Do yourself a favor and read crisis on infinite earths before reading this book. This is the best way to read infinite crisis with all the countdowns included. It makes the final 7 issues make a lot more sense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars They should turn this into a live action movie!, March 27, 2013
By 
Synful Pinion "Synful" (Fort Lewis, Washington) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Infinite Crisis Omnibus (Hardcover)
Great stories! I know it was all 1 encompassing story but i still think about it in sections. The spectre fiasco and every single magic hero and villian killing themselves to save the earth was epic and definately my favorite part. GREAT STORY and a must buy for any DC fan! They should turn this into a live action movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Infinite Crisis Omnibus
The Infinite Crisis Omnibus by Geoff Johns (Hardcover - July 3, 2012)
Used & New from: $275.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.