Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Relatively Fast CPU for About $75
I just upgraded my computer from an AMD Sempron 3000+ (1800 MHz single core CPU) to the new Intel E5300 (2600 Mhz dual core CPU). It was a big speed improvement. SiSoftware Sandra's benchmark indicates that my old AMD 3000 is 72% slower on the CPU arithmetic benchmark.

There is a comprehensive review at a site named Anandtech entitled, "AMD Athlon X2 7850 vs...
Published on May 2, 2009 by B. Wilson

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Warning f672cr mobo owners (ie. acer 1610)
This chip does not replace the stock E2140. Bus speed match. Socket match. Is in Acer's compatibility list, but NOT COMPATIBLE. Upgrading bios didn't work. Intel tech support said they didn't know, ask Acer. Acer said, "Sorry for the inconvenience." Additional commentary unpublishable.
Published on January 7, 2010 by bob


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Relatively Fast CPU for About $75, May 2, 2009
This review is from: Intel Pentium E5300 2.6GHz 2 MB Cache Socket LGA775 (Personal Computers)
I just upgraded my computer from an AMD Sempron 3000+ (1800 MHz single core CPU) to the new Intel E5300 (2600 Mhz dual core CPU). It was a big speed improvement. SiSoftware Sandra's benchmark indicates that my old AMD 3000 is 72% slower on the CPU arithmetic benchmark.

There is a comprehensive review at a site named Anandtech entitled, "AMD Athlon X2 7850 vs. Intel Pentium E5300: Choosing the Best $70 CPU". The review found that in about half of the tests (like multimedia) the Intel E5300 was faster than the AMD 7850, but for 3 of the 4 games benchmarked the AMD was about 10% faster. The conclusion is that "the Pentium E5300 Intel delivers, at $74, a CPU that is faster than the original Core 2 Duo E6400. And as such, it's also faster than every single Pentium 4 ever made." The E5300 is also faster than the Athlon 64 FX-62.

There is one downside to the E5300's manufactured prior to August 2009. The older E5300's do not support hardware virtualization. What does that mean to you? Microsoft has been developing Virtual PC technology which allows you to simultaneously run multiple operating systems and applications on the same computer. The Microsoft Virtual PC can only be run on CPU's that support hardware virtualization. In Windows 7, the Microsoft Virtual PC software allows you to run earlier versions of Windows within a window of Windows 7. This feature could be used to run legacy (old) applications that have compatibility problems in Windows 7. Some people have also claimed that the Virtual PC mode can be used to circumvent the DRM (digital rights management) technology in Windows 7.

For the budget-minded, the E5300 is a CPU that you should consider.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Processor For The Money, August 16, 2009
By 
Peter D. Mar (San Francisco California) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Intel Pentium E5300 2.6GHz 2 MB Cache Socket LGA775 (Personal Computers)
I've upgraded one of my home built computer from a Prescott Pentium 4 at 3.4 GHz to this 45 nm Pentium dual core 2.6 GHz, Wolfdale E5300. To do this upgrade, also entails replacing the motherboard to the ASrock 775i65G rev 2.0. I've went this route with this motherboard, because I want the reuse the 2 GB PC 3200 DDR RAM as well as the AGP Gforce 7600GT graphics card. Except for the problem with the motherboard, the speed improvement was close to three times if not more than that of the Pentium 4 after some mild overclocking to 3 GHz.

The way I had this computer setup,the performance is approaching that of my other computer which has the Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 at 3.16 GHz. The CPU temperature on this processor is quite cool at 55°C at hundred percent CPU loading using the skimpy stock Intel heatsink and fan at 3 GHz speed. The 55°C is actually measure on the CPU very core, and not the CPU package which may be 5°C cooler. The temperature was measured using this free software, Realtemp.

Because this CPU has 2 MB on-chip cache memory and being a dual core, it works extremely well for multitasking as compared to the Pentium 4. One nice feature I really like about this processor is the Enhanced Intel Speed Step which saves electricity by under clocking the processor when heavy processing power is not needed. The processor selects multipliers varying between 6 to 13, depending on CPU load. Also,the CPU core voltage varies based on CPU load from a high of 1.25 V to a low of about 0.8V. The maximum power dissipation on this processor is 65 W but 54 W at 3 GHz according to Sandra benchmarking software.

Considering how much this processor cost, I am extremely happy with the performance as well as the overclocking ability of this processor. I highly recommend this processor for anyone who uses their computer for normal web browsing and some video editing as well as photo editing chores. I am not a gamer, but I feel that this processor will do fairly well that purpose with a adequate graphics card installed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What an outstanding processor!, December 17, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Intel Pentium E5300 2.6GHz 2 MB Cache Socket LGA775 (Personal Computers)
I love the performance of this CPU. Sure there are better ones out there but for 69.99? This thing runs anything I can throw at it including Crysis, the new Modern Warfare 2 and Dragon Age. No issues whatsoever. You would have to be a fool not to get this processor. Period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Running Call of Duty 4 at 60 FPS, at 3.0 Ghz, at 59 degrees C., April 18, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Intel Pentium E5300 2.6GHz 2 MB Cache Socket LGA775 (Personal Computers)
Installed this processor on a Zotac G43 ITX motherboard, easily over-clocked to 3.0 ghz at stock voltage, stable. Coupled with a Galaxy Geforce 240 GT, and 2 GB of DDR2 RAM it can play Call of Duty 4 with every setting maxed at 60 Fps on a 720p monitor, and still stay below 60 C. even with the stock Intel Cooler. I played the Crysis demo and it stays well above 35 Fps. Great Processor at a very reasonable price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good processor for budget systems, March 13, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Intel Pentium E5300 2.6GHz 2 MB Cache Socket LGA775 (Personal Computers)
I recently built two inexpensive systems for customers who were pocket wary. I didn't want anything less than a dual core processor but at the same time I got this processor less than a E5200 which was great. Simple installation and works great with the Gigabyte GA-G31M-ES2L S-Series Easy Energy Saver Motherboard. It over clocks nicely and runs very cool. Recommended for a budget system!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Nice for an older LGA775 CPU, October 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Intel Pentium E5300 2.6GHz 2 MB Cache Socket LGA775 (Personal Computers)
I installed this CPU and didn't have any problems with it. I always buy quality motherboard and was able to overclock this bad boy to 3.6Ghz!! Stability is amazing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Warning f672cr mobo owners (ie. acer 1610), January 7, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Intel Pentium E5300 2.6GHz 2 MB Cache Socket LGA775 (Personal Computers)
This chip does not replace the stock E2140. Bus speed match. Socket match. Is in Acer's compatibility list, but NOT COMPATIBLE. Upgrading bios didn't work. Intel tech support said they didn't know, ask Acer. Acer said, "Sorry for the inconvenience." Additional commentary unpublishable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great processor, November 30, 2009
By 
Rodolfo Felipe (Dominican Republic) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Intel Pentium E5300 2.6GHz 2 MB Cache Socket LGA775 (Personal Computers)
This is a great processor for the price. Very nice for a basic computer. Price is right, and you get all the performance you need for a basic home computer. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Oldie but a Goodie, August 3, 2014
This review is from: Intel Pentium E5300 2.6GHz 2 MB Cache Socket LGA775 (Personal Computers)
This chip is an oldie but a goodie. I wanted to refurbish a computer for a veteran, and this chip did the job. It is a reliable, workhorse ship and runs all the newest OS and software just fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worked immediately, September 3, 2013
By 
Stephen M (Dorchester, MA, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Intel Pentium E5300 2.6GHz 2 MB Cache Socket LGA775 (Personal Computers)
From the shipping package too my computer up and running without errors or Blue Screens was lass than 15 minutes. Was concerned about this being a Pull,but they said Tested, and it proved to be a great value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Intel Pentium E5300 2.6GHz 2 MB Cache Socket LGA775
Used & New from: $11.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.