Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Long overdue, May 29, 2008
By 
James Brooks (N. Wilkesboro, NC USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
After all these years, somebody has written an extensive history of the IMSA GTP car. Highly readable and very informative. Even for those who don't understand the technology or the engineering involved, it's still a good read; the illustrations help at least somewhat.

My only complaint is that there is no history of the cars in competition, no won-loss record, no roster of teams and drivers who campaigned each car.

Other than that it's great value for the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Have for IMSA race fans, May 21, 2008
By 
John C. "ProMariner" (Port St. Lucie, FL USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A great reference for fans of mid-80's IMSA prototype racers. The most informative book I've ever seen on these cars. Great pictures and reference for model builders.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intimate Technical Review of the GTP Era, May 20, 2010
By 
stagecoach66 (Washington DC, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Excellent review with plenty of technical background. Not focused on the race results or drivers, although there is plenty of commentary provided by the racers and engineers. Graphic layout is a little unpolished, but there are photos here not likey to be seen anywhere else. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Murphy the bear would be proud, September 4, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I love this book, and how it was put together. Mike has done a fantastic job telling the stories of old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent overview of GTP era racing, March 10, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The group C and GTP era of racing was amongst the most exciting times of racing, and was definitely the most innovative era of racing. This book is structured as 15 or 16 short stories about what the top teams built and why they operated the way they did, with a very well written foreward about the era in general. Of the giant pile of racing and other automotive literature I own, this is one of my favorites; in fact, this book in particular has spent the last year as a shim between my logitech steering wheel and my desktop while I play racing simulators, with occasional breaks for re-reading portions. One of the authors maintains an informationally rich, most excellent website with mid-to-late 90's aesthetics and web design principals on ht [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly Wonderful, January 16, 2009
By 
H. Uras (Ann Arbor, MI) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is a fantastic recollection of a golden age of American road-racing. To start, the photographs are superb: even if there was no text, the book would be worth the price for the excellent photos alone. I particularly liked the detail photos of engines, aero-packages and other technical details. The authors then go further an add detailed history and a decent technical overview of the cars. Overall, highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great historical reference source., January 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Love the book. Great pictures and great reference material. Book was in great shape. I would recommend the book as a gift to anyone that loves historic motorsports,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inside IMSA`s Legendary GTP Race Cars .The Prototype Experience, November 18, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is an excellent book covering the diversified insights to how GTP cars are prototyped ,designed ,manufactured and all the theoretical and technical insights behind the scenes in requiring to understand the time and dedication devoted to this legendary field of expertise and the masters who have all contributed in one way or another in the development design and manufacture evolution of race cars and vehicles the way they are and their performance and dynamics associated in this field
This is truly legendary to all who contributed through the years to this field of expertise
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must for lovers of GTP cars, September 28, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
As someone who went to the races to see this beautiful machines racing and loved it, i found the inside information fascinating, the pictures beautiful, it made me take a trip back in time, close my eyes and just try to remember the sounds of such a great group of cars, thanks for the memories.
The only thing missing is a chapter on all those colorful drivers and great locations, the Miami grand prix was amazing as was the short New Orleans one. but then again, seeing pics of those might have made cry. Great book, a must have it, if you love sports car racing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lives up to the legendary staus of the cars, January 7, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
An insiders view of the great GTP and GTP light cars of the 1980s to early 1990s. With an emphasis on technical information, Inside IMSA's Legendary GTP Race Cars takes you through the history of each model, from introduction to exit from the series, in more or less a chronological order. In depth analysis of aerodynamics, engine and transmission, and general faults and strengths shows the reader exactly what makes each car tick, and the photos (many from team archives or similar) are outstanding. A definite buy for those interested in learning what made these GTP cars so interesting and exciting. A series never to be equaled in performance and innovation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Inside IMSA's Legendary GTP Race Cars: The Prototype Experience
Inside IMSA's Legendary GTP Race Cars: The Prototype Experience by J. A. Martin (Hardcover - April 15, 2008)
Used & New from: $22.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.