Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Technical Death Metal the way I like it!, February 16, 2012
This review is from: Inherited Repression (Audio CD)
I have enjoyed getting into psycroptic over the past few years, but this album is definitely my favourite - its solid, it has extreme parts and nice guitar, but doesnt disappear into to much out of control jazz-jamming like guitar work which some other technical death metal albums succumb to - very pleased with this album and one that i will be listening to alot
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not obServant, but still awesome!, March 28, 2012
This review is from: Inherited Repression (Audio CD)
This is a great album, but if you've heard obServant, you know what youi're going to get. No surprises. They may have structured their songs out a little differently, but nothing drastic. But that's just fine. These guys can shred with the best of them. In fact, they are easily my favorite "tech" death band. Most tech death bands are just too spastic with no groove. Most of their riffs are like solos. But Psycroptic has this thrashy riffing that is just bad-ass. They flat out rock on this album. I think their vocals are perfect also. It's not the deep growl that everybody else does. It's more of a shouting scream kind of thing. It just fits perfect. The death growls sound wrong for tech death music IMO. That's one of the reasons I don't love Necrophagist and Decrepit Birth as much. The vocalist sounds bored compared to all the chaos going on with the music. So either way, you need to pick this up. Buy everything by these guys! You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A solid album by the best tech death metal band, February 29, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Inherited Repression (Audio CD)
Could Psycroptic top themselves with their new album? The answer unfortunately is a resounding no. I used to think that Ob(Servant) was one of the best albums of 2008, now I'm convinced it's among the best metal albums of all time. I've been listening continuously to it since 2008 and I still can't get enough of it.

Psycroptic made us wait 4 years for a new album and the result is underwhelming, not just in comparison to the overwhelmingly brilliant Ob(Servant), but taken on its own merits, starting with the boring cover art that can't hold a candle to the fascinating cover of Ob(Servant).

Those who were critical of Ob(Servant) ought to be satisfied. All of their criticism have been addressed in The Inherited Repression. The songs are slower, simpler, the structure clearer. The vocals are also simpler, not as varied, and downright reduced. The drums have more punch and depth.

But none of these changes constitute improvements. The composition is far less interesting. It's a somewhat lighter version of Psycroptic. Gone is the dizzying compositional wealth we've seen in all other albums. After listening to a couple of songs, a pattern emerges- there's a high pitch guitar lick followed by a rushing down and up a scale. And this takes place in most songs. The licks are 3 or 4 notes only and sound even somewhat silly as in the high bent notes of Euphorinasia and From Scribe to Ashes. The problem is that it's too "simplistic" for Psycroptic and I don't mean to diminish the complexity of Joe's playing here. We have gotten used to hearing a treasure of musicianship in every song. Also, high notes never sound all that good in death metal and here there is far too much high pitch guitar work going on- not particularly brutal. Things improve when Joe Haley strums some chords but those moments are far too few. More melodicity is there, but rhythm which is essential in good metal is almost entirely absent. There aren't a whole lot of headbanging moments. I can't see these songs being a blast to hear performed live.

Mention Psycroptic and invariably someone will whine about the vocals. It's a ridiculous complaint as Jason Peppiat's vocals aren't all that different from their previous vocalist and the changes in vocals were suited to the music. Here, they too are simplified, there are no more screams, or changes in tone. They rather sound far too monotone. Not only that but they don't match the music anymore. Lots of chunks of songs are free of vocals. But those are the wrong parts. There are times where the vocals sound superflous and times where you wish there were some.

The live DVD/CD Initiation already hinted at a very disturbing change in the drum sound which is fulfilled in this new album. Some criticized the drum sound in Ob(Servant) as being "overtriggered." That makes no sense but the sound was perfect for Dave Haley, who I consider one the greatest drummers of all time. Someone who plays with the precision, variety, and speed of Haley needs to have a sound that is well-defined and separate from the rest of the instruments. Every tom and cymbal ought to sound clear and distinct. Here the snare and bass drums are completely drowned by the music. Dave is a genius with cymbals, but here they are completely indistinguishable. What happened to the ride and high hat? Is that a splash, china, or a crash? You can't tell, it all has a washed out sound. You can always hear some cymbal at most times yet you never hear the impact of the drum stick on the cymbal. In Ob(Servant) you could clearly distinguish every move made by Dave. In The Inherited Repression you have to strain your ears to make out what he's doing. That might be OK if you have a mediocre drummer, but when you have a master, it's criminal to wash the drum sound away. He might be doing great work, it's just so hard to tell.

There is one improvement though in this album and it's the guitar sound. It sounds even juicier than before. Ob(Servant) may have been Dave's moment to shine. In the Inherited Repression, Joe gets his moment. Not that the guitar was in the shadow of the drums in the previous album. In this one however, the mix clearly aims to favor the guitar at the expense of the drums. There are plenty of memorable guitar moments, and only one memorable drum moment- the simple yet cool beginning of Forward to Submission, reminiscent of Carcass' Ruptured in Purulence.

Cameron Grant's bass remains the one reliable constant, still not given the preponderance he deserves. Is it so hard in death metal to give the bass a better mix?

(Ob)Servant remains the high point in Psycroptic's career. The Inherited Repression would have made a good predecessor to it not a successor. Carriers of The Plague and The Throne of Kings are perhaps the richest songs. Deprivation and The Sleepers Have Awoken constitute a good conclusion to the album. However, there is no one song that particularly stands out as for example the irresistible tour-de-force (Ob)Servant did. The Inherited Repression is a fantastic album for technical death metal standards. For Psycrotic standards, it doesn't have the same impact as their previous work. Psycroptic remains the only technical death metal band worth listening to. Their work is of the highest technical quality and yet they manage to be highly listenable. To get the most of The Inherited Repression though you'll need some high quality speakers/headphones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars these Tasmanian dudes abso-fing-lutely destroy with these tracks, February 12, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Inherited Repression (Audio CD)
The production is ideal for this material, the guitar tone is incredible, the powerful death metal vox are fairly straight forward and vary slightly between three different styles with focus on a hardcore tortured howl, the guitar and drums put them in the elite of technical musicians, the composition is mostly brilliant with excellent dynamics and space as well as providing that wall of sound you want to impact you until the hair raises on your neck, the transitions work well between the barrage of riffs. My favorites are Carriers Of The Plague, Euphorinasia, Become The Cult, and The Sleepers Have Awoken. There is no filler and even if some of the riffs don't work for you, wait a few measures and you'll be back in the groove which this record has plenty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I like mine, December 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Inherited Repression (Audio CD)
This is an awesome CD. I'm new to this band. The album is chock full of fantastic guitar work, as well as the rest of the band-work. I like their sound. You shouldn't be disappointed if you have any curiosity about them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars psycroptic, September 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Inherited Repression (Audio CD)
Discovered this band from a friend of mine - around the time symbols of failure came out. I have been into them ever since. this album is different, but still good - showing every element of the bands sound in the past. Keep up the good work .....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OMG, May 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Inherited Repression (Audio CD)
Psychroptic still kills. Observant was/is mind boggling, but this latest CD does not let you down. These guys just amaze me --drums, guitar, vocals, all tight. Hell, the bass player throws in some great stuff as well --although hard to hear....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tazmania represent, June 16, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
They're best listen to date. I love this band. They play melodic technical death metal. Their musicianship is superb. I'm planning on visting they're home country to see if they can play live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars do you want technical death metal, this is one the best album that you can ask!!!!, April 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Inherited Repression (Audio CD)
simply amazing, riffs are awesome, all tracks are awesome, I'm glad after some years I listened to this gem and I just love every single track, great album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, April 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Inherited Repression (Audio CD)
Good music, I like the album. I like all of their albums. They are a great band. Fast and technical.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Inherited Repression
Inherited Repression by Psycroptic (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.