Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Inspiration: Profiles of Black Women Changing Our World
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Pink Floyd Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer CafeSociety CafeSociety CafeSociety  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
15
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$30.93+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 2, 2012
this book is choc full of inspiration! definitely coffee table and graduation gift worthy. atleast once a week when i need a little pick me up, i go to this book and read one of the profiles. it's a great reminder that we are all incredible and have something unique to offer this world. the key: a little guidance, personal aspiration, and voices that push us to be our best.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 24, 2012
Crystal McCrary has written a book that will inspire people of all ages! Women, men, girls and boys will benefit from hearing the stories of these incredible women. Women who have triumphed over the challenges life can bring and are now soaring with success! The world needs to know the stories of women like this. The photographs in the book are rich and vivid and show the beauty of all of these women. This book will look gorgeous on the coffee table, but should not just be on display... It should be read and looked at and shared now and with generations to come!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 20, 2013
Crystal McCrary came up with the idea of having her contributors relate their life stories in their own unique voices. Consequently, other than First Lady Michelle Obama's, the bios in this intimate opus are written in the first person, and each sister sounds ever so authentic whether reflecting upon what really matters most to her or about how she managed to reach the pinnacle of success in her chosen field.

After beginning with Michelle Obama, the balance of Inspiration is arranged alphabetically, with each entry being accompanied by striking photographs of the subject. Among the other icons offering priceless pearls of wisdom are singer Mary J. Blige, environmentalist Majora Carter, prima ballerina Misty Copeland, actress Ruby Dee, comedienne Whoopi Goldberg, supermodel Iman, choreographer Judith Jamison, ex-Essence editor Susan L. Taylor, and tennis star Venus Williams, to name a few.

Read the full review and more book reviews from AALBC.com on your Kindle Edition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 15, 2013
I like the layout of the book. It is well written and the photography is very good. The women chosen are truly inspiring. A wonderful coffee table book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 11, 2013
It's nice to hear other celebrities life and how they cope in their personal/public live.
This book is a table top accent.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 30, 2012
This is just ok. The pictures are not great quality. I had higher hopes for this book as a great coffee table picture book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 21, 2012
It has been almost 20 years(I Dream A World) since such a compelling, well written, exemplary assessment of accomplishment has been published. Inspiration is classic, beautiful and a must have for current, past and future generations of all agesInspiration: Profiles of Black Women Changing Our World.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 29, 2014
Excellent---Must have.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2014
Great gift and coffee table book for your home and it reminds you of the contributions AA Women have and continue to give our society nationally and globally!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 3, 2013
Wonderful book and like the title, it is full of inspiring stories. It is a really good read and highlights that women can rule the world!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.