Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heather Hunter's Fiction Debut
Adult film start Heather Hunter has released her first fiction novel. Insatiable is a 300+ page novel in which Heather writes about a fictional character named Simone. The novel chronicles Simone's early years in New York and her voyage into the world of adult entertainment.

Many people reading the book may think its an autobiography due to the fact that the...
Published on July 29, 2007 by Dorrie Wheeler

versus
19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tales From The Fast Lane
If you cannot take the heat, stay out of this kitchen! In Insatiable: The Rise of a Porn Star, legendary adult film actress, Heather Hunter, takes readers into the steamy world of the porn business through the fictional character, Simone Young. At 17, Simone dives head first into the fast lane in her quest for stardom. She has dreams of becoming a rap star, but is easily...
Published on August 13, 2007 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tales From The Fast Lane, August 13, 2007
By 
If you cannot take the heat, stay out of this kitchen! In Insatiable: The Rise of a Porn Star, legendary adult film actress, Heather Hunter, takes readers into the steamy world of the porn business through the fictional character, Simone Young. At 17, Simone dives head first into the fast lane in her quest for stardom. She has dreams of becoming a rap star, but is easily lured into a life of using what she has to get what she wants: fast money and all it could buy, adoration, and opportunities to meet people who may be able to help her come up.

Money and fame come easy to the comely Simone as she moves fluidly from a life of prostitution to stripping to starring in adult films. Everything seemed to come naturally to her, and soon she is in high demand. However,she finds her life spinning out of control as she quickly learns that the industry is one that will chew you up and spit you out. Will Simone escape before it is too late?

Fans of urban fiction will undoubtedly love this book. Hunter certainly delivers plenty of details about life in the fast lane. Simone's sexual exploits are vividly recounted in ways that make you feel like a fly on the wall. The reader that likes to be entertained in those kinds of way will not be disappointed.

Personally, there were several elements of the story that did not click for me. For example, there was a lot of flowery romance novel language that stood in too stark of a contrast to the harsh, explicit language you would expect in the adult film industry. At times, it felt like I was reading two different books. Also, I would have liked to see more of an interior conversation going on. If this is ultimately supposed to be a tale of growth and redemption, we need to hear more of what Simone is feeling and thinking. I think the ending would have been more believable if we had seen some growth in the character along the way. Even as she begins to feel that she needs to escape the business, she still continues to put herself in situations where she can be used up. By the end, I do not get the sense that she will ever change. There was no lesson learned. If she is left with no other option, she will always revert to using her body to get what she wants.

Overall, for anyone that simply wants a racy read along the lines of similarly released books, this will certainly fit the bill.

Reviewed by Danielle H.
APOOO BookClub
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heather Hunter's Fiction Debut, July 29, 2007
Adult film start Heather Hunter has released her first fiction novel. Insatiable is a 300+ page novel in which Heather writes about a fictional character named Simone. The novel chronicles Simone's early years in New York and her voyage into the world of adult entertainment.

Many people reading the book may think its an autobiography due to the fact that the pages of the books are adorned with beautiful pictures of Heather Hunter. Although Heather's image (fully clothed) appears on the pages in the book, the book is not an autobiography, it's fiction. Fans of urban fiction will identify with the colorful street language.

The intimate scenes in the book are very descriptive and there are many sexual buzz words in the book. This is a book that the lighthearted might find themselves peaking at the pages due to the nature of some of the content. The book leads us through Simone's graffiti tagging teen days, to her early sexual experiences, and of course one thing leads to another. It's a very exciting story as Simone finds herself in one situation after another, without giving away too much of the story at one point she even finds herself in a hotel room with a dead man and drugs. The descriptions of Simone's time working in strip clubs is quite descriptive. So much happens in this book it could literally be two books. It's a book that you might have to digest in bits and pieces due to all of the action but it won't disappoint fans of adult entertainment and urban literature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Do You Love Yourself?, July 28, 2007
By 
The RAWSISTAZ Reviewers (RAWSISTAZ.com and BlackBookReviews.net) - See all my reviews
INSATIABLE is the fictionalized story of a young woman and her rise as one of the most sought-after African-American female porn stars. Simone decided before she ever finished high school, she wanted out of her mother's house. Feeling her mother would never support any of her endeavors, she figures out a way to move in with her close friends. She starts trying to make money by selling her body, and it isn't long before she is stripping in Atlanta. However, when a featured headliner at the strip club tells her she is a natural for porn, life for Simone completely changes.

Life as a porn star results in easy money for Simone, but it also brings loneliness and moments of self doubt. She finds herself wondering, like in the Deborah Cox song, 'How did I get here?' After being swindled, used and just tired from the partying and drug use, Simone must make a decision to change her life. The question is whether she loves herself enough to do so.

Although this is a fictionalized account of Heather Hunter's life, it is a good mirror of her experiences as Simone, the main character, was tested as she searched for enduring love, sought praise from her mother, inner peace and the ability to prove to others she is more than a sex star. The message is clear and I love that Simone recalled her mother stating education is the key to a better life. I love that random people asked if she loved herself. I love this is a cautionary tale, because although the ending is smooth, it isn't perfect and readers will recognize Simone still has room for continued growth.

The pacing of the story was fine and the flow of the tales in Simone's life were easily chronicled. There was a good dose of hedonism with behind-the-scenes look at the adult porn industry and exotic dancing. Not all the characters were developed, but they were essential in recounting Simone's journey. Those familiar with Heather Hunter will also find enclosed many pictures of the star, which for some chapters highlighted the mood of the fictional character. INSATIABLE brought to life an industry that most of us have never understood and have judged, but it also gave a human understanding on how a young person can find themselves looking for easy money to compensate for the lack of self love.

Reviewed by Cashana Seals
of The RAWSISTAZ Reviewers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Possibly the WORST attempt at literature I've ever read..., April 23, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you're looking for a horribly pathetic attempt to mix eroticism and strength of the human spirit, well, you'll still probably find this book lacking. The stories in Penthouse letters are much more worthwhile for much less cost if you want erotic. The attempts at heartwarming "look how far I've come" prose are not only lame, but hardly a good mix. It's hard to find any redeeming qualities for having killed a tree to print this junk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Erotic?, July 24, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book is not really pornographic. It seems like a Hemmingway approach to hoedome. I was expecting something different, more personal descriptions. Maybe I should have gotten something different. The book is much more about a hoe stepping out of the hood. I haven't even completed the book, having only read a few chapters. It gets old quick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too Predictable, November 4, 2007
I nthought this was going to be a good book judging by the customer reviews. The sex scenes were steamy and HOT, but the storyline was very predictable and just blah. This story did not hold my attention whatsoever. I skipped through the chapters just to read the sex scenes. If you're looking for a book to get you hot and horny this is the book for you, but if you're looking for a great storyline with enjoyable characters..skip this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected, September 10, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Insatiable: The Rise of a Porn Star (Paperback)
I purchased this book (on sale) because I was curious to see what leads a woman to become a porn star and, since I was aware of Heather Hunter, I figured why not this book. Not being long winded I will say this...I thought the book was an actual account but I was wrong. Inside the black starburst on the cover it says it's a story but somehow I had missed that. However, in one of the chapters she describes the characters doing a scene in a tree and I remember a video of hers I saw where she and the guy was in a tree so, I believe she may have taken bits and pieces from her own life. Each chapter seems to have something new to keep the story moving. There was never a point in the book where I felt it became stagnant. It's not what I expected but... still a good read for adults only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ForeverShine, August 7, 2007
just finished reading "Insatiable" it was wonderful, racy, compassionate and understanding and just a great read!
Can't wait to see if Ms. Young finds Eric!
Please make a sequel!

Forever Shine,
Beth
Chicago
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not good, September 13, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
this book couldn't hold my interest at all. Even my coworkers who I pass the book on to read didn't like it. Maybe she should stick to her day job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Just Your Average Porn In Words, June 22, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I was a little disappointed with this selection, so much so that I didn't even finish it. It's nothing more than porn with words, the story line was weak without much deviation from what she has done on video but without the visuals. Maybe if she had written a real autobiograhpy it would have been much more interesting. I realize she can't do porn forever, like athletes porn stars are only good as long as your body lasts) but she needs to find something else to do if all she can write about is porn (and uninspiring at that). I wouldn't suggest trying to stay in music either, I've heard her CD. I only hope she can figure it out before it's too late, most porn stars don't set up retirement plans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Insatiable: The Rise of a Porn Star
Insatiable: The Rise of a Porn Star by Heather Hunter (Paperback - July 8, 2008)
$19.99 $14.61
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.