Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


54 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Holt great as usual
It's the sixth book of Holt I have read so far and probably the most syntetic; he outlines not only the problems but also the solutions. He has no mercy for knowing-better educators, T-eachers working not FOR, but ON students, S-chools full of fear and anxiety and humiliation, coercion, mindlessness, forced learning, carrot-and-stick attitude; and great appreciation for...
Published on January 10, 2007 by Dorota Konowrocka

versus
5 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Outdated, much not applicable to today
At the time this book was written, I am sure it was cutting-edge stuff. However, in the digital age, many of the ideas were impractical. For example, making photocopies of books and movable libraries in old buses...the advent of e-books and the internet has solved the problem of lack of immediate access to reading materials and information. Plus, digital information is...
Published on August 28, 2012 by tccampa


Most Helpful First | Newest First

54 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Holt great as usual, January 10, 2007
By 
This review is from: Instead of Education: Ways to Help People do Things Better (Paperback)
It's the sixth book of Holt I have read so far and probably the most syntetic; he outlines not only the problems but also the solutions. He has no mercy for knowing-better educators, T-eachers working not FOR, but ON students, S-chools full of fear and anxiety and humiliation, coercion, mindlessness, forced learning, carrot-and-stick attitude; and great appreciation for sensitive, competent t-eachers that are models themselves, self-directed do-ers and s-chools that are not compulsory and help their students to thing better on their own terms. Holt's radical vision is very clear, very understandable; his solutions so natural that they seem to be inevitable and not radical at all. His ability to deconstruct the mechanisms of human learning and expose the hidden curriculum of public schools and social system we live in is outstanding. The book is worth every minute you spend on reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book., June 16, 2009
By 
Henry "Henry" (Atlanta, GA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Instead of Education: Ways to Help People do Things Better (Paperback)
I have read a lot of Holt's books, but this is one of the best. I highly recommend this book to anyone interested in schooling, education, and providing children and teens with quality experience. As a public school teacher, I can say every word in this rings with sheer brilliance. I disagree that school can cause injury or damage, but I do agree that the hours, years in school could be spent much more fruitfully, authentically, and enjoyably.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A seminal contribution to education policy discussions, October 10, 2004
This review is from: Instead of Education: Ways to Help People do Things Better (Paperback)
Instead Of Education: Ways To Help People Do Things Better by alternative education advocate John Holt (author of the 1964 book How Children Fail) is an iconoclastic and seminal work presenting a persuasively argued case for "un-schooling" from traditional classroom structures and curriculum fare, to innovative, self-directed learning as the basis for a truly creative life. A direct challenge to the complacency of today's educational status quo (even in this political age of "no child left behind" and school voucher proposals), Instead Of Education should be required reading in every Teacher's College, District School Board, and governmental education policy development office whether it be federal, state, or local. Instead Of Education is a significant and seminal contribution to education policy discussions and commended to the attention of education reform activists at all levels and from all perspectives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars John Holt at his best, June 16, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Instead of Education: Ways to Help People do Things Better (Paperback)
Written after he worked out most of his ideas on education, this book is concise and brilliant, making John Holt's position on schooling so clear you can't help but agree with him! I am passionate about unschooling, and this book helps you formulate answers to the questions people will as you when they hear you are against compulsory schooling. If you like John Holt you will love this book, and if you've never read him, be prepared for something good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Changed my whole perspective!, December 6, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Instead of Education: Ways to Help People do Things Better (Paperback)
Another amazing work by John Holt- great for anyone questioning the public education system or considering homeschooling or unschooling. SO worth the money- a lifechanger!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars RBetri, May 5, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Instead of Education: Ways to Help People do Things Better (Paperback)
A great eye opener on education. All those that are convinced that compulsory education is a solution open your mind and read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars His Passion for Education and Learning is Palpable, September 26, 2008
By 
This review is from: Instead of Education: Ways to Help People do Things Better (Paperback)
This book by John Holt is one of the more idealistic works on education in the last 50 years or so. He accurately represents the problems facing modern education and has harsh words for its supporters. But his solutions for solving the problems seem very naive. It places a lot of trust in humanity's thirst for learning.

The truth is, we are naturally inquisitive, but also naturally lazy. Even Augustine, one of the greatest thinkers of the ancient world, admits in his Confessions that he would rather have been playing sports and chasing girls than learning. Also, having taught the great books to middle and high schoolers, I found that you can try to create the most open learning environment possible, but if the home environment these students are coming from is adversarial to learning, you will always have an uphill battle.

Finally, I disagree somewhat with his overall purpose of education. He states that it is to help us do things better. Huh? I don't know about you, but efficiency is not at the root of my love for learning. So the subtitle of the book just does not resonate with me.

All in all, this was an inspiring, idealistic book on education. I think it deserves a prominent place in the school reform dialogue. It helped me tremendously when I did research for my podcast, Chrisian With A Brain. In an episode titled, Why Do We Value Education?, Holt's perspective gave me much fodder for discussion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New views on Education, October 11, 2004
This review is from: Instead of Education: Ways to Help People do Things Better (Paperback)
John Holt puts to the read a new perspective on what education really involves. He talks about a self-directed learning process that makes a lot of sense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Outdated, much not applicable to today, August 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Instead of Education: Ways to Help People do Things Better (Paperback)
At the time this book was written, I am sure it was cutting-edge stuff. However, in the digital age, many of the ideas were impractical. For example, making photocopies of books and movable libraries in old buses...the advent of e-books and the internet has solved the problem of lack of immediate access to reading materials and information. Plus, digital information is much more environmentally friendly when compared to driving a bus full of photocopied books. While some of the points made in this book were good (for example, a baby does not study walking before trying it out--he just does it), I found some contradicting philosophies. Holt states that he does not believe there are expert teachers, that anyone can and should be a teacher. He then contradicts himself when he describes how when learning dance, one can benefit from the trained eye and instruction of a master. So then, some teachers/structured disciplines are OK while others are not(?) Overall, this book seemed to miss the mark.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Instead of Education: Ways to Help People do Things Better
Instead of Education: Ways to Help People do Things Better by John Caldwell Holt (Paperback - October 1, 2003)
$15.95 $11.17
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.