Customer Reviews


81 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Phenomenal storytelling of a paradigm-shifting event
I bought this piece expecting I would read it later--maybe tonight, maybe over a couple of evenings before bed--yet an hour has gone by and not only have I already plowed through it, I've also found myself rereading entire sections.

Wolman gives us a backstage tour of a revolution years in the making. The details are so specific, so well-researched, so vibrant,...
Published on May 4, 2011 by C. Vorhees

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The sane way of calling for a movement
The instigator is a story of how a normal man uses the digital media to move people to protest the removal of Mubarak. Rather than just a story of how someone who is exceptional, like leaders of guerilla armies, or someone that is misguided enough to call for protest without actually being rational like Chhun in the other ebook single, "The Accidental Terrorist," this...
Published on May 7, 2012 by Johnny Au Yeung


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Phenomenal storytelling of a paradigm-shifting event, May 4, 2011
This review is from: The Instigators (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
I bought this piece expecting I would read it later--maybe tonight, maybe over a couple of evenings before bed--yet an hour has gone by and not only have I already plowed through it, I've also found myself rereading entire sections.

Wolman gives us a backstage tour of a revolution years in the making. The details are so specific, so well-researched, so vibrant, that I occasionally forgot that I was reading nonfiction. If you followed the events in Egypt as they unfolded, and even (especially?) if you didn't, I highly recommend this fascinating piece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The digital dish re the Egyptian revolution, May 4, 2011
By 
This review is from: The Instigators (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
A postively fascinating read! "The Instigators" delivers compelling and detailed insight into the April 6th Youth activist group and its founder, Ahmed Maher. The article provides both a thorough history of the evolution of this innovative movement as well as showcases the ways in which it served as a catalyst to the recent revolution in Egypt. In addition to recounting the captivating facts leading up to the ousting of President Mubarak, Mr. Wolman acquaints the reader with Ahmed Maher on a personal level, as both an affable and inspiring example of leadership within the Facebook generation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Backstage Pass to a Revolution, May 4, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Instigators (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
I remember reading Wolman's story in Wired a number of years ago about these no-account revolutionaries in Egypt. They tried to fly a kite as a protest but they couldn't even get it in the air before Mubarak's thugs beat them. I remember thinking, "Nothing will ever change." Well, I was wrong and Wolman was right to bring these students to our attention. Those same kids who couldn't even manage to fly a kite have just re-written the rules of revolution. This in-depth look at how they did it is fascinating and important. But it's also thrilling to feel like you are right there with them as they overthrow a government.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mr Gladwell, your reponse please, May 4, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Instigators (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
Talk about being in the right place at the right time: David Wolman's 2008 trip to Egypt to report on young Egyptians using Facebook to organize against the repressive regime put him in the perfect place to trace the roots of this year's historic events in the Middle East.

In "The Instigators," Wolman tells the story of the April 6 Youth, a brave group of technologically savvy activists who sensed the Internet's potential as a tool for organizing and, perhaps, affecting some sort of change in their country's authoritarian political system.

And now look where we are. For this longer piece, Wolman returned to Egypt to reconnect with his local sources, who are now fielding calls from world leaders instead of running from security police. It's a riveting story of bravery, serendipity and hope whose ending is still far from certain. Definitely recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic read, May 7, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Instigators (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
The problem with writing a review a few days after you read a book is that it's difficult to remember what you wanted to say. The Instigators is yet another home run from The Atavist (how do they do it?) and, in true Kindle Singles fashion, I read it in one sitting. Obviously many of us knew what was happening in Egypt as it was happening, but getting such an in-depth backstory, with almost-real-time commentary made me feel like I was in the thick of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Want to know what happened in Egypt?, May 4, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Instigators (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
Clear, concise narrative of events leading up to the revolution in Egypt. Wolman's unique access to one of the real architects of this historic event is unmatched in American journalism. Want to know what happened in Egypt? Read this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How did the Egypt revolution start? It's right here., May 26, 2011
This review is from: The Instigators (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
This is a bitchin' behind-the-scenes ride with the clever, brave instigators of the Egypt revolution. Even better for the new e-mag format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truth behind the scenes, May 7, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Instigators (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
For any citizen who wishes to probe behind the scenes of the recent revolution in Egypt, this is the place to start reading. Wolman's on-the-scene reporting puts the reader right there in a clear and vivid way.

I started reading late one evening, intending to get just the flavor of the piece, and couldn't put it down till the end. The world needs much more of this kind of intelligent, responsible journalism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating account of the Egyptian revolution, May 6, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Instigators (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
Wolman tells the story of how social networking helped launch the Egyptian political revolution in a very compelling way, by focusing on one significant player, Ahmed Maher. Wolman first wrote about Maher's use of Facebook as a means to encourage political protest in Egypt back in 2008, well before the Arab Spring, and now circles back to Maher for a more expansive examination. Very well written and a fascinating look at how the 2011 Egyptian political uprising used a mix of 21st century technology and the old-fashioned 20th century non-violent protest strategies of Gandhi and the Civil Rights Movement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real story behind Egypt protests, May 4, 2011
This review is from: The Instigators (Kindle Single) (Kindle Edition)
Incredible story. I always thought the uprising in Egypt was spurred by what happened in Tunesia. Wolman's piece sets it straight with excellent detail and storytelling. A real prerequisite for anyone interested in the current politics and personalities of the Middle East.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Instigators (Kindle Single)
$1.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.