Customer Reviews


82 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great start to what is going to be an engaging series!
Dak Smyth leads a pretty boring, he actually prefers to spend most of his time in the past, digging through history books and spouting out facts much to his parents embarrassment and his classmates delight to ridicule him. His best friend Sera Frosts however gets him... in fact, if someone to ask Dak, he would tell you that she is an even bigger nerd than he is...
Published 22 months ago by Sheila A. Dechantal

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun and adventurous read
A Mutiny in Time is a story about 3 kids who travel back in time to fix history before the world ends. I liked the twist in this story that unlike traditional time-travel stories, they are supposed to change things. The historic details that aren't accurate amused me. I think a lot of kids would be clever enough to know whose faces should really be on Mount Rushmore. It...
Published 20 months ago by Jessica B.


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great start to what is going to be an engaging series!, August 30, 2012
By 
Sheila A. Dechantal (Brainerd, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Infinity Ring Book 1: A Mutiny in Time (Hardcover)
Dak Smyth leads a pretty boring, he actually prefers to spend most of his time in the past, digging through history books and spouting out facts much to his parents embarrassment and his classmates delight to ridicule him. His best friend Sera Frosts however gets him... in fact, if someone to ask Dak, he would tell you that she is an even bigger nerd than he is.

When Sera finds the final piece to Dak's parents secret attempt at creating a time machine called the Infinity Ring, Daks life gets a whole lot more interesting. After all, how much cooler is it to go back and experience history first hand then read about it hundreds of years later? When Dak and Sera go back in time with Dak's parents things go terribly wrong... for one thing, when they return Dak and Sera are alone, somehow Dak's parents are lost in time. And when Dak and Sera are taken away by people who want and need what the Infinity Ring can do... things go from bad to worse.

Now Dak and Sera, and a Historian named Riq are on a mission to go back in time and not only fix what is called a "break" in time, but hopefully find Dak's parents along the way. First stop... Spain, 1492.... and a meeting with Christopher Columbus!

Infinity Ring is a middle grade style read. In the beginning it gave me memories of Narnia, kids traveling to another world, in this case, another time. Yet Infinity Ring is going to speak to todays young teens. The book is fun and moves quickly and holds your attention. Within the book the main characters (all in their teens) solve word and picture puzzles to know what they are supposed to do. I found this highly engaging as I love puzzles and wanted to figure out the clues right along with them!

While the 8-14 year old will enjoy this book, parents can be thrilled that they are getting in a little history as well. Dashner as sprinkled this story with historical facts about the places they visit. When the book is done, the front flap of the book has a secret panel that the reader is to open only after they have finished the book. I can not tell you what is behind the flap... I can tell you that it is super cool. :D

And finally, I think what is also going to excite the readers is the online game that goes with the book(s) where you can go and work the puzzles out yourself and solve the breaks, just like the characters do in the book!

Not only did I really enjoy the multi dimensions of the book, I love the fact that this will be a series of books that will be written by different authors and continue the story. The book was fairly short but I think that is a good length for the age of the reader and it will leave them wanting more.

Recommended! Can't wait to read more of Dashner!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 39 Clues Fans will LOVE this!, December 18, 2012
This review is from: Infinity Ring Book 1: A Mutiny in Time (Hardcover)
This is a great start to what promises to be an AWESOME new children's book series by Scholastic! The book is attention grabbing and action-packed, and I enjoyed the book as an adult.

What I really loved about the book was the "extras" such as the secret flap containing a map/guide for the NEXT book in the series, as well as the online component.

My 11 year old daughter enjoyed the book very much as well, and we are both looking forward to reading the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Once Upon a Twilight.com Reviews, September 6, 2012
By 
This review is from: Infinity Ring Book 1: A Mutiny in Time (Hardcover)
James Dashner is one of the main reasons why I really enjoy reading. The fact that he can take a kid's book and make it entertaining for a 16 year old high school guy is quite an accomplishment in my book. Based in a darker version of America, Infinity Ring starts off with best friends Dak and Sera who live in a world filled with problems. First there are the environmental problems with the likes of earthquakes, volcanoes, and other global catastrophes. Then there's the mysterious SQ corporation that seems to own just about everything including the world governments. All of these things are just normal everyday happenings for Dax. Now Dax has very special parents who are scientists and one day Dax and Sera sneak into their lab to discover a time machine. This sends them on an historical journey filled with excitement. In Infinity Ring James Dashner does a great job of simply telling a story. Meant for a younger age group, the book doesn't have any deep or intellectual moments, but reads like it's supposed to read, which is funny and entertaining. Definitely a book to give to a young kid who is looking for a new and very entertaining series to read. - Joshua
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun and adventurous read, November 8, 2012
This review is from: Infinity Ring Book 1: A Mutiny in Time (Hardcover)
A Mutiny in Time is a story about 3 kids who travel back in time to fix history before the world ends. I liked the twist in this story that unlike traditional time-travel stories, they are supposed to change things. The historic details that aren't accurate amused me. I think a lot of kids would be clever enough to know whose faces should really be on Mount Rushmore. It would have been fun to see and learn more history (I mean besides the random facts that came out of Dak). The characters and their quirks made me chuckle. One thing I didn't get was why the villain wanted to destroy the world?? Her motivations weren't really clear to me, but I'm hoping that we'll find out more about the bad guys (aka the SQ) and their motivations later on in the series. Wanting power for power's sake does not make interesting villains. Other than that, the author did a good job with playing with your expectations a little with a nice action-filled plot. The story was a lot of fun, adventurous, and didn't feel predictable.

Game Review

One of the really fun things about this book is the online game component. The book comes with a map that has clues to help with the game. It also had a lot of cool facts from history presented in a nice way. The game was simple, fun, and full of puzzles and mini-missions. I did find the wagon mini-mission to be very finnicky and a little tedious, but I enjoyed the game overall and played it over a few days. Just FYI - the game is an app as well as on the Internet, but they don't sync up. Meaning however far you get on one doesn't transfer over to the other. But otherwise the game is exactly the same whether you play it on your phone or the internet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fast paced action and endearing characters, September 14, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Infinity Ring Book 1: A Mutiny in Time (Hardcover)
The "Infinity Ring" is a time-travel" science fiction novel written and marketed for the "Young Adult" audience. I feel confident that young teen readers who have not been exposed to "adult" time-travel novels or stop to think about some of the unpinning concepts presented in the story will enjoy the fast paced action and the endearing characters. The author, James Dasher, write with sly humor. As you would expect all adult characters are looked upon with suspect by the highly intelligent teens. The story takes a while to introduce the cast of characters and the several organizations that propel the narrative. In fact the opening part of the book is confusing in that organizations - Hystorians, SQ - and concepts - Remnants - Great Breaks - are mentioned but never defined. It would be very helpful if there were a brief appendix with short biographical sketch of the characters and some background concerning the concepts and organizations. Unfortunately there is no appendix, at least in Book 1.

Perceptive readers may question the impossibility of time travel. Or, wonder about the sure risk that any "tampering" whatsoever in the past would irrevocably change the future. Even more perceptive readers may question why the intrepid teens avoided traveling to the FUTURE, where presumably all issues would have already been resolved one way or the other. Some may question why the teens did not go back in time to the point before the first use of the Infinity Ring and inform Dak's parents that they would be "lost in time' as a result of that initial experiment - so don't proceed!

There are a considerable number of barefaced declaration, all critically important to the story, made with no justification or rationalization. For example the author states that the murder of Alexander the Great by the King's father-in-law is the original "Great Break" in history that initiates the whole snowball effect of future changes. Sound interesting, but inquiring minds may ask just why is this so, what makes that particular event so pivotal to the whole future of mankind. Convince me Mr. Dashner why I should believe this is so. In my oppinion the essence of a good science fiction story is based upon the author's knack in persuading the readers to suspend their disbelief, and to encourage us by explanations, however far fetched, that the version of events presented could happen. There must be a thread, however thin, of narrative credability to the underlying theme of the story. It is absent in this book.

It is apparent that the editorial team at Scholastic drew up a detailed outline for a series of books to maximize sales and merchandise tie-ins. Just in case the series becomes a run away best seller all seven books will be written by different authors. That will prevent James Dashner from morphing into a J.K. Rowling with the result being escalating demands for increased author royalties. Seven books in a series written by seven different authors...interesting. I think I'll wait for the inevitable video game, movie and TV series instead of reading volumes 2 through 7.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, January 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I Really liked this book, but I've read better. If you like the 39 clues, you will like this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get ready to experience a whole new way of reading!, September 12, 2012
By 
KidsReads (New York, NY) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Infinity Ring Book 1: A Mutiny in Time (Hardcover)
The future is not what it's supposed to be. Weather patterns have grown increasingly irregular and wreak havoc all across the world. Everything is controlled by the SQ, a mysterious organization that keeps a tight lock on everything and everyone. And it's getting worse. All signs point to the Cataclysm, an event so terrible that it will destroy the entire world. The only way to prevent it is to go back in time and fix the Great Breaks, events in history that somehow went wrong. The only way to go back in time is with the Infinity Ring, a time-traveling device that no one knows how to use.

Enter Dak and Sera, a couple of kids you might never expect to be in the world-saving business. Dak Smyth is a self-described nerd who eats up history like it's going out of style. His mind is filled with numerous historical facts and events, even if he did learn the SQ version of history. Sera has a thing for quantum physics and can't help but be intrigued by a theory as impossible as time-travel. Therefore, when presented with the Infinity Ring by Dak's parents, her little mind kicked into gear and finally unlocked its secret. In the process, the Infinity Ring was encoded to only recognize Dak, Sera and Dak's parents as operators and, subsequently, the only ones who could use it to travel back in time.

So Dak, Sera and Dak's parents decide to try it out and travel back to the American Revolution. The trip, though, doesn't go as neatly as planned. Some British soldiers see them, and when they try to escape, Dak's parents go missing. This little trip also attracts the attention of the Hystorians, a group of individuals devoted to fixing the Great Breaks in history. At first, they are hesitant to help out. After all, Dak really wants to find his parents. But when the Hystorian headquarters is attacked, they are forced into traveling back to the first Great Break with Riq, an older boy good with languages.

Dak, Sera and Riq eventually figure out that the first Great Break deals with the year 1492 and a man named Christopher Columbus. History, at least SQ history, doesn't paint Columbus in a positive light, and it's up to Dak, Sera and Riq to figure out what the Great Break is or else risk the fiery Cataclysm.

Much like in the vein of the 39 Clues series, THE INFINITY RING will span seven books and be written by six different celebrated authors. Each installment will examine a pivotal moment in world history, and to top it all off, readers can enjoy a multiplatform online component. The online game has expanded greatly in that readers can play on their phones, tablets and computers, and also take on the role of the book's main characters to play games, solve puzzles, and learn history all at the same time. The online component also greatly expands from the books and will feature new and exciting content that parallels what you read in the book. Get ready to experience a whole new way of reading!

Reviewed by Benjamin Boche
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best book ever, February 27, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book was my favorite book ever it was so amazingly good
I could not stop reading it
Best book ever
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars any time travelers around?, February 23, 2014
This review is from: Infinity Ring Book 1: A Mutiny in Time (Hardcover)
All time travelers, look no further. This is just the book you need to find out how Dak and Sera got the infinity ring functional and how Riq joined them on their quest. This is the guide you need to know everything about their quest. There are other sequels of this series but this one tells you everything you need to make the other books make sense and find out why you need to fix the great breaks. This also shows you how they got their translating devise for different languages. This is a book which needs a liking for time travel and adventure!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Infinity ring a mutiny in time, November 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I could have not've read this book at all and not be totally ( all of the sudden, too) sucked into this book series and history. But I did read it. So I declare this book a one of a kind!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Infinity Ring Book 1: A Mutiny in Time
Infinity Ring Book 1: A Mutiny in Time by James Dashner (Hardcover - August 28, 2012)
$12.99 $11.07
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.