Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rough around a few edges, but very well done
I've read a lot of positive and negative reviews myself, and most are fairly accurate. There's definitely a niche of gamers that this will really apply to, but should still be a worthwhile purchase (or rental for those who can play for a week straight) for any RPG fan in general.

The story is by far the strongest point. There will be times that make you cry,...
Published on October 22, 2008 by M. Browne

versus
121 of 129 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A real "love/hate" relationship
This game was awesome for some reasons and totally sucked for other reasons. So i'm gonna do the typical "pros & cons" review to keep it simple.

Pros:
-Almost no loading time: i mean zero ... the most loading you'll see is when you start up the game. Once you get going whether it's transitioning areas, entering battle, or even going in and out of...
Published on October 16, 2008 by Dennis Grube


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

121 of 129 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A real "love/hate" relationship, October 16, 2008
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Infinite Undiscovery - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
This game was awesome for some reasons and totally sucked for other reasons. So i'm gonna do the typical "pros & cons" review to keep it simple.

Pros:
-Almost no loading time: i mean zero ... the most loading you'll see is when you start up the game. Once you get going whether it's transitioning areas, entering battle, or even going in and out of buildings (an act that some games have murdered with load times) is all but instant.
-Awesome cinematics: Ya this story is HUGE on the storytelling thing. It can be a bit much i'll admit (like put your xbox into screensaver mode long cinematics :P) but the upside? -> you can just hit "select" and jump right thru them if you don't care about the storyline (which sadly is one of this game's strongest points.
-Good visuals: The graphics are of course stunning and the "world and dungeon" designs are all pretty unique. You won't see any copycat map setups here, each area has it's own unique layout that will keep you interested.

--------------------------------------------

Cons:
-Controls: while you have freedom of movement and can try to circle around your enemy to attack, the controls are lacking when it comes to actually attacking your enemy. You have 3 basic combos, and you gain special attacks as you level up that you can "chain" into your normal swings. And when i say "chain" i mean struggle to get an effective combo together. Basically your basic attacks are performed by tapping A or B and your special abilities are activated by HOLDING A or B, an act which, in my experience, the computer seems to have difficulty distinguishing between.
-Spectator Sport?: You are very involved early in the game; meaning the outcome of battles and events relied heavily on YOUR personal participation. However about half-way thru (either right before or right after i inserted the second disk) while i still found it enjoyable to beat on the trash mobs and minibosses, i soon realized that my role as an actual "player" would come to a grinding halt very soon. I think it was the second or third main boss i came up against when i realized this fact -> "Holy crap, for me to win this fight, i have to pretty much stay AWAY from the boss and let my secondary group (which can't die by the way) fight him themselves and when they weaken him enough i run in and hit the big chain that we're trying to destroy." Rinse and repeat that and you have the last few major boss fights. Sad right? My jobs were to: A. stay alive and B. hit the chain. Because heaven forbid i actually try to ATTACK the boss, he would 1 or 2 shot me into oblivion everytime.
-Saving: or lack thereof. Save points are few and far between almost to the point that i found myself constantly thinking "holy crap if i don't find a save cube soon i'm gonna have to do all this crap over again if i die!" which brings me to my next con ->
-Death: ya it sucks. Especially when you've been playing for half an hour or so and still haven't come across any save cubes so then you get to have the fun experience of repeating the aforementioned half hour of gameplay. And as i mentioned about the boss fights; it is VERY easy to die. You can die one of 2 ways: A. your whole party including you die (that's an immediate game over) or B. you die and some of your party is still alive; if they don't rez you in a certain amount of time .... ya you guessed it ... game over. It wouldn't be so bad except your CPU companions aren't all that bright. You could die ... and have a healer that could rez you in the group OR even a whole stack of rezzing potions in your inventory. So while you're laying there ... slowly dying ... you'd think that they would pick ONE of the 2 options to get you back in the game ... wel i'd say that happens about 50% of the time. I'm not joking. They CPUs are idiots ... so i won't even make a separate section in the cons for them.
-Skills and leveling: you level up like nobody's business in this game, but at what price? A lot of your time is spent scrolling through countless submenus making sure that none of your 12 or so party members hasn't learned a new skill that you should apply to their combat abilities. Not to mention the massive skill and item database. This game is so high maitenance i felt myself going cross-eyed trying to keep all the information straight. In fact to even USE any items you have to bring up the menu (which makes you stationary and completely defensless) and scroll through all of your other crap to find the healing or mana regen potions you thought you bought but you can't remember what they're called cause there's so many different kinds and while you were trying to find them either you or the rest of your party was killed cause you couldn't move or help them ..... ya that pretty much sums up item usage. There are so many other issues i had that would fall under "maitenance" that i really just dont' feel like listing them. Suffice it to say it seemed like a lot of work for very little benefit.

Summary:
Well if you like a good story and some nice cinematics this game is for you. If you like PLAYING a game maybe with a little bit of customization and some freeroaming quests, this game is NOT for you. And yes the only reason i rated this game 3 stars is cause i LIKE cinematic/storytelling games :P.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rough around a few edges, but very well done, October 22, 2008
By 
M. Browne (Knoxville, TN USA) - See all my reviews
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Infinite Undiscovery - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
I've read a lot of positive and negative reviews myself, and most are fairly accurate. There's definitely a niche of gamers that this will really apply to, but should still be a worthwhile purchase (or rental for those who can play for a week straight) for any RPG fan in general.

The story is by far the strongest point. There will be times that make you cry, times that make you laugh, and times that make you so raging mad that you forget a certain character is fictional - like a good book. Great cinematics, great voice acting, great plot.

The combat is fairly hit-and-miss (no pun intended). It took me until my 15th hour of playing to really figure out how to use combos and party orders (focus, combo, free, etc) to my advantage. Learning how to get some HP and MP back by using ground combos was very important. However, there is rarely a chance to take advantage of Connect skills, since you can't call for healing while connected, and battles are too fast or too on-the-edge to bother with another character's skills. Many of the boss fights are great and very challenging - sort of from the Kingdom Hearts genre.

One major disappointment, although I am still a good 5 hours from the finish, is that the game brings strategic situations into play with a flourish, then all but ignore them for the rest of the game. The first hour of play is heart-pumping escaping and racing the clock, then soon after that is a great siege scenario... then it drops off to the occasional ho-hum "win before time runs out" scenario, if at all. They could definitely have taken advantage of multi-party situations more - so far there has only been one (absolutely fantastic) section where that occurred.

I couldn't be happier with my purchase, though, and the only reason I probably won't play through it again is that so many good RPGs have come out or are coming out for the 360 - Vesperia, Last Remnant, Fable II, etc... hard to keep up with!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent game, soundtrack, and storyline, February 16, 2009
By 
D. Abucejo (San Jose, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Infinite Undiscovery - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
This is one of the most exciting and excellent games that I have ever played so far. If you are the kind of player who likes real time RPG and enjoys lots of cut scenes, a good storyline, and plenty of hours of fun, then this is the game for you. The graphics are spectacular and the music soundtrack is awesome. This is not a turned based game but a real-time game where every character does his or her own thing. While you, Capell and as the main character, valiantly fight foes, members of his own party will pitch in and help fight other monsters or help fight the one you are trying to deal with. There's also a good handful of characters that you will join your party during the game. Each character has their own personalities and attributes; some of them being funny and some others being serious. There's a good handful of missions to undertake as you make your way to break all of the lunar chains. The boss monsters are not difficult to beat but they do require you to assemble a good party so that you can finish off the monsters effectively.

There's an assortment of options of which you can choose from such as enhancing your abilities by creating enchantments which use items found during the adventure. The game does require you to be quick at using items to restore your health or revive fallen team members, because the monsters will continue to attack your party while you choose an item to use such as a black berry potion or miraculous medicine. The game play takes about 30 hours to complete, but that time doesn't take into consideration the extra time of repeating some scenarios. The game does have a "game over" scene if you do die in the game; it just adds a little more excitement and seriousness to your game play so that you will play well next time. Game saves are found at intervals during the game, and so you have to really remember where the last save spot is, or you will end up forfeiting all your Fol (money) and experience points because you accidentally met up with some difficult monsters to fight.

This is a game that some folks will like and others will not like, as learned in the previous reviews of this game. Not every game can incorporate all the wants and likes that players try to seek in a game. In my opinion, I think the developers of this game did an excellent job. Again, if you like a pretty good storyline, humor and sadness, action, awesome graphics, an excellent soundtrack, and a game that doesn't require a 100 hours to play, then definitely try this game out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simple and fun, June 15, 2009
By 
BH2005 (Orange County, CA) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Infinite Undiscovery - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
If you accept the fact that this game isn't perfect from the start, and you're just looking for a fun and decent RPG, I think you'll enjoy this game much more. I enjoyed this game thoroughly, and although there are several ways the game could have been made BETTER I think it is still a lot of fun to play through and has enough little unique twists in it to make it better than many other RPGs hashed together from older more successful games.

I disagree with a lot of the negative comments in other reviews regarding the battle system and save spots. I played through the game on normal mode the first time (hard and expert must be unlocked by beating the game on the easier modes) and I did not have a hard time with most of the battles. If anything several of the bosses were a little too easy, but I prefer that over some of the ridiculously complicated and difficult battles you may find in other games. I also never got to a point where I needed to keep away from the bosses and allow my party to do the work as other reviewers have complained. I do admit that there is a lack of advancement in your character's fighting style through the game as you keep the three basic attack combos, though you unlock new special moves as you level I also would have liked a little more variation in battle.

As far as saving goes, I believe there is a save spot before almost EVERY boss and in many cases a person to heal your party and sell you some basic items near the end of most places.

There is only one major complaint that I have: there was a lack of usefulness in the item/weapon/armor/etc creation abilities the characters have. Different characters can create items or armor or clothing but there is very little reason to cultivate these abilities.

As far as storyline and characters go there are hits and misses. The story was pretty decent, though it could have been expanded on and made a bit better. There are several characters that are completely superfluous, though most are likable enough and none of them should ruin the game for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fun And Entertaining Game If You Give It A Shot, July 29, 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Infinite Undiscovery - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
I had actually played this game a few years earlier before I had my own Xbox 360 and now that I've gotten one this is one of the few games I knew I had to get for my gaming library. The animation, effects, soundtrack, and voice cast are great and while you so have to get use to the unique fighting controls of the game once you do you will see how enjoyable the game truly is. If you're a fan of turn based RPG games than this game probably won't be for you as it doesn't use that kind of battle scenario during the fights which I kind of appreciated as while I do like the turn based fights in some of my RPG games it does sometimes get a little annoying too. So for fans of games like Eternal Sonata and Tales of Vesparia here's another title worth checking out before it becomes another hard to find game out on the web....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun, worthwhile game despite major design flaws, September 2, 2009
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Infinite Undiscovery - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
Infinite Undiscovery is kind of a tough game to summarize. There is so much wrong with it, so many aspects of the gameplay that are either good ideas handled clumsily or just plain bad ideas... yet despite all that, it's still pretty darn fun to pick up and play. It looks great, and it has an interesting story, endearing characters, and a nice brisk pace. The basic gameplay is solid and entertaining, yet it just can't seem to stop tripping over itself with poorly implemented gimmicks.

Among what I would consider the major problems are:

- Opening the menu does not pause the action. I can appreciate the touch of realism they were trying to add, but in practice, all this does is make item use, or any other menu-based function, completely untenable during a battle.

- The Connect system. Again, it sounds cool in theory, but in practice it's just too awkward and time-consuming to be practical during a pitched battle.

- The maps are massive and confusing to navigate. It's easy to get turned around and start travelling the wrong way, and the mini map is not much help. In addition, it's sometimes not clear where you're supposed to be going next-- a character might tell you what town you're headed for, but there's no overworld map and no way to know where the town actually is in relation to your current location.

- Sparse save points! It can get really annoying when you've been playing for 45 minutes without spotting anyplace to save. And there's absolutely no excuse for not putting a save point before a boss battle at the end of a long dungeon.

- Too many junk characters in the party. With almost 20 main characters, there just isn't time to develop all of them. The core group of Capell, Aya, Edward, and Sigmund are well sketched and even memorable, but aside from them and a couple of others, the rest fall by the wayside. There's just no reason to have to manage nobodies like Kiriya and Kristopher, especially in a game that might well take you only 18-20 hours to beat.

The most frustrating thing about the game is that it puts it worst foot forward right off the bat. The first couple hours of the game are stuffed with questionable ideas, including a "stealth" section where the already tough navigation is hindered by darkness and a disabled mini map, and several unintuitive mandatory Connect sequences. The thing is, once the game gets going, it starts dropping the gimmicks and focusing on the core gameplay, and becomes infinitely more fun. It's such a cliche to defend JRPGs that start slowly, but this is one instance where the game really does get a lot better after the intro. After such a poor first impression, though, it would be hard to blame someone who just put the game down rather than giving it another chance.

With a little bit of tuning and editing, this could have been a classic game. Instead, it's a deeply flawed game that still contains a lot of opportunities for fun. The question is whether it's worth your time to go digging for it. Personally, I would still recommend the game to JRPG fans, but you should know what you're getting into.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Addictive, but frustrating at times., February 22, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Infinite Undiscovery - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
First of all, I adored the storyline from the get-go. The characters are well done, each with their own distinct personalities, likes, dislikes. Which, I might add, are incorporated into the battle system. Take for example, one character is terrified of bug-based creatures and is weakened while fighting against them, another may take a special liking to another character and will benefit by being in the party with them.

The combat is far from complicated, but it is difficult to unleash combos that aren't AAAA + finisher of sorts, and the items are poorly sorted in the battle menu, leaving you open for attacks. And death. I found myself pulling out hair until I switched from head-on attacks and became more of a support character. I also found my party being killed off fairly quickly, but the healing items work well when you can find them.

The best part of the game aside from its graphics would have to be the story. I have yet to find a similar game. There is a character that I wanted like to smack around, and they don't improve later on, but aside from that, I loved them all and found myself tearing up at some points. (LOL!) Trying to get around without many save points is a hassle, and when certain aspects of the game come into play, it gets even harder, but it provides an enjoyable challenge for those willing to take it.

All together, the team setup, plot, characters, even the quests were enjoyable. It may be tough if you don't have some patience, but when all is revealed it is worth the effort. I would, and do, recommend this game to RPG fans looking for something a little different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun to play!, February 17, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Infinite Undiscovery - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
I purchased this game because I was out of RPG game to play and the game was pretty cheap (<$20), so I have no high expectations on it. I was pleasantly surprised to find myself hooked on the game.
What I like about the game:
1) Interesting story and likeable characters. There's a lot of cutscenes for the plot progressing, which I love. There's about 7+ characters to choose from to put in your party (more characters to join at different point of the game), and you pretty much play as the 'main character'. I happened to like the main character in this game, so always playing as the main character was fine.
2) Item creation system. (Different characters can create different things and their skills improved with successful items creation).
3) As the game progress, new functionalities/challenges were introduced, which add to the fun of the game.
4) Real time "action" RPG. Unlike some RPG game, where it's almost impossible to die, this game provides a little challenge, but at the same time it's not too easy to die as well.

I also wanted to address 2 concerns that I have before purchasing the game based on some reviews I read:
1) Save points --> It turned out there's a save point in every area, and also before boss fights. This is about the frequency of save points I expected. The bigger/more complicated areas have more save points in the middle of the area, so this works fine.
2) Boss getting too tough for the character --> Didn't encounter this issue. Just have the character level up sufficiently (which should happen anyway as long as one didn't rush through the game & do a little exploration in each area), and make use of "health requests" when needed.

It was a fun game overall!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Could use some work, but it's awesome enough. (Spoilers), January 5, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Infinite Undiscovery - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
When you first begin this game it seems extra linear; Find Sigmund, basic huh? Not so much. Right after you actually find, "Siggy" Capell gets sucked into this whole adventure involving death, action, and mystery.

There are a few minor bad things in this game, such as the graphics in the main scenes being not so great. (Spoiler) I really hated when they had to kill off Faina & Leif, even Sigmund dieing was sad, when you knew who he actually was, I really cried when Faina & Leif died, by far the worst mistake on Square's part. I really hated that the Secondary Characters cannot be on your main party, I really wanted to use Dominica or Seraphina (seeing as she has the highest MP ever). I would also love to see this game as a two-player co-op game, so I or someone else can control someone other than Capell (I want to be Michelle or Eugene).

The total-real time battle system is one of my favs, it makes it so that you don't have to spend near 5-10 mins on a single battle when 1 monster splits into 3+. Once you go into the Oradian Mountains the Battle-system helps you a lot here, monsters come back up to fight you again right when the Mini-Map goes out of view which makes you learn Michelle's "Astro" very effecently. The amount of people you can play as is another good thing, the game gives you more than 10 people to choose from that you can put in your party which is more than enough to pick your specified party so that you can beat the game.

I am not picky on how much I have played RPG's, i have played this game and finished it near 20 times (Way too much?). I have played with everyone with almost every party combination, my all-time best is; Capell, Michelle, Komachi, and Eugene or Balbagan. This game is a must try at least for people who have played Eternal Sonata, Lost Odyssey, Blue Dragon, or even Tales of Vesperia (I own all of 'em). So please you might like it, so try it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cut through the bad title and the clunky game play and you'll find a story worth playing., December 16, 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Infinite Undiscovery - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
You are Capell, general slacker and wandering musician. As the adventure begins you've been thrown into prison because you resemble someone named Sigmund that the order has been hunting for a long time. You are resigned to passing your time trying to convince the guards that "ya know ya really got the wrong guy, I don't even look heroic". The guards think these conversations are entertaining and usually reward the teller with a sharp poke and half rations, but hey it passes the time.

During one of these conversations the guards suddenly take a nap and a woman with a crossbow unlocks your door and informs you that your no Sigmund, though the resemblance is uncanny, and sorry about the mix up we'll get you out of here. Not looking a gift horse in the mouth you follow the woman, Aya, and fight your way of the prison.

During the process though Aya is injured and cannot complete the journey her friends are on. As much as you would like to leave this strange group far behind, and the fact they keep telling you your nothing like Sigmund, Aya did you a favor and you feel compelled to return it.
Little do you know that the act of kindness will thrust into a world of binding chains, mystical beasts and and battle for mankind's destiny.
=======
To me this is a case of a great idea that obviously had great plans and for what ever reason these had to be scaled back. Let me say this right off the bat. The story is great, it takes a couple of hours to get rolling but once it does; its hard to stop playing to see what will happen next. So if your looking for a great story, that could have been awesome if they fleshed it out, then give this one a shot. On the other hand the game play itself can be clunky and the environments vanilla.

But they did try to make it a little more entertaining every party member has various traits that they earn or evolve through the game and they can be good or bad. For example one character fights better when her pet bear is in the party. A brother and sister have higher stats when they are in the party together, another character more or less has a panic attack when ever she has to fight birds or insects. That is definitely something I think more of these games should have.

So here's the break down:
Story: Starts off slow and by the time you hit the middle your probably hooked watching Cappel grow from child like slacker to confident adult. The story definitely takes some twists and turns. Some are from silly to serious, and others explore some interesting themes that video games don't usually tackle. Don't get me wrong quite a bit is telegraphed but even those bits are done well enough that it doesn't seem like the same old same old.

Graphics: To me they were great. The characters and monsters are well done. The only draw back is that since the monsters, characters and cut scenes look good, they had to take from somewhere. In this case its pretty easy to see they had to skimp on the backgrounds and set pieces as these are generally life less and dull. It doesn't really detract from the game though.

Game Play / Control: This is the hard one. It's not bad, but it's not good either. It's clunky. The best way to play is to just go with it. Remember to unsheathe your sword before combat or you'll be like me and get clobbered because your guys just stand there. If your exploring and opening chests don't be like me and leave your sword out it will demolish that shiny chest because you forgot the A button breaks things when in combat mode. There's also a skill connect mechanism that comes in handy in some instances though the game does not always do a good job of explaining when and where to use who. I would definitely recommend reading a FAQ if you play this as there is no new game extra in this title, so you may as well find everything the first time through.

Overall: I recommend this game on the story itself. If you can ignore the rest of the nonsense then you'll find a story worth playing. It's a shame that this didn't sell enough to get an expanded edition like divine divinity or star ocean that filled in some of the background that is obviously missing from the game. If you like JRPGs, stories that are a little different, and action adventure games give this one a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Infinite Undiscovery - Xbox 360
Infinite Undiscovery - Xbox 360 by Square Enix (Xbox 360)
$19.99 $9.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.