Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bringing Sexy Back
David Deida is best known for "bringing sexy back" to contemporary spirituality, and now in his latest offering he's bringing real life back. Instant Enlightenment contains a vast array of subjects that other `spiritual' teachings fear to touch - oral sex, swearing, car crashes, death, masturbation, to name a few. These taboo areas get the much-needed shot in the arm they...
Published on April 23, 2007 by Amazon Customer

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Eh...
I'd recommend the superior man. I'm a huge fan of deida, but this one is basically the superior man, condensed and vulgar. It has certain appeal to those who like small, quick readings, but in the long run you'd be much better off with superior man.
Published on May 19, 2010 by B. Archer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bringing Sexy Back, April 23, 2007
By 
This review is from: Instant Enlightenment: Fast, Deep, and Sexy (Paperback)
David Deida is best known for "bringing sexy back" to contemporary spirituality, and now in his latest offering he's bringing real life back. Instant Enlightenment contains a vast array of subjects that other `spiritual' teachings fear to touch - oral sex, swearing, car crashes, death, masturbation, to name a few. These taboo areas get the much-needed shot in the arm they deserve. Each chapter is poetically precise, humorous, and challenges the reader to bring their awareness to life experiences that would ordinarily make us contract and shut down. It is in these moments that our separation to what is gets easily forgotten. Can you remember to stay open and loving in the midst of extreme suffering - and banality? This is the core of Deida's teaching: feel open to what you resist, deny and recoil from. What could simply look like a throwaway, aphoristic pocket book, turns out to be a whole lot deeper. The way to read this book is by randomly dipping into any chapter, reading it slowly and contemplating its content. Deida's words and enlightenment will undo you - instantly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Joyful Cartoon Mallet To The Head!!, May 20, 2007
By 
Thomas Izaguirre "ratravarman" (Edgewater, MD United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Instant Enlightenment: Fast, Deep, and Sexy (Paperback)
Sometimes shocking, sometimes radical, but always humorous and entertaining, this little yellow book by David Deida contains very profound insights for dealing with many foibles of mundane existence. Quoting or describing it would only dilute the experience. I recommend a non-linear approach to reading this tome: scan the table of contents for a relevant topic and devote yourself only to that section for the duration of one sitting. It will work wonders!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars simple, practical and fun, May 20, 2007
This review is from: Instant Enlightenment: Fast, Deep, and Sexy (Paperback)
Since the 'Way of the Superior Man' I think this is my favourite of Davids books. A series of very practical, short and simple observations and exercises expanding ones perception of realtiy. Fun and easy, it is a great book to carry with you to read an exercise on the train, during a pause at work or any time you have a spare moment during the day. If you are looking to open to and move into something larger than yourself in your everyday life this book is for you. Recomended for anyone of any spiritual inclination including fatalists and athiests.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars yeah!, May 12, 2007
This review is from: Instant Enlightenment: Fast, Deep, and Sexy (Paperback)
In this book Deida reminds us that there is nothing outside of the sacred. Truly, in any moment and any situation, we can choose to be fully present, and thus, more fully alive.

Loved this book. An easy read with powerful, cut to the core exercises.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Eh..., May 19, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Instant Enlightenment: Fast, Deep, and Sexy (Paperback)
I'd recommend the superior man. I'm a huge fan of deida, but this one is basically the superior man, condensed and vulgar. It has certain appeal to those who like small, quick readings, but in the long run you'd be much better off with superior man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enlightment, a little too rushed., December 9, 2013
This review is from: Instant Enlightenment: Fast, Deep, and Sexy (Paperback)
A very quick read filled with snippets and exercises that become increasingly bizarre.

Deida seeks to push you through taboos and issues that may be holding you back from 'enlightenment' that he believes is essentially a state of loving and appreciating everything around. To be in love with yourself and the world around you.

Here are some of the takeaways I had from the book:

Love everyone and everything - slowly and intensely. Appreciate.

Don't let daily drama expand into your life, move on and enjoy the positives - no matter how small they are.

Humor is essential.

Appreciate each moment, pain helps you appreciate pleasure.

"Sex and money: the source of most of our desire and disappointment, our hope and fear."

Just as masturbation can be important to fill your life with sexual pleasure so to should you be responsible for achieving your own happiness - don't rely on others for it.

Love because of and in spite of everything around you - love the good and the bad, the possibilities, realities and the inevitable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not my favourite, February 16, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Instant Enlightenment: Fast, Deep, and Sexy (Paperback)
Honestly, it's far far my favourite of Deida's.

I'm a huge fan of his work but "Way of the Superior Man" and "Wild Nights" are just SO much better.

This book does have some interesting, actionable advice but it's few and far between.

If you're looking to devour his entire body of work, by all means, go for it. There is definitely some value in here. But if you are looking to dip your toe in the ocean of Deida, I'd strongly recommend that you don't start your journey with this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hits the Mark!, June 9, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Instant Enlightenment: Fast, Deep, and Sexy (Paperback)
This very fun & useful book by an extraordinary author, skips over the garbage and gets down to key aspects of reality. Its title is a bit flashy but its apt. Stands out among many (quite a few perhaps overly basic ones) from this prolific psychologist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not so great, December 11, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Instant Enlightenment: Fast, Deep, and Sexy (Paperback)
I'm a big Deida fan and I've really loved all of his other stuff. There was a period of time where I carried "Blue Truth" around in my purse or pocket and read a line or two here and there on a constant basis- and this from a bookaholic who reads a book and gets rid of it in order to move on to the next one. But this was uninspiring and far from his best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Bag of Jewels, February 20, 2012
This review is from: Instant Enlightenment: Fast, Deep, and Sexy (Paperback)
This little book by David Deida is a little bag of jewels. Unlike his masterpiece, "The Way of The Superior Man," this volume is much less action, "how-to" oriented, and much more meditative in nature. It is just a collection of beautiful little wise, challenging statements.

But the book is much more than that- there is a nugget in here for everyone. Some of them may resonate with you, others will not. But it will be impossible to think about life and the universe exactly the same as you did before reading this "book."

Here are a couple of my favorite examples, to give you a taste of what you're in for if you pick up this fine book:

"Enlightenment is the capacity to open and be lived by the love that is already, miraculously, living your life, despite all your current torment and refusal. Instant enlightenment is to offer love now - whatever the circumstance - without waiting for things to get better. Things will get better, but they will also get worse. You can count on that, so why not open and be lived by love as an offering now?"

"From a geological timescale, your life pops faster than a corn kernel in hot oil. It's done in an instant. Yet, from your human perspective, daily events seem massively significant."

"Your life does not need to be noticed. At death, your present life will vanish, like a dream fading away, noticed or not."

"If you want to freely offer your heart's deepest gift - your true life's purpose - then learn to love in the styles you most resist. Previously suppressed love will be liberated."

"For you to read these words, computer chips and plastics were probably produced in less-developed countries by men and women paid barely-living wages in factories dumping toxic byproducts into our shared atmosphere and water."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Instant Enlightenment: Fast, Deep, and Sexy
Instant Enlightenment: Fast, Deep, and Sexy by David Deida (Paperback - Mar. 2007)
$12.95 $11.62
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.