Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Interior Design (4th Edition)
Your Garage Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer WienerDog WienerDog WienerDog  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars19
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$175.26+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 3, 2007
As a university Professor, I highly recommend this book. It covers all the fundamentals of Design, from historical background to all interior design mchanics. This is it!

If you are an Interior Design student or professor, you will enjoy reading this book, I highly recommend it. Mr. Pile is an authority in this subject, I have been teaching and reading his books for over 3 decades.

I give high rating, enjoy learning.

Michele Beatriz
0Comment|30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 12, 2007
John Pile's this book and his other book on color are absolutely the best books I have ever laid my hands on. These books are what every magazine article is about; most books on interiors have about a 1/10 of what is in these two books. REcommended for serious homeowners and professionals.
0Comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2008
I purchased this book for my Interior Design Class. There is just a lot of great information . The History of Design, architure, decortive art, mordern history; noted designers, different eras of design, dating back to the 1700's. Just a fablous texbook reference tool.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2013
If I had to chose, I would prefer Interior Design Illustrated. Ching has clarity and delivers a lot of information efficiently. Pile has piles of text but does not convey a whole amount by it.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 28, 2009
THIS IS THE MOST THOROUGH RESOURCE I HAVE READ. THE PICTURES ACCOMPANYING THE TEXT ILLUSTRATE THE STYLES AND PRINCIPLES PUT FORTH BY THE AUTHOR. I AM ABLE TO USE THIS BOOK AS A REFERENCE FOR SEVERAL OTHER COURSES.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 15, 2012
I've always wanted to study interior design, but at the moment i don't have such ability, so i was looking for the right book that will contain everything important starting with the history and ending with the practice.

So, i was looking for this book in Shanghai, but didn't find it.

and then i tried the amazon, and was really surprised. i expected to get the book in 20-40 days, but instead of it i got it within 10!

Thanks a lot for this book, i found even more information that i wanted, i totally love it!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 7, 2015
This book is quite comprehensive as far as foundational information on interior design. Docking off a couple of stars, though, for typos and poor use of the English language in certain areas. With all due respect, if you are selling an educational textbook, you should hire a solid editor to edit it thoroughly. Poorly written language and typos are unacceptable, especially at this price!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 15, 2013
this is an excellent and very useful bookr for introducing the concepts of interior, it really puts you on teh way, give you a hint and an idea about each concern, a really really useful book
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 4, 2009
I bought the 4th edition book for an intro class I'm taking in Decorating and Design. John Pile has provided a well written resource, including great photos, explanations, and very good fundamental information. Overall it is a great go-to book for those seriously interested in the basic anatomy of a great design.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 12, 2009
This book is massive! It came as described though and in a timely manner. I am very pleased with this book.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse