Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, solid information
Coupled with the other essential FAA instrument rating pub, "Instrument Procedures Handbook," the "Instrument Flying Handbook" is an excellent introduction to getting an instrument ticket. The Instrument Procedures Handbook really gets into the thick of the procedures and regs, so you'll need both books. I've just begun my study and found both books very helpful. And,...
Published on February 27, 2008 by William Corsair

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poor Images
Book is a reprint of the FAA version. The publisher should clear up some of the images. They are hard to read. Printed in China.
Published on February 5, 2012 by Revred


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, solid information, February 27, 2008
By 
William Corsair "Will" (Leavenworth County, KS USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Coupled with the other essential FAA instrument rating pub, "Instrument Procedures Handbook," the "Instrument Flying Handbook" is an excellent introduction to getting an instrument ticket. The Instrument Procedures Handbook really gets into the thick of the procedures and regs, so you'll need both books. I've just begun my study and found both books very helpful. And, since Amazon makes a package deal for both titles, I couldn't resist.

Unfortunately, there's a great deal of information in the Instrument Flying Handbook (probably 50%) that is a repeat of the Pilot's Handbook of Aeronautical Knowledge or the Airplane Flying Handbook. Not a bad thing, but I found myself skipping most of the first half of the book thinking, "I already know most of this stuff so I'll come back to it later." The last third of the book gets into the rudiments of precision flying.

This latest version of the Instrument Flying Handbook is in full color, and even emphasizes glass panel layouts.

If you want to see both books and make your own judgments, they're available as free PDFs on the FAA web site.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well written reference for the instrument pilot, January 13, 2003
By 
Amazon Customer (Naperville, Illinois United States) - See all my reviews
How well this book is written was a pleasant surprise. I've found it easy to read, and pretty helpful with the basics of instrument flying.
I've been using this book as a supplement with the Ralph Butcher Instrument Pilot Flight Training Manual and the Jeppesen instrument book. To be honest, this FAA book would stand on it's own as a good theory book and looks to have most of the info necessary to pass the written.
Combined with the price, it's an excellent edition to your flight library.
Safe flying!
Tom
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beware of scams..., December 26, 2006
By 
Aaron Landry "s4xton" (Honolulu, Hawai‘‘i) - See all my reviews
First off... this is an essential book. Do note that it can be downloaded for free from the FAA:

[...]

...but many times it's better to have the print version. There are some vendors selling illegal CD versions of this on Amazon when you purchased that are not paperback as listed. Do NOT accept this if they send you a CD. Demand the print, book version if you purchase it - and do not tolerate the scams.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good reference, August 3, 2008
As with the FAA's "Instrument Procedures Handbook," this text is also freely available from the FAA as a full color PDF. You can download the entire book as one file or grab in it sections.

[...]

This volume is the FAA "bible" on instrument flying, and as such forms the foundation for the instrument check ride standards. A must have ... however, check out the text free from the FAA on-line library, before you buy a reprint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Text, March 29, 2004
A nice primer to instrument flying. Combine this with the ASA Instrument Rating Test Prep book and you pretty much have a self-contained instrument ground school for around $30.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most recently updated IFR book on the market in 2010, June 25, 2010
By 
Amazon Customer (Oregon & New Mexico) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have been a CFII for 20+ years, and this is the book I recommend to my students? Why? Because it was updated in 2007/2008 and is the only IFR book I've seen which fully covers both glass cockpit (G1000 primarily) and analog instrumentation. In addition, it fully covers GPS operations. The ASA, Machado, Jeppesen manuals either don't mention glass and GPS or don't cover them thoroughly. And this one is FAR less expensive!

A necessary companion to this book which is the FAA Instrument Procedures Handbook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Black and White?!!??, May 9, 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (Potomac Falls, VA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Stay away, the FAA version is a beautiful full color book with tons of useful charts, graphs, and diagrams. This book costs the same as the "real" version, but has only washed out, low contrast black and white images. Returned this handbook as soon as possible!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poor Images, February 5, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Instrument Flying Handbook (FAA-H-8083-15A) (Paperback)
Book is a reprint of the FAA version. The publisher should clear up some of the images. They are hard to read. Printed in China.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars dont buy this version, April 11, 2011
the book was created with a trial version of some epub to kindle software. a message appears every few pages stating so. the developer is stealing from that software company, you, and I.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars So Many Blurred/Barely Legible Figures Printed, April 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Instrument Flying Handbook (FAA-H-8083-15A) (Paperback)
The reason I bought this new manual is the earlier version has a lot of erroneous contents(explanation/figure showing); FAA issued a 12-page-changes in 2009, I don't like the inconvenience when reading the earlier version. I wish the new one I bought will have no issues like these, but it comes out with new problmes. There are so many figures printed with blurred words and/or numbers which are just critical in understanding the relevant concepts. I contacted the publisher, Skyhorse Publishing, and all I got was a standard answer-return it. I wish Skyhore could do a good job, or let others do it.

Samples of blurred fighures with barely legible words/numbers on pages:
1-15, 1-18,..., 3-7,3-23,3-24,and many many more throughout the manual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Instrument Flying Handbook (FAA-H-8083-15A)
Instrument Flying Handbook (FAA-H-8083-15A) by Federal Aviation Administration (Paperback - August 1, 2011)
$19.95 $17.08
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.