Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Conversational Memory
Handy little supplement book! We all know that it's easier to remember vocabulary when learned in context. This book takes some of the more widely used conversational words and enables the learner to see them in the context of a variety of sentences. This greatly enhances the learning potential.

While this book is useful, keep in mind that it is only a...
Published on September 22, 2009 by Sabrina Doster

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Thai script and english do not correspond in some places.
Polite endings are "suddenly" deemed necessary around the middle of the book, and the expressions written in thai often do not correspond to what is written in english (for example, the thai script in some places will be a simple copy paste from previous expressions which do not even mean the same thing). I was trying to copy the thai script in google translate to hear...
Published 15 months ago by Josephine Galipon


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Conversational Memory, September 22, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Instant Thai: How to Express 1,000 Different Ideas with Just 100 Key Words and Phrases! (Thai Phrasebook) (Instant Phrasebook Series) (Paperback)
Handy little supplement book! We all know that it's easier to remember vocabulary when learned in context. This book takes some of the more widely used conversational words and enables the learner to see them in the context of a variety of sentences. This greatly enhances the learning potential.

While this book is useful, keep in mind that it is only a supplement for learning and you will still need a Thai-English dictionary and other Thai learning materials. However, this is a valuable addition to my Thai language library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great instructional booklet for learning Thai, February 14, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Instant Thai: How to Express 1,000 Different Ideas with Just 100 Key Words and Phrases! (Thai Phrasebook) (Instant Phrasebook Series) (Paperback)
Instant Thai is less of a phrasebook than a small instruction manual for learning 100 words and putting them together to make coherent sentences. I love learning a country's language prior to traveling there. Phrasebooks are good for memorizing but not good for understanding. This book gives you both. I found the pronounciation guide helpful, but would recommend some sort of listening guide if you intend to pronounce the Thai language correctly. Overall, this book was extremely helpful in communicating with the Thai people and allowed me to ask questions not covered by any simple phrasebook, e.g. for a request from my wife 'Your make-up is excellent. What is it?'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My new BF is Thai, and this is REALLY helping., February 27, 2009
This review is from: Instant Thai: How to Express 1,000 Different Ideas with Just 100 Key Words and Phrases! (Thai Phrasebook) (Instant Phrasebook Series) (Paperback)
In conjunction with the Pimsleur Thai course I bought here, this is a great reminder and prompter when you get stuck on a word. Smart and simple. And worth every baht.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Thai script and english do not correspond in some places., January 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Polite endings are "suddenly" deemed necessary around the middle of the book, and the expressions written in thai often do not correspond to what is written in english (for example, the thai script in some places will be a simple copy paste from previous expressions which do not even mean the same thing). I was trying to copy the thai script in google translate to hear the pronunciation and that's where the book failed me. If you are going to include thai script into the book so that learners can "ask thai natives to read it out loud", you might as well make sure what it says in thai actually corresponds to the english translation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not and Instant Help Thai, November 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Instant Thai: How to Express 1,000 Different Ideas with Just 100 Key Words and Phrases! (Thai Phrasebook) (Instant Phrasebook Series) (Paperback)
It is not organized in a way to allow for searching for a phrase as needed. There is no index either. It is not possible to find Hello, or "Where is the bathroom?" when wanted. It would be good for studying the language and memorizing Thai if there is time for this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars IT IS A FALSUM, August 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Instant Thai: How to Express 1,000 Different Ideas with Just 100 Key Words and Phrases! (Thai Phrasebook) (Instant Phrasebook Series) (Paperback)
In the advertising its promise more than its realistic - you dont learn how to express 1000 different ideas by study this SMALL book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not for me, July 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Instant Thai: How to Express 1,000 Different Ideas with Just 100 Key Words and Phrases! (Thai Phrasebook) (Instant Phrasebook Series) (Paperback)
It is so badly done i misplaced it and will not spend time looking for it. Maybe some of my problem is that the language is so hard for westerners
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No not instant, June 18, 2013
By 
Onysia (The North Country) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Instant Thai: How to Express 1,000 Different Ideas with Just 100 Key Words and Phrases! (Thai Phrasebook) (Instant Phrasebook Series) (Paperback)
If you speak Thai great refresher. If you don't more confusing then anything else. Pass on this book No Help
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars can't use alone, March 19, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
When listening to the reader on kindle the accent is impossible to understand. Information in the book is okay but must be used as reference only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Poorly organized, hard to find basic phrases., December 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I didn't like the way this was organized at all. I had the hardest time trying to find out where to find the words for "Thank you" so I gave up. Maybe this could be since it was the kindle edition which made it harder to flip through. In that case, I wouldn't recommend it as an e-book, since it was very difficult to navigate and find what you wanted in an efficient or expedient manner. The content could be good- I have to admit I didn't scour the whole thing- but I found it to be ineffective for my purposes on vacation when I really wanted a quick reference guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x9c4af5a0)

This product

Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.