Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Inside IMSA's Legendary GTP Race Cars: The Prototype Experience
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Jake Owen Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro


Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 29, 2008
After all these years, somebody has written an extensive history of the IMSA GTP car. Highly readable and very informative. Even for those who don't understand the technology or the engineering involved, it's still a good read; the illustrations help at least somewhat.

My only complaint is that there is no history of the cars in competition, no won-loss record, no roster of teams and drivers who campaigned each car.

Other than that it's great value for the money
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 21, 2008
A great reference for fans of mid-80's IMSA prototype racers. The most informative book I've ever seen on these cars. Great pictures and reference for model builders.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 10, 2012
The group C and GTP era of racing was amongst the most exciting times of racing, and was definitely the most innovative era of racing. This book is structured as 15 or 16 short stories about what the top teams built and why they operated the way they did, with a very well written foreward about the era in general. Of the giant pile of racing and other automotive literature I own, this is one of my favorites; in fact, this book in particular has spent the last year as a shim between my logitech steering wheel and my desktop while I play racing simulators, with occasional breaks for re-reading portions. One of the authors maintains an informationally rich, most excellent website with mid-to-late 90's aesthetics and web design principals on ht [...]
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 20, 2010
Excellent review with plenty of technical background. Not focused on the race results or drivers, although there is plenty of commentary provided by the racers and engineers. Graphic layout is a little unpolished, but there are photos here not likey to be seen anywhere else. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 18, 2012
This is an excellent book covering the diversified insights to how GTP cars are prototyped ,designed ,manufactured and all the theoretical and technical insights behind the scenes in requiring to understand the time and dedication devoted to this legendary field of expertise and the masters who have all contributed in one way or another in the development design and manufacture evolution of race cars and vehicles the way they are and their performance and dynamics associated in this field
This is truly legendary to all who contributed through the years to this field of expertise
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2009
This book is a fantastic recollection of a golden age of American road-racing. To start, the photographs are superb: even if there was no text, the book would be worth the price for the excellent photos alone. I particularly liked the detail photos of engines, aero-packages and other technical details. The authors then go further an add detailed history and a decent technical overview of the cars. Overall, highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 10, 2015
Wanted this book for years, finally broke down and bought it and my only complaint is WHY DID I WAIT SO LONG! A very good account of the types of GTP cars than ran in the glory days of IMSA.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 4, 2012
I love this book, and how it was put together. Mike has done a fantastic job telling the stories of old.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2010
An insiders view of the great GTP and GTP light cars of the 1980s to early 1990s. With an emphasis on technical information, Inside IMSA's Legendary GTP Race Cars takes you through the history of each model, from introduction to exit from the series, in more or less a chronological order. In depth analysis of aerodynamics, engine and transmission, and general faults and strengths shows the reader exactly what makes each car tick, and the photos (many from team archives or similar) are outstanding. A definite buy for those interested in learning what made these GTP cars so interesting and exciting. A series never to be equaled in performance and innovation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 28, 2010
As someone who went to the races to see this beautiful machines racing and loved it, i found the inside information fascinating, the pictures beautiful, it made me take a trip back in time, close my eyes and just try to remember the sounds of such a great group of cars, thanks for the memories.
The only thing missing is a chapter on all those colorful drivers and great locations, the Miami grand prix was amazing as was the short New Orleans one. but then again, seeing pics of those might have made cry. Great book, a must have it, if you love sports car racing
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.