Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Book About Getting A Show on TV...the Hard Way!
Simply put this is the best book about the TV industry I ever read. Most of the time we think of the 7 cast members of Gilligan's Island but once you read this book you'll forever know that Sherwood Schwartz was the reason for the show's success. Did you know that they turned the pilot down 3 times? Did you know the Executives wanted Gilligan to have a pet dinosaur...
Published on August 29, 1999 by shenderson@intranet.ca

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wrote the series great, wrote the book OK.
Inside Gilligan's Island is an interesting but not spectacular book on the creation of a television phenom. If you are a Gilligan fan it will likely be a must read. If you are not it will be a mixed bag for you.
Mr. Schwartz does a great job describing the battles to get the show made and gets the pages turning as we wonder if his series will ever be what he...
Published on April 14, 2002 by Peter Ingemi


Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Book About Getting A Show on TV...the Hard Way!, August 29, 1999
This review is from: Inside Gilligan's Island: A Three-Hour Tour Through The Making Of A Television Classic (Paperback)
Simply put this is the best book about the TV industry I ever read. Most of the time we think of the 7 cast members of Gilligan's Island but once you read this book you'll forever know that Sherwood Schwartz was the reason for the show's success. Did you know that they turned the pilot down 3 times? Did you know the Executives wanted Gilligan to have a pet dinosaur. Did you know the only reason it was canceled was some big CBS Mucky Muck wanted Gunsmoke to continue and chose the Gilligan Island time slot to put it in. Did you know TV Executives in the 60's at CBS were idiots? Read this book! God Bless Sherwood Schwartz!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars True, "No man is an Island," but Donne forgot about Gilligan, June 18, 2003
By 
Amazon Customer (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (COMMUNITY FORUM 04)   
This review is from: Inside Gilligan's Island: A Three-Hour Tour Through The Making Of A Television Classic (Paperback)
Whatever you think of "Gilligan's Island" (a classic "idiot" sitcom comes to my mind) you have to appreciate that the show's creator Sherwood Schwartz is the one that wrote "Inside Gilligan's Island." The volume promotes itself as "A three-hour tour through the making of a television classic," and within these pages fans of the show will find out where the Howells got all those clothes, learn if Gilligan and the Skipper ever got hurt when the coconuts hit them on the head, discover what was "Lovey's" real name, and shudder to find out what kind of a pet the studio almost gave Gilligan. All of the cast members, even Tina Louise, make brief appearances in the book's Forewords, and the pages are filled with the rare publicity stills you would hope to find, including some nice color shots.
"Inside Gilligan's Island" is worth reading for students of television simply for the story of how Schwartz got the show on the air in the first place, which includes the "original" calypso version of the theme song ("Off Florida coast many hundred miles, Is tropical sea full of tropic isles...") and the "complementary" casting of Dawn Wells and Tina Louise (whatever disparaging comments you may rightful inflict upon this television show the Mary Ann or Ginger choice is now a time honored right of passage for adolescent males in this country). Actually, most of the book is devoted to the story of how "Gilligan's Island" got on the air. The show does not actually do so until chapter 22 of 35. Despite all the jokes about the show, it was a hit that managed to win its time period the first three years on the air despite being on three different nights and three different time periods. The final half-dozen chapters have to do with the assorted sequels that found the Castaways rescued, dealing with the Harlem Globetrotters, and other strange fates ("Gilligan's Island: The Musical").
The result will be something of a treat for fans of the series and contain enough stories about the machinations of Hollywood to be of benefit to others as well. The first Appendix provides rather detailed synopses of the 98 episodes of "Gilligan's Island," with Schwartz even providing themes for each episode so that the reader is aware there is more than comedy going on when a crate washes into the lagoon containing a lion ("Feed the Kitty"), but a life lesson ("You can never be sure you've taken the 'wild' out of wild animals"). A second Appendix provides synopses of the various movies and specials as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Gilligan's Island Book I have ever read!!, August 21, 2000
By 
Ben Rundquist (Deer Park, WI United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Inside Gilligan's Island: A Three-Hour Tour Through The Making Of A Television Classic (Paperback)
This book is packed with information about Gilligan's Island . This book tells how Mr. Schwartz picked each member on Gilligan's Island. It to him awhile to find the right Skipper. But then he went to a resturant he found the perfect Skipper! This book is great you have to read it to put how good the book really is in words!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wrote the series great, wrote the book OK., April 14, 2002
By 
Peter Ingemi (Worcester County, Massachusetts United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Inside Gilligan's Island: A Three-Hour Tour Through The Making Of A Television Classic (Paperback)
Inside Gilligan's Island is an interesting but not spectacular book on the creation of a television phenom. If you are a Gilligan fan it will likely be a must read. If you are not it will be a mixed bag for you.
Mr. Schwartz does a great job describing the battles to get the show made and gets the pages turning as we wonder if his series will ever be what he wants it to be.
Unfortunately as the book reaches its later chapters it is evident that he has run out of things to say. The last three chapters are a positive chore to read.
The epidsode guide is interesting and is many of the behind the scenes production stories, this likely differs greatly from the cast members stories which deal more with the actual production etc.
Throughout the book however it seems that Mr. Schwartz is preaching. Now when he put wanted to make a social point with the series he wrote it funny (such as using his own example the implicet respect for marriage see episode 68 Mr. & Mrs.) and taught the lession without giving a speech, we get the speech in the book and its just dulls you away.
I did like the book, I don't know if I'd like it enough to buy it again, but I like it enough to read it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GILLIGAN'S ISLAND, October 18, 2007
This review is from: Inside Gilligan's Island: A Three-Hour Tour Through The Making Of A Television Classic (Paperback)
If you're going to buy this you probably want the inside scoop on how the show came to be made and what it was like while it was being made. That's what you get. ON the downside, I found the writing style to be very strange. If I was critiquing this as a story someone had written and submitted for review online, I probably would have moved on and critted another story because this one would have seemed a hopelessly huge undertaking to crit. There was one part where there were some frogs near a door. In a normal story maybe you'd read a mention of this once but in this story he keeps going on and on about the frogs. Its just really weird in its style. But it tells the story of the show and that's why I got it so I'm giving it 5 stars for accomplishing what I wanted it to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A terrific look inside the television industry., January 7, 2006
This review is from: Inside Gilligan's Island: A Three-Hour Tour Through The Making Of A Television Classic (Paperback)
Sherwood Schwartz makes no high-culture claims about "Gilligan's Island." It is a fantasy sit-com (albeit one with an underlying theme of diversity and community). This book takes a wonderful look at what Mr. Schwartz went through to get his vision (like it or not, the concept was created by Mr. Schwartz, and Mr. Schwartz alone) on the air. From network executives who tried to change everything about his show, to casting, to scoring and more. Whether you like "Gilligan" or not, you have to admire Mr. Schwartz's guts and tenacity in seeing his idea through to fruition. Thanks for reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, February 19, 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Inside Gilligan's Island: A Three-Hour Tour Through The Making Of A Television Classic (Paperback)
Treat for any Gillian's fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A MODEST MAN SHERWOOD IS NOT, July 20, 2001
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Inside Gilligan's Island: A Three-Hour Tour Through The Making Of A Television Classic (Paperback)
I have always been a great fan of Gilligan's Island but this book by its creator leaves a lot to be desired. Mr. Schwartz obviously went through a lot getting the show on the air but his description of his efforts seems to be very self-centered and like one man's battle against all odds. Even if this was true, it might have been better if someone else had written it. The book was not about the show so much as it was about Sherwood Schwartz.
Mr. Schwartz also seems to blame others for the show's demise and failure to be revived in the late 1970s following the "Rescue From Gilligan's Island" movie. I agree that I thought the show died a pre-mature death. But the success of the "Rescue From Gilligan's Island" movie was probably more attributable to curiousity than to its entertainment value. The original movie was disappointing and subsequent sequels were dismal. He deserves credit for a fun and entertaining TV show but he also deserves criticism for less fun and less entertaining TV shows thereafter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay book, November 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Inside Gilligan's Island: A Three-Hour Tour Through The Making Of A Television Classic (Paperback)
I purchased this to get information on a Gilligan's Island party we were attending. Unfortunately, the party was a flop as it was held at a bar and no one really organized any fun activities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sherwood Schwartz is an idiot, March 28, 2009
This review is from: Inside Gilligan's Island: A Three-Hour Tour Through The Making Of A Television Classic (Paperback)
CRAPPY BOOK. But, then again. Sherwood hated everyone he ever worked with. He was just a nasty old man.

He argued with almost everyone on many of his shows. His book showed his advanced age. He seemed to remember very little.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Inside Gilligan's Island: A Three-Hour Tour Through The Making Of A Television Classic
Used & New from: $3.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.