Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Project Management book; I passed CAPM
Ten years ago, I used Kathy Schwalbe's Information Technology Project Management, 2e to teach a college special topics course. It provided great coverage of the five process groups and nine knowledge areas of project management (as described in the PMBOK Guide).

Recently, I read Information Technology Project Management, 6e to prepare for renewing my CAPM...
Published on November 3, 2011 by --d.w.

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Well worded fluff
This book is obviously written by someone tenured. It's written as if she is looking for a pat on the back from her peers. "Way to go, that is exactly the way I would write this book." Basically, if you already know all there is to Project Management, and everything there is to know about using Microsoft Project, Then maybe you will get this book. Otherwise, depending on...
Published 18 months ago by Mooneierah


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Well worded fluff, May 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Information Technology Project Management, Revised (with Premium Online Content Printed Access Card) (Paperback)
This book is obviously written by someone tenured. It's written as if she is looking for a pat on the back from her peers. "Way to go, that is exactly the way I would write this book." Basically, if you already know all there is to Project Management, and everything there is to know about using Microsoft Project, Then maybe you will get this book. Otherwise, depending on the class or certification you need this book for, you almost need another to explain how to use the materials required by this book. And the appendix is practically worthless. I learned everything about using Project from Google. I learned most of what this book tried to convey by reading other articles and books dealing with the same subject matter. And those were only a fraction of the length and were written so a STUDENT could grasp it easily. The book is not written for students...and in my opinion should not be required reading by any academic facility that did not have other subsequent material accompanying it, or has prerequisite covering the things one would need to know in order to use this text efficiently.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible Book for a Class, April 27, 2014
By 
Larry Caudell (Phoenix, AZ, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Information Technology Project Management, Revised (with Premium Online Content Printed Access Card) (Paperback)
I had to use this book for a class and it is terrible. The information in each chapter is abundant yet barely covers any section. The writing is extremely boring and difficult to read. And this is after I've already completed three other classes in Project Management. The author throws in some basic Microsoft Project introduction stuff. The projects in this book are huge and there is no instruction on how to do them. They talk about the theory of something, and then the project just says do it. No step by step, no building block steps, nothing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars save money, use common sense, April 9, 2013
This review is from: Information Technology Project Management, Revised (with Premium Online Content Printed Access Card) (Paperback)
This book was about 80% common sense, 10% fluff, and 10% helpful information. Lots of information is presented in list format ("Here are the six main processes...") as if that is supposed to make the material easier to remember, but instead it just makes it duller to read. This would have been a decent 100 page book, but it was just too repetitive and took too many roundabout ways to make a point that anyone who has ever worked in an office environment probably considers common sense anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Painful to Read, October 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Information Technology Project Management, Revised (with Premium Online Content Printed Access Card) (Paperback)
I went back to school for another degree, and this book was required for a project management course. Although it does contain some good information, I found it agonizing to read. Most of it is common sense, and they repeat the same concepts over and over. As far as actual material, you could have cut the book down to 1/3 of its total length without sacrificing content. This may be due to my background in this field, but I found it very painful and repetitive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Project Management book; I passed CAPM, November 3, 2011
This review is from: Information Technology Project Management, Revised (with Premium Online Content Printed Access Card) (Paperback)
Ten years ago, I used Kathy Schwalbe's Information Technology Project Management, 2e to teach a college special topics course. It provided great coverage of the five process groups and nine knowledge areas of project management (as described in the PMBOK Guide).

Recently, I read Information Technology Project Management, 6e to prepare for renewing my CAPM certification. I was absolutely delighted to find the case studies, chapter endnotes, and other references to be up to date with current technology (this is not easy!). The accompanying web site has most of the information that was removed from intermediate editions and it has lots of new, interesting information for extra exploration. Even the best students will not exhaust this.

Today, I passed the CAPM with flying colors and with an hour to spare largely due to Schwalbe's excellent book.

If anything, Schalwbe is comprehensive. Her government experience, her consulting experience, and her teaching experience make this book what it is -- a practical presentation of project management [In the Acknowledgments she writes, "I have a passion for educating future leaders of the world ..." Do most teachers want to be evaluated on their student's performance? ] Both students and practitioners will benefit from it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars On Time On Line oookay Fine, July 24, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Information Technology Project Management, Revised (with Premium Online Content Printed Access Card) (Paperback)
Excellent response! Literature in good condition, best price for a used item but whoa..... what happened to the cd with the software and access card advertised?
Oh well so far it doesn't appear Ill need it in my class. Otherwise ooookay...fine
Thanks for being there when I needed you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good PMI based project management text, October 27, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Information Technology Project Management, Revised (with Premium Online Content Printed Access Card) (Paperback)
I ordered this for an... well IT Project Management class. A lot of the information is just straight PMP/PMI guidance, but Schwalbe does elaborate on some of it and gives many case studies and examples. I found it a bit dry, but then it is a text book. PMI relates to any project management situation, but Schwalbe directs the PMI guidance into specific IT examples and notes considerations that other project managers may not be interested in or have to deal with.
I wouldn't use this to study for the PMP since the information isn't always clearly defined as PMI standards and it's an intense (and expensive) test. However, combined with the PMBOK guide, this will definitely help managers in the tech field to get a better grasp of what PMI project management means to IT projects. If all you want is PMP certification just get the PMBOK guide, or join PMI and get an electronic copy of the guide and access to a lot more as well.

If you're new to this, as I was when first taking my course, rest assured that PMP certification is a big deal, and PMI training and courses (such as where this book would be found) are assuredly industry desired. It won't get you a job and PMP is not an entry level certification, but the knowledge you get from this book will contribute a lot to an IT business career.

The book comes with a DVD 90 day trial of MS Project 2010, and a reasonably long intro to using the software is included in the appendix (updated for Project 2010). Microsoft may also offer trial downloads and most academic institutions have access to MSDN Academic Alliance or other similar software trial/education use SLAs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Boring classroom text, February 11, 2013
By 
Lonnie (Lake County, IL USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Information Technology Project Management, Revised (with Premium Online Content Printed Access Card) (Paperback)
I had to buy this for a class. I am sure it is a decent textbook, but really it offers no additional information over the PMBOK. Plus the price is outrageous and they put you on the hook by requiring a companion CD that only works for the original purchaser. I never activated mine hoping to be able to resell. But, anytime an author or publishing company is that greedy to stunt resales, it rubs me the wrong way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Tedious, July 27, 2012
This review is from: Information Technology Project Management, Revised (with Premium Online Content Printed Access Card) (Paperback)
This was the textbook for a college course I took. In ten plus years of college, this was by far the most tedious, repetitive, formulaic book I have ever read. That said, I'm sure it would be beneficial to someone looking to do one of the PM certifications.

The online content is thin and the audio is nothing that is not already in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars ok, May 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Information Technology Project Management, Revised (with Premium Online Content Printed Access Card) (Paperback)
if you are going to get this get the seventh edition that is what is being taught in colleges and university's right now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Information Technology Project Management, Revised (with Premium Online Content Printed Access Card)
$161.95 $138.84
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.