Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Quercetti Super Saxoflute
Safety Month botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums The best from Bose just got wireless Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks STEM Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors

Price:$17.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 7, 2014
I am a music teacher and I thought this was one of the coolest toys I have ever seen! I am a strong believer that people (kids too!) learn best when they figure something out on their own (vs someone telling them or showing them how to do something) Teachers are merely facilitators in their learning...so that's why I like this so much. They can just sit with it and experiment with different ways of putting it together and discover how aerophones work! Maybe they'll figure out that when they make a smaller instrument it will sound higher...when they use all the tubes and it is bigger it would sound lower. Maybe an aha! moment for them...who knows? Either way it's just fun! The only thing I wish is that there were more of the green pieces with the holes in them (there are only 4 included in the box) It'd be great to have more to be able to experiment easier with more sounds.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 30, 2009
This is made in Italy and a wonderful toy. What is more exciting than building your own instrument and then getting to play it. When they are created they look like something you would see in a Dr. Suess book. They are so much fun and compatible with Quercetti's Tubation set. You then can build even bigger and sillier instruments or build any amazing creation you can think up! These are also safe for houses with babies. The pieces are quite large!
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 3, 2010
My three-year-old son received this as a present, and he does like it. However, he is much more interested in using it as a construction toy to make shapes than in using it as a musical instrument. This is good, because it is impossible to make music with this toy! There are two options: with a hard blow, you get an ear-piercing shriek; with a soft blow, you may be able to get a single lower (and not entirely unpleasant) toot. Changing the shape doesn't alter the sound in a significant way, and the holes which are supposed to work like those on a recorder are hit or miss. Only a few of the pieces have holes, and depending on where you place them in your creation, they may or may not change the pitch. Even if they do have an effect, the sound change is unpredictable. You might be able to get two or three different tones (and not in normal whole or half step increments), but nothing more. The "horns" that go on the end are only for looks; they don't seem to affect the sound at all. If you would like to buy an annoying whistle that can be made into lots of different shapes, this is the toy for you. However, if you are looking for a creative instrument that will have some musical educational value, you will probably find this toy to be extremely disappointing.
11 comment|44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 24, 2010
If you've tried the Tubation set, then this adds a nice new dimension: music! Comes with a whistle end, horn and then some special tubes with holes so you can actually make a working recorder. Add more holes for different pitch control!

My 3.5 year old is a little young for understanding that part of it, though he likes playing with it regardless. AND it's not TOO loud. In fact, if you play it softly, you can actually get a pretty nice sound from it. Just like a recorder.

My son has built some really whacky fun things with it that only Dr. Seuss would have thought up. Just think Grinch that stole Xmas and you'll get the idea.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 7, 2013
So back in the day, Fisher Price made a Crazy Combo Horn. A very similar interchangeable toy to this one. Crazy combo horn has a "side trombone", a kazoo, a recorder, etc. All interchangeable. It is fun and keeps kids very nicely entertained in a creative way. It is such a fun toy we have TWO. A minor issue with the older combo horns - the plastic mouthpieces get a little brittle and chip a bit as they get older.

I was hoping the saxoflute would be a modern replacement for the combo horn. I was really prepared to love it. Sadly, it does not quite have the amazing kid-magnet qualities of the crazy combo horn. The problem is how the finger holes are arranged - Combo horn has a "recorder" section with 7 finger holes... allowing kids to play tunes and experiment with length of musical instrument. Saxoflute has 4 small green sections with 1 finger hole each. Music wise, the Crazy Combo Horn wins hands down.

In case you are wondering, Crazy Combo Horn and Saxoflute are not compatible. I was really really hoping they would be. The inner diameter of one Crazy Combo Horn joint does fit on the outter diameter of the Saxoflute, but not in a may that makes anything useful. If you want to combine the two to make an enormous awesome musical creation, bring your teflon tape.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 21, 2011
Beware, parents: this is loud, so it quickly becomes one of those toys that you want to hide, but if you ask kids, this is a complete blast. My kids quickly made various crazy horns, even a two-headed monster that they used together. Hilarious. (But make sure you hide this during cold & flu season, as every kid passes it around and GAH!)
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 7, 2013
I bought this for a little boy having his 2nd birthday party and even the adults were excited to see this toy. It's completely manageable for a little one to create their own instrument, over and over again!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 14, 2013
Well made and can generate hours of fun with the mixing and matching of parts to create different sounds. There are a lot of pieces to keep track of, but it's worth it if your child loves to play music.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 30, 2014
If you have a 3-5 year old with some musical interest, then this is the perfect gift. It's fun to build an instrument, and then they enjoy playing it too. Two of the pieces have holes in them to allow for a few different notes. My kids thoroughly enjoy this. My one complaint is that it'd be nice if there was something other than just a whistle-type mouthpiece. I think my kids would enjoy it even more if they could make another sound with it as well.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 11, 2014
Both my three year old and six year old like this toy. A few of the pieces don't hold together that well and only a few of the pieces have the holes which change the pitch and it would be nice if there were more of those, but they don't seem to notice or mind either of these flaws. It is LOUD though so we only pull it out when we can tolerate horns blaring for thirty minutes.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 6 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.