Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every Filmmaker's MUST Read
As a film Producer, I am consistently surprised by the sheer will and cooperation necessary to make a film. Filmmaking is not a one man's job...and neither is distribution. To make and distribute a film successfully (each equally important), you need a team and a strategy. The Insider's Guide to Independent Film Distribution offers an in-depth look into the industry so...
Published 8 months ago by Nadia Sarmova

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Solid Reading and Information
The insider's guide to independent film distribution by Stacey Parks is an up to date informative guide on distribution for the new independent film maker. The only thing thats very important in this day and age which is left out is the topic of VOD/DOD which is a very powerful way to distribute indepedent films these days. For traditional distribution this book is...
Published on March 31, 2012 by Quantum Media


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Solid Reading and Information, March 31, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Insider's Guide to Independent Film Distribution (Paperback)
The insider's guide to independent film distribution by Stacey Parks is an up to date informative guide on distribution for the new independent film maker. The only thing thats very important in this day and age which is left out is the topic of VOD/DOD which is a very powerful way to distribute indepedent films these days. For traditional distribution this book is excellent, but don't buy it if you want to learn about Video On Demand or DVD on Demand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Topical Overview, But Lacks Credible Data, July 7, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Insider's Guide to Independent Film Distribution (Paperback)
This book is actually a come-on for the author's $25.00/ month newsletter subscription service, which promises to provide the "real data" that is missing from this book. Anyone reading this book is probably an unknown producer with an unknown cast and unknown director. Although a decent topical overview, on the subject of distribution itself, it contains very little quantitative data. For example, aside from family and friends, how many unknown films with unknown talent by unknown directors written by unknown writers made for under $1M that receive 'distribution' via DVD actually have any theatrical, TV or DVD sales at all? A recent survey of one of these small film distributors, who offers a catalog of 133 titles, shows that the highest-ranked film achieved a blazing Amazon.com rank of 99,152. Other important data that are missing, but which might be available for an additional $25/month from this author are things like relative sales or Amazon.com rankings for small films by genre, how much a family picture might earn for the distributor (or directly from the producer) for Lifetime or Hallmark channel airing, or what is the correlation between small-film budget and potential sales (is there a profitability threshold as a function of budget as exists for studio films with general theatrical distribution)? There have been enormous changes in the numbers of feature projects funded through the AFM since the first edition of this book, as well as changes in the distribution of budgets of completed projects by genre, as well as the ratio of which pictures received distribution by 'negative' budget by genre, but none of that is mentioned here; even though it would seem to be essential information for someone planning on producing a film that would receive distribution.

Where the book provides useful quantitative information is in accounting for marketing and marketing collateral expenses during pre-production for a low-budget film.

The book also provides model distribution and sales contracts which, if they are up-to-date, could prove very useful.

The book is worth the purchase price in the anecdotal interviews alone, which are fun to read, although, again, neither quantitative nor dispositive. That is, they aren't very helpful in making a once-in-a-lifetime decision to mortgage one's house to produce a low-budget film.

All in all, quite enjoyable to read. But when you consider that only 140 or so feature films receive general theatrical distribution each year but yet 50,000+ screenplays for same are registered with the WGA, numbers mean a lot more than vague, qualitative claims.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mostly Obvious, Rather Outdated, November 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book has some good info in it, but here are the cons:
-- Writing style is stiff, awkward. And no sense of humor, devoid of wit.
-- Outdated material, especially with technical stuff. She actually talks about sending a VHS tape screener! I'm not kidding. And the date of this book is 2012. Who the hell uses VHS tapes in 2012? And she also talks about the virtues of shooting on HD instead of MiniDV SD. Yeah, pretty shocking that she thinks someone in 2012 is using an SD MiniDV camera.
-- The projects she discusses, and the people she interviews, produce (without exception) terrible films. Look them up. They are all action/horror crap. Bad actors, bad scripts, terrible directing. Just watch the trailers or look at their IMDB pages to see the super low ratings these projects have. There is not one single artistic or commercial success referenced that uses her techniques.

So, if you, too, aim low, this book will help you hit your target.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every Filmmaker's MUST Read, November 7, 2013
This review is from: The Insider's Guide to Independent Film Distribution (Paperback)
As a film Producer, I am consistently surprised by the sheer will and cooperation necessary to make a film. Filmmaking is not a one man's job...and neither is distribution. To make and distribute a film successfully (each equally important), you need a team and a strategy. The Insider's Guide to Independent Film Distribution offers an in-depth look into the industry so formulating your strategy is no longer an enigma or a scientific experiment. In addition to breaking down the distribution process into simple and understandable concepts, the book is sprinkled with case study after case study of real filmmakers (like you and me) who have tried out Ms. Parks' advice and succeeded!
Despite its invaluable insight, what makes this book stand out is the author's palpable sincerity. From the first page to its last, one thing is evident - Ms. Parks possess a genuine desire in bringing value to an industry notorious for making the next kill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read to become successfully independent!, February 22, 2013
This review is from: The Insider's Guide to Independent Film Distribution (Paperback)
THE INSIDER'S GUIDE TO INDEPENDENT FILM DISTRIBUTION set me off down a path that I barely knew existed. It was essential to achieving the goals I had set for myself as I transitioned from writer/actor into producing.

It helped me understand large chunks of truth that almost all filmmakers I have worked with (as an actor and writer) didn't seem to know or understand. It is so crucial to giving your career a fighting chance. Stacey Parks truly gives you an insider's look at some of these truths such as casting for distribution, realistic sales projections, and the dos and don'ts while attending film markets.

It was quite an eye opener on foreign distribution, especially the nuances on splitting distribution rights and distribution cash flow structures - this knowledge can save you headaches in a lot of areas. Along with the filmmaker's case study's which is crucial for gaining as much knowledge as possible before you get your nose too bloodied. Experience is the best teacher and that's what THE INSIDER'S GUIDE offers.

The updated edition also extensively covers such areas as, the disappearance of distribution advances and a further in-depth analysis of financing strategies for distribution.
And plenty of sample contracts.

One of the things I've learned from Stacey Parks is that there are always exceptions to the rule but with those exceptions there's ALWAYS a back story.
Thank you for sharing your expertise - it is helping me change my career (and life.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You will LOVE film distribution after reading this..., April 1, 2012
This review is from: The Insider's Guide to Independent Film Distribution (Paperback)
I have the benefit with this Review of not having read the first edition of Stacey Parks's indie distribution primer of "The Insider's". What it basically boils down to is: I have little else to go on other than the easy-to-read practical helpfulness of this 2012 second edition. Whatever "missing pieces" may have existed in Version One are all but blown to smithereens by this latest cut.

Frankly, as a PMD/Producer of Marketing and Distribution who comes deals with this sort of material/contracts/boilerplate on a daily basis for his own clients, I was less amazed by the comprehensiveness of this edition than by the presentation of the information overall. What Stacey succeeds brilliantly with her sophomore effort is to make indie film distribution actually LIKEABLE! You actually want to head out and share what you've learned with your friends and colleagues ASAP. This guide actually makes you *want* to swim with the sharks!

Insider's is easy to read also, which, compared to some of the film books I've read in the past -- especially from the "fluid" early part of last decade -- is an achievement on its own.

Here you've got checklists.
Interviews.
Case studies.
There are heaps of takeaways.

For the price, you're getting a wealth of "free" information (under twenty bucks?!). Even if you spent the $15,98 and didn't read a single page, it's still worth keeping a copy on your bookshelf because at some stage -- whether you distribute your film today, tomorrow, or later, either for your current film or a future one -- trust me, you'll make use of it. Some of Stacey's Film Specific clients have even referred to it as their bible.

No section came off as overly academic. There weren't any pandering sections, either. What Parks seemed to be doing here was to supply a handy blueprint for her fans, her readers, and her Film Specific clients.

Presented here are all the tools you'll basically need as you go about self- (DIY) or hybrid-distributing (DIY and traditional elements) your film once it's in the can. Only thing left for filmmakers to do is make the best movie they can with the time they have available. The distribution part, if you listen to what Stacey and the various professionals in her book are telling you (FULL DISCLOSURE: I am featured in it), is the least of your worries. And you know what? It makes sense.

Hardly an exhaustive list, here are some things you're going to be shocked to discover:

** we already know US distributors aren't buying pictures or paying out formerly lucrative minimum guarantees (MGs)...but Stacey explains WHY this remains the case in 2012.
** reasons why indie filmmakers should begin looking at theatrical runs as MARKETING EXPENSES rather than REVENUE.
** why signing all-important distribution contracts are only the FIRST STEP in getting at your money. Reasons why your money follows only MONTHS LATER, down the line.
** the critical need to PINPOINT TARGET AUDIENCES PRECISELY and why those who fail in this -- from inception -- may as well NOT have made their films in the first place (yes, you read that correctly!).
** why you need to start looking at your AUDIENCE as allies in your film's cause rather than targets of mere marketing "campaigns."
** reasons why having a single A-list star or four B-listers in your CAST enhances your film's marketing cachet by multiples.
** why it's not only about having a FACEBOOK FAN PAGE and/or a TWITTER handle, but the things you're UNDERESTIMATING about social media by not leveraging these to their fullest capability.
** why CROWDFUNDING doesn't work for all films, even yours.
** the right way to cut your TEASERS and TRAILERS (spoilers: don't use your film's editor for that, and why).
** why raising too much EQUITY FINANCING can be hazardous to your film's prospects.

As you turn the pages, you'll be taking extensive notes.

Lessons reinforced for me throughout the read:

** for those going into distribution uninformed, distribution can be a VERY expensive, very time-consuming, and potentially very harrowing proposition. Get educated as much as you can while you have the time.
** marketing your film by 2012 is at least HALF (or more) as important as the process of production.
** for those lucky indies who sign distribution deals, why the work has only just begun (Stacey explains why filmmakers need to remain fully-engaged throughout the marketing process).

I'll be carrying it around over the coming weeks because I can already see I'm going to need to refer to it often.

Five stars for utility.
Five stars for readability.
Five stars for making a potentially "dry" subject very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is an awesome book!, January 5, 2014
I was listening to one of Stacey's podcasts and I was reminded to post about what an awesome book she wrote! This is an excellent guide for independent filmmakers to navigate their way through the complicated world of film distribution. And the fact is, that if you can't get your film out there, you won't be able to make another one! I would say this is a must read guide. I also recommend the book about how to write a business plan for independent films.

Doug Bremner, writer/director/producer of "Catania!" (2014)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Learning Tool, September 12, 2013
This review is from: The Insider's Guide to Independent Film Distribution (Paperback)
For the past five years I have used The Insider's Guide to Independent Film Distribution as one of the books in my Entertainment Media Distribution class. It explains the process of film distribution in a no nonsense way and provides many helpful tips on how to succeed with self-distribution. There are some great interviews with filmmakers describing real world experiences distributing their work. Stacey continues to do a great job helping filmmakers learn the biz and figure out their distribution strategies before they roll film. The filmspecific.com website is a very helpful resource for keeping filmmakers current and on the cutting edge of film distribution. Excellent! A+
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really tells it like it is., August 20, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Insider's Guide to Independent Film Distribution (Paperback)
To be successful at making and distributing a film, you need to understand what you're up against. This books really tells you in detail what you need to do to give yourself the best chance for success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Distribution Bible, June 27, 2013
By 
movie producer (West Windsor, NJ USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Insider's Guide to Independent Film Distribution (Paperback)
The Insider's Guide to Independent Film Distribution is a must for anyone who hopes to make and sell a film with good results. There are so many books available for the independent filmmaker and producer. I read a bunch. Stacey's book was the one I kept, carried, and continue to use as my primary resource to this day. Stacey knows the business (the hurdles & opportunities we face), doesn't pull any punches, and has constructed a logical and balanced book that saved me from making major mistakes, got my film done at the budget I established, and has provided me with options for distribution. It was like getting a four year degree in film in one well constructed read. Does is guarantee success? Of course not. Does it improve the odds if you follow her advice. For sure. Don't tackle the Independent Film world without it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Insider's Guide to Independent Film Distribution
The Insider's Guide to Independent Film Distribution by Stacey Parks (Paperback - February 8, 2012)
$24.95 $19.75
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.