Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Innocents Lost
Safety Month botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Explore Premium Audio Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks STEM Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars29
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 12, 2011
This was the first book by Michael McBride that i read. I'd seen his name for a while on the various horror places, like Horror Mall and such and decided to give him a try. And i was glad i did. Innocents Lost is a well written, hard-core, gruesome, not for the faint of heart, mystery novel with a touch of the supernatural. Horror fans and well as crime fans will like this book. McBride doesnt pull any punches and you may be surprised by some of the events. Highly recommended.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 31, 2014
I can't say that I enjoyed reading this book because it was a rather painful experience reading about the death of so many children in such a morbid manner. It is yet a story which could take place in this country without the element of soul exchange for the reason to kill so many children. People kill for no reason at all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 28, 2012
Mr. McBride's work has begun to feature a cookie-cutter sameness, new monster, different day. This novel departs markedly from the format, and is the author's best work to date. The novel features gore, scares, the tragedy of disappearing children, and a touch of the supernatural. Superb writing and good editing.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon August 27, 2013
Author, Michael McBride just terrified me half to death with this story along with his characters..This was creative, original, heartbreaking, bloody, and gorey supernatural/psychological thriller..Non-stop page turner all the way to the gruesome ending..I guess I felt the same way "Wow"..(This is a novel for hardcore horror fans..Not for weak stomaches...So, I warned you)...This author's stories are so well researched with science, geology, astronomy, and ancient history that these plots seem almost plausible...Though to others they can be far fetched, but yet you can connect the dots..When I am done reading one of his books it's very hard for me to even write a review because I understand everything that this author is conveying..I don't know if it is because of my medical background or my studies with different cultures..Thats why you never see a review from me hardly on his books because I am always left speechless..

A crazy elusive psycho has been abducting children for years never to be seen or heard from again...FBI Agent, Philip Preston will become involved when the killer seeks him out for a terrifying game of cat and mouse..But is there another underlying motive..There will be a distinct pattern, certain numbers, electromagnetic activity, involve the Summer Solstice and ancient, North American Indian, "Medicine Wheels"...Freemont County Sheriff, Keith Dandridge will be called upon to a crime scene of massive graves near the rocks of a Medicine Wheel and what they discover is unspeakable..Together Preston and Dandridge have one thing in common and it's severely heartbreaking..They will not stop until they catch this monster "stealer of souls" and bring vengeance for the "Innocents Lost".....

"Medicine Wheels" were used for healing rituals and represented the "cycle of life"..What if that was really all a myth and used for other evil designs
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 9, 2014
This was a well written book that kept me in an uneasy state of guessing right through to the last scene. Taut-nerved, edge-of-your-seat suspense moves the story along at a breathless pace. McBride works a masterful job weaving shadowy supernatural elements into an already frighteningly fascinating crime drama. Narrator Nick J Russo handled characters dealing with horrific, tense situations while keeping me entranced with the story. I advise not listening to this in the house alone at night, but, that said, an excellent way to spend a fall evening safely at home.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2015
4.5 stars!

This audiobook was brutal! Seriously, when I say that, you know it's brutal.

Setting that aside for a moment, this book was extremely well written. There were a few times I wished that I could highlight certain passages. I also thought the narrator was good, though I was not fond of the voice he used for the first villain. Other than that I enjoyed his performance.

Back to the brutality, It's not torture porn, (because I mostly avoid that type of thing), but brutal as far as children are concerned. Violence towards children is very hard to read about and, as it turns out, it's even harder to listen to. A few times I was extremely surprised that the scenes turned out the way they did. REALLY, there were some jaw dropping moments.

In spite of the sometimes difficult scenes, the narrative was fantastic. As far as villains go, this book contains the best I've seen in quite some time.

To summarize, this audio book was very, very good. It's brutal, but well written and fast paced. The author deftly handles a few different viewpoints and the reader is compelled to finish the book and finish it NOW. I think this book would work well in print or as I "read" it, in audio.

Highly recommended to horror readers that can handle this type of violence.

*Michael McBride provided a free copy of the audio book through Audible in exchange for an honest review. This is it.*
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 31, 2016
I'm having a little difficulty understanding the positive reviews for this book. It's full of clichéd, one-dimensional characters with whom I couldn't relate or empathize because they never became real to me. I listened to the audio and found myself predicting and speaking aloud the storyline before it happened because it was so by-the-numbers. I realize it is difficult to break new ground in storytelling but this was like listening to the worst B-Movie. This is the second story I have done by this author and will definitely be the last.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 25, 2013
As a parent this book really pulled at my heartstrings! I wont let my children out of my sight now! This really was a sensational read. I wanted to cry so many times and scream and yell at the characters feeling their pain. It was just terrible what happened to all of those poor children. I highly recommend this book, it will change you forever.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 17, 2012
Reading this author is like watching those old horror movies where you constantly tell the characters to do something different - but they never do. "Don't go down the dark corridor" you say, but sure enough down they go. Yes, McBride can really engage a reader because he is true to the genre. This means a little predictability - but I am fine with that.

I must admit that this book genuinely disturbed me like no other. I am the father of a young girl and the description of the victim's last minutes was way too graphic for me. I had to stop reading for a day and also checked my daughter's bedroom twice through the night. I also gave her another lecture on stranger danger this morning. All because of this book! So if you are a parent and easily upset - don't even consider this book - or at least be prepared to skip some pages as I ended up doing.

It is a gritty, tragic book that was well worth the money. One thing is for certain, McBride always fulfills the author/reader contract.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 18, 2014
Innocents Lost is another tense psychological thriller from Michael McBride, with a supernatural twist and some pretty emotional hard hitting subject matter in the kidnapping and murder of innocent children.

Six years ago FBI agent Philip Preston was enjoying his daughters 10 year birthday party, in one of the most poignant and dramatic first chapters of a book I can ever remember reading, his daughter is taken and life deals a cruel twist to a man whose job it is to investigate child abduction cases.

Dr Lester Grant responds to an emailed picture of possibly the greatest anthropological discovery of a lifetime, he sets out with a bunch of his students to see if the pictures of a genuine medicine wheel could actually be real. What they discover couldn’t be any more horrific, the cairns cover the bodies of missing children from far and wide but even more disturbing is the dvd’s that accompany the bodies.

For some reason a trail is left and systematically a group of people are being led to the cairns in a very clever, deeply disturbing thriller that will ring through every parent’s soul, if you can bring yourself to read it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.