Customer Reviews


71 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


54 of 54 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Life and Love's Frustrations in the Irish Style.
"Intermission" is a collection of intertwined story lines set in Dublin, Ireland, all somehow connected to the break-up, several weeks before, of two characters, Deirdre (Kelly MacDonald) and John (Cillian Murphy). Deirdre has found a new man, Sam (Michael McElhatton). John is regretting leaving her. John's best friend, Oscar (David Wilmot) is desperately seeking...
Published on October 21, 2004 by mirasreviews

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Until the End
Intermission juggles about fifteen relevant characters and scenarios during the course of the movie, and then attempts to tie them together at the end. The humor is very good (revenge on a nasty boss, Colin Farrell's reaction to the "brown sauce," etc.), the acting is very good (Farrell, Colm Meany, Cillian Murphy, and the ex-girlfriend), and even the pacing and...
Published on November 16, 2004 by Big Erik


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

54 of 54 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Life and Love's Frustrations in the Irish Style., October 21, 2004
This review is from: Intermission (DVD)
"Intermission" is a collection of intertwined story lines set in Dublin, Ireland, all somehow connected to the break-up, several weeks before, of two characters, Deirdre (Kelly MacDonald) and John (Cillian Murphy). Deirdre has found a new man, Sam (Michael McElhatton). John is regretting leaving her. John's best friend, Oscar (David Wilmot) is desperately seeking companionship, Deirdre's sister Sally (Shirley Henderson) is avoiding it. Sam's wife is furious. And an egotistical police officer, Jerry Lynch (Colm Meaney), is pursuing career criminal Lehiff (Colin Farrell) and personal fame.

"Intermission"'s cast is a Who's Who of talented young Irish thespians, with a few Brits thrown in the mix. Quirky but somehow true-to-life Irish films about friends and family have somehow become a genre unto themselves. This is one of those. There's nothing surprising about "Intermission", but it does take enough unpredictable turns to keep it interesting. True to the genre, the characters aren't smart or even especially interesting on the face of it. But the dialogue is engaging. The situations are funny. These people's anxieties, neuroses, and disappointments ring true. Add a charismatic young cast, and you have a pretty entertaining movie.

The DVD: Bonus features include 2 deleted scenes and a theatrical trailer. The deleted scenes are essentially redundant and not worth your time. Subtitles are available in English and Spanish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars (4.5) Fun Irish romp, August 31, 2004
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Intermission (DVD)
Saw this film playing at some second rate movie theater for around a dollar or so. And for the record, I love second rate movie theaters.

Im also becoming a fan of Cillian Murphy after watching him in Danny Boyle's "28 Days Later", am accustomed to seeing Colin Farrell here and there, remember seeing Shirley Henderson and Kelly MacDonald in "Trainspotting", and Colm Meaney usually plays interesting characters in all his films. I also drink lots of Guinness, so I figured I'd give this a try.

What I saw was a film based on multiple stories tied together by chance meetings, irony, stupidity, and just plain old luck. Each little scenario affected the entire picture in one way or another. This type of plot and storyline has been done many many times. Some films have had great success and fun with it ("Lock, Stock, and Two Smoking Barrels", "Run Lola Run", for example) and some didnt really work, or had too much going on ("Happenstance"). Since the plot is more or less recycled and cliched, the film's success or failure depends mostly on the performances, the characters, and the crazy twists and turns.

With that said, this film was pretty enjoyable, silly at some points, but overall well done. The talent I mentioned above all acted well, especially Colin Farrell, who seemed to be really free and relaxed speaking...the way he normally speaks, I guess. The characters were also interesing enough to keep everything flowing smoothly. Irish accents are fun, too, even though once in a while a few lines of dialogue are nearly impossible to understand. I dont know an overly large amount about the Irish culture, but everything seemed basically believeable. I do listen to Clannad and go to pubs, though, so that earned me some points. The environments were beautiful, from crowded downtown scenes to pubs to the rolling green hills. A lot of the humor I found highly entertaining, although I can see where others may not, because some of it is borderline evil humor. The music fit well, with both UK and Irish artists playing in the background. Colin Farrell's version of "I Fought the Law" is fun, too, and is definitely a worthy remake, right up there with The Clash, Dead Kennedys, and Mike Ness versions.

I really liked the Irish twist to the fimiliar plot, and the characters were fun, along with the brown sauce in the coffee and all the Guinness being consumed. I dont know whatll be on the DVD when it arrives in October, but Ill still get it. I encourage you to check out this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Amazing, October 19, 2004
This review is from: Intermission (DVD)
I saw this film while living in Ireland, and it blew me away. Colin Farrell's performance is great, none of this pretty boy stuff, using his real accent and playing a really believable character from Dublin. The seperate story lines weave so effortlessly together. I think that some of the humor is more understandable if you have knowledge of Irish culture, but anyone can really get a kick out of this great film. I'm so glad it's out on DVD now! I've been waiting too long. Also, Shirley Henderson is amazing in this role, she is such a versatile actress.

By the way, some of the lads tried the brown sauce in tea, and it didn't turn out so good. I don't recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dubliners in 'Lock, Stock' Fashion: Rough, Edgy and Unpredictable, July 3, 2005
By 
Tsuyoshi (Kyoto, Japan) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Intermission (DVD)
You just don't know what happens next in 'Intermission,' Irish-English film directed by enormously promising first-timer John Crowley (who's been doing jobs for stage before this one), and produced by Neil Jordan ('Michael Collins'). You see sweet talking from Colin Farrell, and then, Bang! something terrible happens. But wonderful thing about 'Intermission' is, beside that unexpected shocks or tender moments, that it has lots of delightfully eccentric characters and amusing dialogues (with equally lots of dirty words). It's like 'Trainspotting' in Dublin.

[EMSEMBLE CAST] Among the film's eleven stories, known and unknown faces appear as the residents in Dublin, Ireland, where they encounter mostly unhappy incidents in their life. Colin Farrel is rakish Lehiff, who is chased after by a violent cop Jerry (Colm Meaney, 'Deep Space 9'); Cilian Murphy ('28 Days Later') is unhappy John who left his love recently; Deirdre (Kelly McDonald, 'Trainspotting') is John's ex-love, having an affair with a bank manager. And Shirley Henderson (who is Moaning Myrtle in 'Harry Potter' series) is Deirdre's sister Sally, who, it seems, has a mustache ala Burt Reynolds or Tom Selleck.

We see the fates of these characters, all unlucky in love, job, or whatever, cleverly depicted by the sure hand of director, who knows how to spin good stories out of very ridiculous situations. Some find riding a bus can be very dangerous when a little boy throws a stone at that; or some find brown source tastes very good when put in a cup of coffee. Screenwriter Mark O'Rowe did a fine job in creating a variety of lively characters that remind you of 'Pulp Fiction.'

[TO COLIN FARRELL FANS -- HE SINGS!] Really. Though Colin Farrel's character is part of emsemble cast, which means you often lose track of his character, Colin Farrel here is exactly your bad boy image of Colin Farrel with Irish accents, which I find is not as thick as you may think. And listen to the song 'I Fought the Law' at the end credit, sung by Colin Farrel himself. Just in case you might be interested.

Though often very violent and even nasty, 'Intermission' is brimmed with energy that keeps the film going on smoothly to the end. Sometimes unpleasant, but you forget it when everything fits in the right places in the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 11 real-life, intertwined stories, May 27, 2004
I've read elsewhere about people complaining of Intermission's "juvenile humor" and, yeah, there's certainly a fair bit of that. But that's overcome by the realness with which writer Mark O'Rowe and Director John Crowley have imbued these 11 intertwined stories that have been crashed together for a very enjoyable ride.
Performances of note:
Kelly Macdonald - I just finished being enchanted by her in the six-part BBC mini 'State of Play'. Adorable and talented (when I'm not perplexed by that Glaswegian accent).
Colin Ferrell - Turns on a dime in the film's opening shot; it's a stunner and it sets the pace for the entire movie. His riff on 'brown sauce in coffee' (see the movie to understand!) had me laughing for days (not an exaggeration)
Colm Meaney - Yet another film he walks away with. His self-conscious portrayal of street detective Jerry Lynch is a perfect mix of braggadocio, insecurity and (unknowing) humor. The little scene where 'Lynch' overturns a table in anger - but checks to see who's watching first - is a wonderful little touch by Meaney.
Cillian Murphy - Mesmerizing eyes. And the spoke that turns at least three of these stories.
...and many, many others (Shirley Henderson, for example, deserves some kudos too for a *very* unglamorous role).
Make sure you stick around for the credits to hear Colin Ferrell's raucous rendition of "I Fought the Law."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favorite movies!, August 23, 2004
By 
Steven Moore "zerostar39" (Harrisburg, PA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Intermission (DVD)
This movie is just fantastic. About 11 different stories that all tie together. The acting is superb and I'd say this may be one of colin farrells best movies. The plot keeps you paying attention and it also has some very humorous scenes in it. Check out this movie. Ive been waiting so long for it to be released on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Green Power, May 3, 2004
By 
MICHAEL ACUNA (Southern California United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Colin Farrell (Lehiff) sheds the outward patina of glamour and the unnatural adoption of an American accent, in this edgy dramedy, directed by John Crowley with an eager and roving eye: aimed at capturing the stuff that makes us human and susceptible to folly.
In fact, except for about 2 minutes in "Phone Booth," Farrell has never been more human, likable and sexy since his debut in "Tigerland."
But "Intermission" is an ensemble piece peopled with actors (particularly Shirley Henderson) who continually seem about to fall yet somehow always avoid the big cesspool of doom and destruction. And this is what gives "Intermission" its propulsion and interest: we like these people and care about what they care about and more importantly, we want them to be happy. In tone this film reminds me very much of the much neglected, "Happy Accidents" another absurd comedy-drama directed by Brad Anderson.
Mark Rowe has written a script of such fierce disrespect towards everything and John Crowley directs with his tongue so resolutely and firmly planted in his cheek that "Intermission" turns out to be one of the most refreshingly astringent and invigorating movies...ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars demanding but rewarding offbeat comedy, March 13, 2005
By 
This review is from: Intermission (DVD)
You may develop a slight case of whiplash while watching "Intermission," but it will be a small enough price to pay for the pleasure of the experience. This is a fascinating film that ingeniously weaves together a myriad of overlapping stories whose common thread is life among the Irish working class.

The screenplay focuses on a group of seemingly unrelated people whose lives crisscross and intersect in so well crafted a way that, as the story develops, a fully connected narrative soon emerges. Through a carefully thought-out structure and pattern, writer Mark O'Rowe and director John Crowley create order out of seeming disorder, and the overlaps never feel pre-fabricated or contrived - until the end that is, and then the contrivance is used for comic effect. The overarching theme of the piece is an examination of the subtleties and complexities that make up human interactions and human relationships. There are people here from all walks of life, yet they are basically united in their desire for love, commitment and acceptance from their fellow man. A few of them veer towards the criminal and/or violent side of life but most are just ordinary Joes (and Janes) trying to make the best of the lives they've been handed. This is one of those films in which the good people triumph over their failings, the not-so-good ones get the chance to make things right, and the irredeemable ones get their richly deserved comeuppance in the end.

Colin Farrell, playing a violent, two-bit hoodlum, is the only "name" member of the cast, but the film boasts a whole gallery of fine actors and actresses who deliver heartfelt, winning performances. The film is filled with humor and sentiment and just enough action and violence to keep the whole thing contemporary and cutting edge (with the usual nod to "Pulp Fiction," of course).

The real joy of the film lies in putting yourself in the hands of the filmmakers and letting them take you wherever it is they want you to go. The trip, I promise you, will be a rewarding one.

And you'll barely feel that whiplash.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Give this Irish Gem a Chance!, September 11, 2005
By 
KDMask (Rochester, NY) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Intermission (DVD)
I'm the type of person that likes a nice independent British/Irish film now and then. This didn't disappoint but I do want to warn you that it is very difficult to understand in the beginning (my husband is British and even he had trouble). There are a lot of characters, with many different accents and we almost made the mistake of turning it off too soon. Stick with this--it's just great.

There is a cast of over 50, and all play a part in a rich fabric of the story. Poignant, exciting, gritty and sexy all at the same time. This goes on my list next to "Lock, Stock and Two Smoking Barrels", "Waking Ned Devine" and "Layer Cake"...give it a go!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Energetic dark comedy from Ireland, November 9, 2004
By 
Lleu Christopher (Hudson Valley, NY) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Intermission (DVD)
While Intermission, with its many characters whose lives converge in a tale full of action, sex and absurdity, draws on earlier films like Short Cuts, Pulp Fiction and Go, it has a style all its own. Director John Crowley gives the film a distinctly Irish flavor. It begins with a Pulp Fiction-like bang, with a hoodlum named Lehiff (Colin Farrell) dishing out a dose of gratuitous violence on an unsuspecting victim. Colm Meaney, in turn, plays a sadistic cop who takes pleasure in tormenting Lehiff and the other petty criminals who cross his path. The plot is too complex to summarize in a short review, but it involves an extramarital affair that leads indirectly to an improbable robbery plot.

What is surprising about Intermission is the way it manages to sustain coherence, suspense and a sense of humor amidst all the chaos and complexity. Many of the characters are sympathetic despite, or maybe because of their considerable flaws. All of the players distinguish themselves as real individuals, as opposed to the stereotypes that populate most films. Despite the absurdity of much of the tale, each of the characters is brought to life in a way that keeps the film compelling and fun to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Intermission
Intermission by John Crowley (DVD - 2004)
$9.75
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.