Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stephen Marley Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Enter for the chance to win front row seats to Barbra Streisand Segway miniPro

Price:$19.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 260 reviews(5 star). Show all reviews
on April 20, 2007
The Intelli IMT-500--The tuner that killed the Intellitouch!

There are scores of chromatic tuners on the market. Most work by using a small built-in microphone that picks up sound waves. In order to be used effectively, the tuning space must be relatively quiet. Many of these tuners have input jacks that allow electric guitars to be connected directly and tuned by the electronic signal they produce. A bunch of years ago a variety of clip-on-microphones began to be marketed. The microphone could be clipped to any instrument and its cord attach to an electronic tuner. Now, anyone could tune an instrument no matter what the background noise.

Then, the Intellitouch tuner hit the market. The entire tuner clipped onto the instrument. One could tune an acoustic instrument in a noisy environment. There was no cord to deal with and the instrument could stay clipped to the headstock or quickly removed and slid into a pocket or case. Talk about convenience. Jams and festivals (bluegrass, folk, whatever) became seas of Intellitouch tuners.

Intellitouch owned the market even though there were so many situations where they did not work well. In particular, they have trouble with the bass notes of dreadnought sized guitars. The more overtones an instrument produces, the worse the tuner behaves. The bass string of a Martin rosewood dreadnought was near impossible to tune without using one of the many workarounds that owners developed. So, it was very much a love-hate relationship. The shortcomings were huge, but the convenience meant that they were tolerated.

Then, came the Intelli. It was an Intellitouch that worked, if not perfectly, then a whole lot better. The amazing thing is that the switch from Intellitouch to Intelli wasn't gradual. Within six months of its introduction, jams and festivals became seas of Intelli tuners. People were throwing their Intellitouches into drawers (if they weren't lucky enough to find a die hard holdout willing to buy one second-hand) to get the Intelli. That's a considerable investment to abandon. But, why not? The Intelli is half the price of the Intellitouch and works a whole lot better. They are so inexpensive that it's easy to justify getting one for the practice area and one for the case so that you don't have to worry about forgetting to pack it.

Anyone who will ever have to tune an acoustic instrument in a noisy environment will quickly find this tuner indispensable. And it works darn well in a quiet environment, too!

Highly recommended!
1515 comments| 192 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 28, 2007
1st off, I have 3 months of guitar experience. I barely know the difference between an "A" and an "E". Tuning was a pain because I havnt developed an ear for it yet. I just received the IMT-500 and its great. Just clip it on and pluck a string. It alreaady knows which string you are trying to tune. When the note is in tune, the tuner line is centered and you move on to the next string. I should have bought this when I bought the guitar. Its small, compact, and the screen lights up a bright green and easy to read. Since it works off vibration, its probably more accurate than a microphone tuner and its MUCH more accurate than when I try and match a tune off a tuning fork.
0Comment| 90 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 1, 2009
This is a much better tuner than you would expect for the price.
What some people report as a "problem" with the tuner registering the wrong note or having trouble with the low E string isn't really a problem with the tuner but rather the result of the physics of the vibrating string.. All electronic tuners, especially clip ons, that I've seen are subject to this effect to varying degrees, depending on the instrument, and it's very easy to get around it.
What's happening is that the tuner is responding to an overtone of the fundamental tone of the string. This overtone is almost always read as a fifth higher than the pitch of the string (E reads B, A reads E, D reads A, etc.). This is most common on the lower pitched strings where the tuner may "lock in" on the higher pitch. It's very easy to overcome this. Instead of tuning to the open string, play the harmonic at the mid-point of the string (the twelfth fret) which is one octave higher than the pitch of the string. Not only does this raise the pitch of the lower strings, the string is now vibrating at a single pitch without all the overtones associated with the open string. Try it. It works. I would reccomend this approach with any electronic tuner, not just this one or other clip-ons. Note that the misread note on the string is the same note as the harmonic at 1/4 the length of the string (the fith fret).
Incidentally, the wide grip on this tuner along with the rubber pads and easy opening clips make it the only one I've tried tha works well on a fiddle.
11 comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 14, 2008
I bought this along with my first ukulele. It's also my first tuner, and I was afraid I might have trouble with it; but it's so simple. Just clip it on, pluck the string, and tune up or down until the arrow is right in the center. Excellently designed, lightweight and compact. I love it.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 29, 2008
Tuners are pretty simple.. and this excels.

Small, always available (on headstock it's out of the way)
Backlit and readable in all lighting conditions.
Accurate and calibratable.
Pretty insensitive to room noise.

It works!!! It's not too expensive..YAY!!

The plastic clip doesn't look necessarily road worthy - but since it hasn't given me any trouble I can't really complain.

tested on : Acoustic Dreadnought body
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 10, 2007
There are scores of chromatic tuners on the market. Most work by using a small built-in microphone that picks up sound waves. In order to be used effectively, the tuning space must be relatively quiet. Many of these tuners have input jacks that allow electric guitars to be connected directly and tuned by the electronic signal they produce. A bunch of years ago a variety of clip-on-microphones began to be marketed. The microphone could be clipped to any instrument and its cord attach to an electronic tuner. Now, anyone could tune an instrument no matter what the background noise.

Then, the Intellitouch tuner hit the market. The entire tuner clipped onto the instrument. One could tune an acoustic instrument in a noisy environment. There was no cord to deal with and the instrument could stay clipped to the headstock or quickly removed and slid into a pocket or case. Talk about convenience. Jams and festivals (bluegrass, folk, whatever) became seas of Intellitouch tuners.

Intellitouch owned the market even though there were so many situations where they did not work well. In particular, they have trouble with the bass notes of dreadnought sized guitars. The more overtones an instrument produces, the worse the tuner behaves. The bass string of a Martin rosewood dreadnought was near impossible to tune without using one of the many workarounds that owners developed. So, it was very much a love-hate relationship. The shortcomings were huge, but the convenience meant that they were tolerated.

Then, came the Intelli. It was an Intellitouch that worked, if not perfectly, then a whole lot better. The amazing thing is that the switch from Intellitouch to Intelli wasn't gradual. Within six months of its introduction, jams and festivals became seas of Intelli tuners. People were throwing their Intellitouches into drawers (if they weren't lucky enough to find a die hard holdout willing to buy one second-hand) to get the Intelli. That's a considerable investment to abandon. But, why not? The Intelli is half the price of the Intellitouch and works a whole lot better. They are so inexpensive that it's easy to justify getting one for the practice area and one for the case so that you don't have to worry about forgetting to pack it.

Anyone who will ever have to tune an acoustic instrument in a noisy environment will quickly find this tuner indispensable. And it works darn well in a quiet environment, too!

Highly recommended!
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 5, 2008
I bought this for my son last Christmas so he has been using it for seven months now and he still loves it. (He has three years experience playing guitar) Any way, like others have said this tuner picks up the vibration of the string instead of the audio from a microphone like other tuners do. There is no interference from external sources as a result. The tuner is surprisingly small but very easy to read. No regrets with this purchase!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 29, 2007
I'm not a professional, just enjoy strummin' == this tuner is so easy to use! I've had it for several months now and haven't found any limitations or problems with it. It clips on the head of your guitar, uke, etc. I've used tuners that you place nearby and they pick up other sounds while you are trying to tune. The head of the Intell tuner rotates so that you can find the best angle for viewing.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 2, 2013
I purchased the Intelli IMT500 Clip-on Chromatic Digital Tuner for Strings to help in tuning my autoharp. It works fantastically! I am able to tune to the exact frequency of the note with no problems at all. I would certainly recommend this to anyone who has a need to tune a stringed instrument.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 11, 2013
I recently purchased four of the Intelli IMT500® Clip-on turner. I own/have owned many clip-on turners over the years. The Snark®, Intellitouch®, Korg®, Peterson® just to mention a few. I play guiter, mandolin and upright bass. I own 5 mandolins, 3 Martin® guitars. I only mention this just to indicate that when I find a GOOD tuner, I usually put one in each instrument case, which means that I own a lot of them. Don't want to be caught without one.

Anyway, this is not a bad tuner for the price. The display is bright, actually too bright with a new battery. All As far as I know, the brightness is not adjustable. My other complaint is that the display doesn't sit vertically on its mount. It's up about 15deg. So, on most instruments, it means that the display is angles away from you, still visible, readable and sharp, but annoying. As another reviewer mentioned, some do rattle. The solution is simple so I won't go into that here. I use the IMT500® mostly on the mandolin, guitar and banjo. It is slow on the E string of the guitar but acceptable. I tried to use it on the upright bass but it wasn't reliable. Actually, I had trouble getting any clip-on to work on the upright bass. After testing all the clip-ons, I finally found one Snark® when after removing the rubber bottom bumper, work perfectly--fast and accurate on all strings. That's another story.

From my use (guitar, mandolin, banjo), I have found the IMT500® to work well on all. As I indicated above, I own, have owned many clip-ons. They all, without exception, have some issues. Some I purchased were three times the cost of the IMT500® tuner but performed no better.

So, in conclusion, my opinion, it's a good buy, for the price! Bright, accurate and will work well for you.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 7 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.