Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Essential Morse, August 14, 2006
This review is from: Inspector Morse: Remorseful Day - Collection Set (DVD)
I am a Morse fan who is catching up to this brilliant body of work via DVD, not having caught it on television the first time around.

It's easy to see why Queen Elizabeth II heralded "Morse" as her favorite TV show along with thousands of fans worldwide. The success of the show made John Thaw's face so familiar that he found his fame somewhat oppressive--with the feeling that he was always being watched--just as Morse might have done.

This classic collection is a good place to revisit favorite of the series or to see it for the first time.

--Janet Grace Riehl, author Sightlines: A Poet's Diary
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sad when something so good comes to an end, October 31, 2008
This review is from: Inspector Morse: Remorseful Day - Collection Set (DVD)
Make sure that you save this set for the end..Over all the other sets--these two men who are so different but work so well together.their chemistry developing..You as a watcher begin to feel that you know both of them..As the series has progressed--the stories became better...I knew the last episode was coming but really hated to play it..Morse was dead...but the series will continue to entertain for years to come..if you haven't already--start from the beginning and enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Episode Synopsis of an Incredible Mystery Series: The Last Collection Set!, May 20, 2012
By 
This review is from: Inspector Morse: Remorseful Day - Collection Set (DVD)
This "Collection Set Six" is the last of the Collection Sets. It has the last four Inspector Morse annual specials, and a separate disc of "The Story of Morse", a 50 minute documentary special.

[Note: You don't want to confuse the six "Collection Sets" with a newer run of "Inspector Morse" DVD's, called simply "Sets". There are eleven "Sets", called "Inspector Morse Set One", and so on. Each "Set" has only three episodes on three discs.]

"The Story of Morse" has TV show outtakes and interviews, with various people including John Thaw. It appears that the interviews were conducted at the end of filming for the last Inspector Morse series, Series 7, which aired in 1993. Don't confuse "The Story of Morse" with "The Making of Morse". The latter is available separately on DVD Inspector Morse: The Making of Morse. They are both 50 minute specials, created at the same time. But they use different parts of interviews, etc., and compliment each other, rather than repeat each other.

I've sprinkled quotes from "The Story of Morse" throughout my reviews of the older six Collection Sets and the eleven newer 2011-issued 3-disc "Inspector Morse" sets.

Specials:
The Daughters of Cain - first aired November 1996
Death is Now My Neighbor - aired November 1997
The Wench is Dead - aired November 1998
The Remorseful Day - aired November 2000

DAUGHTERS OF CAIN:
Morse starts with a funny scene. He has just poured himself a drink and settled in his chair, when he gets a phone call. He's furious, "Are you telling me that the college is so broke that it is getting its undergraduates to ring up old members using their Christian names? Because if Lonsdale is reduced to selling itself like double-glazing, Good Night!"

In the meanwhile, Wolsey College is having a black tie dinner, where Dr. Felix McClure guides a man and his checkbook to sit next to the college president. That's Felix's specialty. He's been called back from retirement to be in charge of fundraising. And the next day he's found dead in his college room. Morse asks the new pathologist, Dr. Laura Hobson, "Anything I need to know?" And she replies exactly what I'd been thinking myself, "Time you had a haircut."

In a second story string, we see high school teacher Julia Stevens mutually commiserating with her housekeeper, Brenda Brooks. Julia has just discovered she has an inoperable brain tumor, and Brenda is getting beat about by her choleric husband, Ted. What do Felix's death, Julia and Brenda's plans, Ted Brook's vile personality and the suicide of student Matthew Rodway have in common?

Trivia: This special was written by Julian Mitchell, based on the novel of the same name by Colin Dexter. The novel was his 11th Inspector Morse mystery, originally published in 1995.

The Pit-River Museum, where Ted Brooks works, is a real museum. The knife stolen by student Kevin Costyn is a real knife in its collection, a Barotse Tribal Ceremonial Knife from Zambia.

DEATH IS NOW MY NEIGHBOR:
It's a bright April day. The milkman's truck pulls onto Bloxham Drive and a row of semi-detached houses. He leaves bottles on the step of #17 for Rachel James, who is greeted by her neighbor at #15, Jeff Owens, just leaving in his little sports car. As Owens drives away, he waves to another woman in the same row, who gives him a decidedly sly look. 7:20 AM: Rachel is shot through her kitchen window at the back of the house, and spilled milk pools on the floor around her dead body.

Chief Superintendent Strange is affected by the killing, and expands on the difficulty of retiring on the pension he's allotted: "Don't you ever get sick of it, Morse? Spending your entire life on shootings, stabbings, stranglings..." Morse interrupts him, "Work! That's the secret of life!"

Elsewhere, Shelly and Denis Cornford are getting ready for the day. The college has a big meeting this morning. Sir Clixby Bream is going to retire as Headmaster. Denis and Julian Storrs are the only real candidates. Bream starts the meeting: "A straight fight like this sadly gives little opportunity for horse-trading. But malice and spite are gratifyingly increased by the fact that you know the candidates so well." It's not just the words. It's the chillingly malicious way this awful spider of a man speaks.

I was hoping Bream's would be the next body, but, alas, it is somebody else who dies next.

The second woman Owens waved to was Adele Cecil, and it seems I had it wrong. The sly look she gave him was not of flirtation, but of knowing friendship. And after Morse interviews her, he very much wants to see her again. It is in this episode that Morse reveals his first name, to Adele and Lewis in a delightful scene in a pub.

Trivia: This special was written by Julian Mitchell, based on Colin Dexter's 12th Inspector Morse novel. The book, first published in 1996, has the same name. It is also the book where Morse reveals his first name, and not until the final chapter.

THE WENCH IS DEAD:
Morse and Chief Superintendent Strange are at an Oxford conference, where the lobby exhibit covers "Crime and Punishment in Victorian Times". Millie Van Buren, an American from Boston U, joins them at the exhibits, and talks about the most famous murder of the time, the 1860 Oxford Canal Murder. The victim, Joanna Franks, a respectable married woman, was murdered on a barge. When two bargemen were hanged for it, 10,000 people gathered to watch, coming from as far away as London.

Later, Millie gives a presentation about the murders. Morse, however, feels unwell and has to leave in the middle. In the bathroom, he starts bleeding from the mouth, eventually fainting to the floor. The prognosis is a burst peptic ulcer. Lewis can't visit Morse in the hospital, he's off on his Inspector course. Strange comes to visit, and broaches the very unwelcome topic of early retirement. Adele (from "Death is Now My Neighbor") comes to visit. They are an item, now, and it does my heart glad.

And, last, but not least, Millie visits Morse in the hospital, bringing him a copy of her book, "Criminal Detection in the Victorian Period". Despite himself, Morse gets into the book and the story of the Oxford Canal Murder. And the more he reads, the more he suspects "that a gross miscarriage of justice occurred in the city in 1860." Stuck to his bed, Adele and PC Adrian Kershaw do Morse's footwork. What really happened all those years ago?

Trivia: This special was written by Malcolm Bradbury, based Colin Dexter's 8th Inspector Morse novel of the same name, published in 1990.

While watching this, I immediately thought of Josephine Tey's 1951 "The Daughter of Time", a book I've read more than once with pleasure: The daughter of time is truth. Dexter has said his mystery was partially inspired by Tey's presenting of her historical puzzle. But Dexter's dedication, in his novel, is to Harry Judge, who introduced Dexter to John Godwin's "The Murder of Christine Collins". This true-life murder took place on a canal in 1839 (though not in Oxford).

THE REMORSEFUL DAY:
Letters are important in this episode. It starts with Yvonne Harrison, who works as a nurse, crying at home over a letter. She tucks it away after she hears a car drive up to the house. And later on, Morse gets a letter. It's from Adele. She's staying in Australia and it's for the best... and so on. Morse seems too sad to cry. Or too tired to cry. Too sick? He certainly isn't taking care of himself, and will not give up the pint that he needs to help him think.

But Yvonne has it worse. Her husband, Sir Lionel, comes home from a business trip to find her naked, tied to the bedstead, and murdered. The police find her hidden letter, and, unaccountably, Chief Superintendent Strange secretly takes the letter out of the evidence bag and locks it up in his desk.

Then there's a third letter, an anonymous letter received by the police, "You should of looked longer in the village to find out who done that nurse in. Yvonne Harrison, I mean. There's a bloke due out of Bulingdon on Friday. Keep your eye on him. A very close eye if I was you."

Lewis visits Morse at home to bring him up to speed. Morse is supposed to start back at full duty the next day (see the happenings of "The Wench is Dead" preceding episode), and he's only two months from retirement. There's a funny scene where Morse ineptly shows Lewis his new-found hobby, birdwatching.

I knew before watching this special the first time that it was the last Morse, and still I cried. I've watched it several times since, and still I cry. Morse collapses at his beloved Oxford, music soaring in the background. And he solves the case literally from his hospital bed.

Trivia: This special was written by Stephen Churchett, based on Colin Dexter's 13th and last Inspector Morse novel, of the same name, published in 2000.

While Lewis and Morse sit on a patio, having a pint and watching the sunset, Morse quotes the last part of A.E. Housman's Poem XVI from "More Poems":

"Ensanguining the skies
How heavily it dies
Into the west away;
Past touch and sight and sound
Not further to be found,
How hopeless under ground
Falls the remorseful day."

In "The Story of Morse", the special on the last disc, John Thaw says, of Morse, "He envies him. Morse envies Lewis. He envies his certainties about life, and his certainties that he's going to go home and his wife is going to be there and his two children and his home and everything that that involves is going to be there for him. Morse doesn't have that."

Colin Dexter can't give us any more shows now, the tremendous John Thaw died in 2002. In "The Story of Morse", Dexter says, "I've written quite a few plots. Quite a few short stories, 13 full length novels. I felt I'd almost said enough about the relationship between Morse and Lewis. And I think we'd killed enough people in Oxford, too. Eighty-one body count! In a way, it was time."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wish it never ended, February 20, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Inspector Morse: Remorseful Day - Collection Set (DVD)
Morse was so awesome; it was a shame he had to die, figuratively and literally.
Good luck,Inspector Lewis, you have big shoes to fill
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Morse's last stand!!, June 4, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Inspector Morse: Remorseful Day - Collection Set (DVD)
To any one wanting to buy these collection sets of Morse
They are magnifcent and excellent
(1 The Dead of Jerico collection set
(2 The Last enemy collection set
(3 The Infernal Serpent collection set
(4 Dead on Time collection set
(5 Absolute Conviction collection set
(6 The Remorseful Day Collection set

All qualitry acting and stories. you can't beat the color and quality of the DVDS
I own all of them and watch them very often.
It was the last set of Inspector Morse but John Thaw went on to make Kavanugh QC so look on Amazon for those sets also
chfancier Glenda L Heywood
owner of fine movies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent collection, however it is the one that I ..., July 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Inspector Morse: Remorseful Day - Collection Set (DVD)
An excellent collection, however it is the one that I suspect all of us Morse lovers dreaded: his death. You know the character has not taken care of himself, drinks a bit too much, etc., but you just don't want to see him pass away. It's quite touching what he says about Lewis right before he passes. It's sad that Lewis couldn't be at his bedside, but that's what Colin Dexter writes. This is truly a wonderful collection for Morse lovers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspector Morse lives!, July 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Inspector Morse: Remorseful Day - Collection Set (DVD)
John Thaw remains very much alive when you have this collection of his brilliant rendition of Inspector Morse doing his inimitable crime solving. Oxford, too, is a part of the wonderful world surrounding Chief Inspector Morse and his loyal Sergeant Lewis. You'll enjoy them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspector Morse collections set, September 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Inspector Morse: Remorseful Day - Collection Set (DVD)
I watched the Remorseful Day first and now I am watching each Disc set of three from the very beginning of the show. I really like Inspector Morse and how he solves problems and murders.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great series, June 28, 2013
By 
Happy Camper (Riverside, Ca.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Inspector Morse: Remorseful Day - Collection Set (DVD)
Unfortunately it was a used set in very good condition.
I discovered several weeks after delivery that the next to the last episode was missing and replaced with an episode from an earlier season.
Pretty bummed about that...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful BBC Mystery Series!, May 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Inspector Morse: Remorseful Day - Collection Set (DVD)
Thank you, Colin Dexter, for creating the books upon which the BBC shows are based! I wish I could still thank John Thaw for playing Inspector Morse. I love the books (I even have 2 first editions). And I loved the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Inspector Morse: Remorseful Day - Collection Set
$89.98 $63.61
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.