Customer Reviews


72 Reviews
5 star:
 (59)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


124 of 126 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Practical, effective introduction (blows away the myths)
Before "Inner Work" I had read a few other dream interpretation books all of which basically described certain recurring dream images and labelled them with a limited definition: basically they were the "Teacher's Edition" to understanding your dreams with the answers in the back. I never understood how an image, say a snake or falling, could be...
Published on April 29, 2001 by Blake S.

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not an easy read
It's a great book but i must confess that it's not an easy read. I only recommend this book for those who wants to explore Jungian dreamworks but not for the lay reader.
Published 5 months ago by Adrian Low


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

124 of 126 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Practical, effective introduction (blows away the myths), April 29, 2001
By 
Blake S. (Alberta, Canada) - See all my reviews
Before "Inner Work" I had read a few other dream interpretation books all of which basically described certain recurring dream images and labelled them with a limited definition: basically they were the "Teacher's Edition" to understanding your dreams with the answers in the back. I never understood how an image, say a snake or falling, could be interpreted in basically the same way by so many different people. Johnson explains why you can't. Images are personal and have to be interpreted by the dreamer and Johnson describes how to use "active imagination" to not only figure out what your dreams mean but how they can help along your life journey. This book really helped me tap into the "invisible" part of my consciousness and make practical, healthy changes in my life and prayer. His comparison of archetypes (universally shared images) and personal symbols was most appreciated. Complex ideas are explained in a way that any neophyte to dream analysis can understand and apply to your own life. Johnson explains how to make practical and physical changes by conversing with your dreams.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


66 of 66 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4-Steps to Understanding Your Mind At Sleep, January 7, 2014
In my efforts to understand and deal with my child's nightmares, I have found respite in Robert Johnson's Inner Work. I have trusted his books for some time because he has a gift for using Jungian principles and keeping things simple. By using archetypal comparisons rather than personal anecdotes, his approach to teaching you how to explore dreams is direct and unbiased. He offers an overview of necessary terms and reminds us (quoting from Carl Jung) that "God speaks in dream."

This book does not claim to be the ultimate book on dream analysis but it gives you the tools to explore your unconscious in his 4-step to Active Imagination. His approach to understanding symbols empowers you to make your own definitions and associations, rather than telling you what they mean universally, because everyone is different - and that is so the case with my daughter.

If you are looking to develop the understanding your mind at sleep, this is a great introduction. I would also suggest The Nightmare Solution for other approaches on working out your dreams and We, He, and She by Robert Johnson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


138 of 145 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How following the guidelines helped through a dilema, March 21, 1999
By 
crc@dtls.com (Albuquerque, NM) - See all my reviews
One night I had a dream that I was a pitcher on a softball team. My older brother was playing first base and yelling abusive things about me like, "Get him out of there! He don't know what he's doing!" I went to pitch the ball, drew my arm back and saw someone standing between the pitchers mound and home plate. He had on a ball cap and was standing with his head down so I couldn't identify who it was. I couldn't pitch with him there. That is where the dream ended. The following evening I decided to follow some of the suggestions from Inner Work and see if the identity of "the man in the way" would be revealed. I went back and relived the dream. At the point I was ready to pitch the ball, I stopped and walked up to him. I asked him to reveal to me who he was. He slowly raised his head and I found myself staring into my own face. I realized form that experience that I was "standing in my own way!" I asked myself to move out of the way, and went back to pitch the game. Previously I had thought it was the messages embedded in my psychic memory from verbally abusive types, particularly my older brother. This work revealed to me where the problem really originated. Since this work I have been able to return to school, recieve a degree in Fine Art, and am now embarking on publication of a book of my artwork. I have moved out of my own way as a result of the suggestions from this book. I highly recommend this for anyone wishing to resolve specific problems in their life. I gave it 5 stars. See them here *****.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


92 of 98 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dreams, July 10, 2001
By 
Everyone, I'm told, has dreams during sleep whether they are remembered or not. Some people dream in color (I do), others in black and white only. Robert Johnson's book on Inner Work is just that, a book that is a guide to finding and communicating with the inner self - the true you. Our lives are so fragmented today, we are all encouraged to "multi-task" - housewives frequently talk on the phone while doing the dishes, busy executives shave while driving; other people type on laptop computers while flying to a destination. I believe that some of our time-saving measures are cheating us out of living in reality - of enjoying this present moment.
Robert Johnson encourages his readers to take the time to establish communication with the inner self, to find out what obstacles exist to accomplishing life-goals; to discover the steps that must be taken; to deal with underlying fears; to strengthen foundations and build new bridges to deeper levels of the unconscious self,and then release the energy that needs expression. It truly is a journey of Inner Work.
I am still in the process of reading and working through this book. I'm sure it'll take a while longer, but it's been worth every bit of the time I've spent on it. I am changed, I am different, the quality of my life is richer, and I am definitely more in touch with who I am, with my current existence and presence.
This book is a must for anyone whose life has whirled into the outer limits. Take the time and do it properly. You have everything to gain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


97 of 105 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Introverted Intuitive's Dream!, September 2, 2001
It is difficult to imagine how powerful this small book is. Granted, it is probably most appealing to intuitives and introverts, like myself, but for us, it is like manna from heaven. Johnson has such a gift for putting things simply. The book can be read quickly but may well take a lifetime to permeate your consciousness. As a professional astrologer, VisionCoach and expert Tarot symbolist, one of the most frequent questions I am asked by old and new clients is this: "I had this dream, Nancy. What does it mean?" In spite of ongoing research on my part, personally leading dream groups and reading the new books that come out each year, I always return to Johnson's classic. He's said it all. I think "Inner Work" is, quite simply, the best book ever written about dream interpretation. Each of our dreams is as personal as our fingerprints. If you are an extravert, you may not dream often or you may dream the kind of dreams that are just processing the minute business of the day. At least once in awhile, though, even the most extraverted of us has a Major Dream, a dream that wakes us with a cold sweat or a warm pulse. What does this mean? What is communicating here? Why to you? And why NOW? Johnson's book puts all these questions squarely back on your own shoulders for answerung, for ... inner work!! But don't worry, he doesn't just drop you off in the middle of the nowhere without a map. This book contains all the information you need to become an expert at interpreting your own dreams. This is important because, as the great Swiss transcendental psychologist Carl Jung wrote, "God speaks in dream."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Wisdom Inside, July 13, 2003
This wonderful book is clear and practical, and really goes to the point. It instructs you and helps you at two levels: first it explains how our dreams and imagination function as a link between our conscious and unconscious lives; then it goes on to instruct the reader on how to learn from this link and how to build a fruitful and lifelong dialogue between these two spheres of being. In order to achieve the latter, the author shows us, with clear examples, the way to understand our dreams and to use our imagination and so find the wisdom that we all have inside. Although this all sounds like any other self-help book, here the author never means to sound witty, empty or artificially triumphant. He promises nothing and makes sure we understand that what he is telling us is nothing new: many cultures use these same methods for the psychological, spiritual well-being of people. But we happen to be living in a time and culture that have lost the sense of inner life.Reading this book is like listening to the words of a loving teacher, who knows things because "he has been there before".Well-written and packed with no-nonsense spirituality, without losing touch with the world where we live or our common sense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For dream interpretation,this is THE book!, December 20, 1999
I was relatively new to dream interpretation and Active Imagination, when this book was recommended to me by some therapists. It is the most comprehensive book I've read on the subject. In simple language with detailed examples, dream interpretation is made easy with Johnson's 4-step approach. I've gotten more out of my dreams with the help of this book than with any other book I've ever used. It is simply FANTASTIC! You MUST read this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars definitive work on dream tending, April 6, 2009
Quotes from the book:
"The conscious mind is but a cork bobbing on the sea of the unconscious mind."
"It is through dreams that the unconscious mind speaks to the conscious mind."

If those quotes hit you hard, then this book is most definitely for you.

"Inner Work" is by far the best do-it-yourself dream analysis book extant. No image dictionaries, no rules that apply to all situations, no guides to symbols... as it should be. We are as different on the inside as we are on the outside. Johnson is widely regarded by Jungian analysts as a master of dream work and active imagination. Since I started this book my life has changed enormously. Dreams are no longer just video dumps of the day's activity mixed with meaningless images and symbols; they are masterpieces of symbolic communication.

Make no mistakes, the work you will do as a result of reading this book is hard, and it requires much moral courage. If you have that and the discipline to do the work, you will be richly rewarded: your life will change for the better. You will grow, you will integrate the unconscious with the conscious, and you will live a more fulfilling life than you otherwise could have ever lived.

My Amazon books about money: A Return to Abundance, Book 1: Money and happiness, abundance and prosperity, money and the unconscious mind: a mythological, psychological, historical, and family of origin look at money & its power
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On the unconscious, June 23, 2004
By A Customer
I have previously read only one book on dream interpretation and think this one is excellent. I've always steered away from dream interpretation because I thought they were too mental for me. I am by nature an intellectual and caught up in daydreaming most of the time anyway. But Johnson tells me to bring feeling and body into the interpretation process, and that I like.
He also warned against passive daydreaming concerning any real person for they will feel something over the collective unconscious. Compared inner work to marching around the walls of Jericho -- conquering a psychic center might take years of persistent work.
All in all: simple and concise. I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Self-recongition Through Dream Analysis, June 16, 1999
By A Customer
I read it a year and a half ago... his writing is lucid, and his style is 'warm'-- Whatever science has to say about dream physiology is very interesting, though the cognitive scientific perspective is inherently reductionistic -- that's the way science is. My opinions are polarized when it comes to dream analysis/interpretation, for science has debunked the validity of many 'intuitive' methods used to obtain insight into the inner-workings of human psychology. I must admit, however, that dreams -- regardless of whether or not they can be explained away as random access neural phenomena (the current cognitive scientific perspective regarding dreams) -- can still reveal memories, emotions, and so on, that are not readily accessible to everyday consciousness. For this reason dreams will never be demythologized, regardless of scientific inquiry. This is why I think dream analysis is important. Whether or not our 'interpretations' are accurate doesn't really matter, for it is the process of analysis, of looking at a part of the 'self' that would otherwise be neglected, that is most essential. In this way Jungian dream analysis, adapted by Johnson, is much like surfacing the unconscious abyss, making it accessible to consciousness. Thus, Robert Johnon's Inner Works is one of the better dream-related books on the market-- I recommend it to anyone who is interested in learning a methodology that will extend self-recognition into the dream-wrold.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Inner Work
Inner Work by Robert A. Johnson
$10.23
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.