Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AN ITALIAN GEM
This police series from Italy is simply excellent. If you're a fan of Montalbano or Young Montalbano you'll enjoy this show. Wonderful acting combined with dramatic scripts make this a true winner
Published 22 months ago by sabu

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
NOT AS GOOD AS THE INSPECTOR MONTELBANO SERIES BY A LONG SHOT.
Published 2 months ago by REGRETFUL


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AN ITALIAN GEM, December 24, 2012
By 
This review is from: Inspector Nardone (DVD)
This police series from Italy is simply excellent. If you're a fan of Montalbano or Young Montalbano you'll enjoy this show. Wonderful acting combined with dramatic scripts make this a true winner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Rather Enjoyable Italian Police Procedural, December 12, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Inspector Nardone (DVD)
Sergio Assisi is believable in this 12-part series, and the story is thoroughly embellished with the complications in the personal lives of the main characters. The villains are thoroughly wicked, the women are incredibly beautiful, the dozen or so plot lines are cleverly interwoven, and I enjoyed watching the series in spite of its offbeat approach to love, crime, and intrigue. But be warned --- most people won't like it quite as much as I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable series, January 12, 2013
By 
pnc (Pound Ridge, NY United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Inspector Nardone (DVD)
Let me declare my bias up front: I am a sucker for English and Italian police procedural mystery shows. This one is based on an actual policeman who did form a team, did develop the "flying squad" and was at least the Italian creator of their "911" (777 in their case") system. Other than that, I cannot say how faithful the series is to actual history.

Perhaps because it is based on a real historical figure, the mysteries are much less mysterious than some other series (e.g. Commissario Montalbano by Andrea Camilleri). However, since this series is set in the immeditate post WWII and 1950s, the costumes, cars, sets, equipment, give a historical twist which adds considerably to the entertainment value. I struggled between four and five stars, but the historical element put it over the top for me.

The subtitles are not always perfect: they convey the sense but some richness of expression is lost on occasion. English speakers will have no trouble with it, but Italian speakers may get a few more laughs. In any case, I wouldn't recommend it if I thought others wouldn't enjoy it.

Does Commissario Nardone catch Bosso in the end? I won't tell, you'll just have to watch....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Young Montalbano!, October 28, 2012
This review is from: Inspector Nardone (DVD)
Absolutely fabulous!

For pure enjoyment I would rate it close to Montalbano. It is fast paced and fun.

All the actors are excellent and so is the direction of all the the episodes.

The actress who plays Flo is beautiful has a small but very important.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FAR SUPERIOR THAN MOST OTHER POLICE STORIES, February 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Inspector Nardone (DVD)
IT REFLECTS A SPECIFIC TIME AND CULTURE. THE ACTING IS BRILLIANT. THE ACTORS LOOK REAL NOT LIKE HOLLYWOOD. THE STORY IS COMPELLING AND FAST PACED. IT IS ABOUT A REAL PERSON AND ONE CAN OBSERVE THE REAL MILAN, NOT THE TOURIST SITES. I LOVE THE FASHION OF THE TIME. THIS IS QUALITY TELEVISION ABOUT POST WAR ITALY REVEALING THE HARDSHIP OF THE TIME. THE STORY BEING TOLD BY A REPORTER IS A GREAT PREMIS.
I DON'T LIKE THE FACT THAT THERE CAN ONLY BE ONE DVD/SEASON.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exciting family entertainment, January 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Inspector Nardone (DVD)
This is one detective series in Italian that is not loaded with profanity. Probably because it's based on a true detective, the character does not display super human qualities that make many shows of this type unrealistic. I love watching it and highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great cast, good acting -, June 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I enjoyed this series - wish there were more available. It was really easy to get involved with the characters, especially the inspector's. I will keep an eye out for any other titles available with Sergio Assisi and other cast members. Pretty authentic period piece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nardone, February 24, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Inspector Nardone (DVD)
I was so sad when this series ended after such a short time. The scenery was fantastic and I loved the filming sequences.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific series, January 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Inspector Nardone (DVD)
We love this series and it has such great acting and believable dialogue.
The plots are very originial and interesting. Well, worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful seies, April 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Inspector Nardone (DVD)
Nardone is an extremely likeable individual solving the mysteries with intelligence. All the characters in the series are well acted. My only complaint is that they didn't make more episodes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Inspector Nardone
Inspector Nardone by Fabrizio Costa (DVD - 2012)
$39.95 $34.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.