Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars quality newspaper for international travellers
I subscribed to it during a long holiday in south east asia and it gives you all the news and commentary you need to be updated and entertained.
Published on January 14, 2010 by Conti Luca

versus
9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars spotty coverage/missed deliveries
having spent the past 5 months in SE Asia, I thought this would be a good way to keep up with news from there after returning to the US. However, in two weeks there has been not a single word about the Philippines which is in the midst of a historic national election. Other than one story on Indonesia, the only news from SE Asia has been about the Red Shirts in...
Published on May 2, 2010 by Gerald E. Shenk


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars quality newspaper for international travellers, January 14, 2010
This review is from: The International New York Times Asia Edition (Kindle Edition)
I subscribed to it during a long holiday in south east asia and it gives you all the news and commentary you need to be updated and entertained.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value for money, serious alternative for the hardcopy, March 4, 2011
This review is from: The International New York Times Asia Edition (Kindle Edition)
As a long-time reader of the IHT I will not dwell on the excellent contents except to say that this paper belies the idea that trusted, authoritative, balanced sources of information are not worth paying for, and refer for this topic to reviews on the hardcopy edition.
I carefully checked, article by article, the paper and electronic versions. What is missing from the Kindle are most pictures, the comics, the games/puzzle sections and all ads. All the articles are in, unabridged. It gets faithfully delivered here in Geneva six days a week, at around 4 am (...is there when you wake up). Unlike the hardcopies, delivery is not delayed by local holidays, "follows" you in about any country your Kindle may travel to and saves you serious money. What is particularly convenient on a Kindle is the possibility to clip citations (or even entire articles) and looking up words in a dictionary; you may even have the paper read aloud to you. The IHT can conveniently be navigated by sections, or you can just hop section by section through it all and read only those you want.
When buying a Kindle I had this IHT subscription in mind and have never regretted this since.
The slight drawback is that the IHT will not grant you web-access to back issues. However, if you really want this you can simply keep all your electronic issues on your Kindle or on a PC for later retrieval and clipping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Value at $19.99 per month!, October 22, 2010
By 
J. DOUGLAS-SMITH (Perth, WA, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The International New York Times Asia Edition (Kindle Edition)
I love the fact that this newspaper is published at 1:00 am Hong Kong time so it's ready to be read at breakfast in Australia. Great format, appropriate images, and well worth it for the generous Business Asia section. Apart from all that, I really love the Saturday edition with its emphasis on the arts. Congratulations to the New York Times for maintaining its impeccable standards with this thoroughly relevant Asian Pacific edition of the International Herald Tribune.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A perfect blend at breakfast time, January 7, 2012
By 
Arion Potts (Melbourne, Victoria, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The International New York Times Asia Edition (Kindle Edition)
The IHT is a must-read for me on the train to work each morning. The content of the IHT varies somewhat from the New York Times (although their websites are co-branded), and there's some really excellent reporting that only appears in the IHT. I find it a great, concise briefing with a good mix of news and information from around the region and the rest of the world. It's a keeper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars spotty coverage/missed deliveries, May 2, 2010
This review is from: The International New York Times Asia Edition (Kindle Edition)
having spent the past 5 months in SE Asia, I thought this would be a good way to keep up with news from there after returning to the US. However, in two weeks there has been not a single word about the Philippines which is in the midst of a historic national election. Other than one story on Indonesia, the only news from SE Asia has been about the Red Shirts in Thailand.
In addition, wireless delivery is not reliable. there should be a delivery every day except Sunday. But the first week it skipped from Saturday to Tuesday, and the second week it skipped from Friday to Monday. So instead of 6 issues a week, I am only getting 5. It is really not worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars The New York Times international on the paperwhite is not happening, April 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The International New York Times Asia Edition (Kindle Edition)
The problem with the international New York Times on my paperwhite is not the content but the layout
It is impossible to read the paper in any coherent manner
I have the New York Times on my iPad and it's perfect
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars old stuff, March 15, 2014
This review is from: The International New York Times Asia Edition (Kindle Edition)
It is not all current news. some of the articles are 2days old. not much use if you have access to more current
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another NY Times version, February 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The International New York Times Asia Edition (Kindle Edition)
If you like the former--very likely you will like the later, if not, then not so much. They also have a London version; so you have a choice of published release times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Heral Tribune Asia edition, October 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The International New York Times Asia Edition (Kindle Edition)
I try at least twice a month to read this paper as it offers insights and stories that are not normally available in domestic North American newspapers. Always find it worth the read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars overall satisfactory, January 1, 2011
This review is from: The International New York Times Asia Edition (Kindle Edition)
Aside from minimal pictures often absent from articles where pictures are inherent, this is a delivery I look forward to daily. Except Sundays, which is normal but the last three weeks the Saturday issue has also been absent. Why?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x9dd88570)

This product

The International New York Times Asia Edition
The International New York Times Asia Edition by The International New York Times
$14.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.